Eni bought Zambian forest credits as a community received about EUR 50,000
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Eni acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests project in Zambia, which covers 943,646 hectares. REDD-Monitor reported that the Luembe community received about EUR 50,000 in one year, that its chief said this was not enough, and that a school built with scheme funds stood empty.
- Eni — Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests REDD-Monitor
- Luembe community — Received about EUR 50,000 in one year, which its chief said was not enough; a school built with scheme funds stood empty REDD-Monitor
What happened
REDD-Monitor reported that Eni acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests project in Zambia, which covers 943,646 hectares.
According to the same source, the Luembe community received about EUR 50,000 in one year, a school built with scheme funds stood empty, and the community's chief said the money was not enough.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Eni planned a Zambia and Tanzania credit portfolio of 10 million tonnes a year by 2025 and 20 million tonnes a year by 2030 (Eni, November 2020).
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Eni's 2050 target is 30-40 million tonnes a year of nature-based credits.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give the credits, area or payments of the Ntakata scheme in Tanzania.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say how the credit price or total value was split, or whether the Luembe payment was the full benefit-sharing amount.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the school was later used, or whether community payments have increased.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- Eni's Luangwa credits and payments to the Luembe communityREDD-Monitor · 2023-06-20
Connected cases
- BP and Eni do not declare gas flared at Iraq's Rumaila field, citing non-operator status Iraq · 2021–2022
- Eni (Company) — here: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests; there: Non-operator; does not declare Rumaila gas flaring
- Italy fined Eni 5 million euros over ads calling Diesel+ green Italy · 2020
- Eni (Company) — here: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests; there: fined over Diesel+ advertising
- Milan court acquits Eni and Shell in Nigeria corruption case Italy · 2021
- Eni (Company) — here: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests; there: Defendant, acquitted
- Mozambique LNG environmental assessment (ERM) Mozambique · 2014–2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests; there: Developer for whom the assessment was prepared
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Eni (Company) — here: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests; there: Operator; incident reports record a sabotage share of 89%
- Plant-for-the-Planet: 13.6 billion trees Germany / Global · 2011–2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests; there: 1t.org pledger
- UK agreed up to £21.7bn over 25 years for two CCS clusters United Kingdom · 2024
- Eni (Company) — here: Acquired about 3.1 million credits from the Luangwa community forests; there: named as a leading company behind the clusters