Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Oil, gas and coal operations · Niger · 2026

Goumeri W-8 well eruption at the Agadem oil block, Niger (2026)

Nature's voice · report
Crude and gas sprayed more than 10 metres above my ground at the Goumeri W-8 well from 25 September 2026, and crude flowed over several hundred metres, according to state television images reported by AFP.
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record.
Recorded
  • A Nigerien extractive-industries think tank warned of risks to herds and to my pastures, soils and water. AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • Herders in the Diffa region were named as affected by the eruption (Scoop Afrique). Scoop Afrique
People
  • 2 people were injured.
    Two employees hospitalised.
  • 0 people died.
    No deaths reported.
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 2 unclear See the gaps

An eruption of crude and gas began on 25 September 2026 at the CNPC-operated Goumeri W-8 well in the Agadem block, Diffa region. Niger's Ministry of Petroleum called it an environmental incident of exceptional gravity; on 14 October it was continuing at lower intensity and no volume had been published.

More than 10 mHeight reached by sprayed crude and gas (state television images, AFP, 13 October 2026)
Crude flowed over several hundred metres. No volume of crude or gas released and no contaminated area has been published.

Status As of 14 October 2026: eruption continuing at lower intensity; independent investigation announced; no volume, contaminated area or compensation amount published.

What?
An eruption of crude and gas began on 25 September 2026 at the Goumeri W-8 well in Niger's Agadem oil block; crude sprayed more than 10 m high and flowed over several hundred metres, and the eruption was continuing at lower intensity on 14 October. AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
Where?
Goumeri W-8 well, Agadem oil block, Diffa region, about 1,700 km from Niamey. AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
When?
Eruption from 25 September 2026; ministry communiqué 12 October; ministers on site 14 October 2026. Journal du Niger
Who?
Gained
  • Niger and the operator, CNPC Niger Petroleum S.A. — Agadem phase II, launched on 1 November 2023, planned 20,000 b/d for the Zinder refinery and 90,000 b/d for export AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
Lost
  • CNPC Niger Petroleum S.A. — Precautionary and control measures taken against the operator, as reported; damages to be covered under the laws in force Nigerdiaspora
Harmed
Why?
The cause has not been established; an independent investigation was announced and the ministry ruled out a criminal or terrorist cause. Nigerdiaspora
How?
Containment with dikes, trenches and basins; recovered oil taken to the Goumeri treatment station; Sonatrach specialists on site. Nigerdiaspora
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

On 25 September 2026 an eruption of crude and gas began at the Goumeri W-8 well in the Agadem oil block of the Diffa region, about 1,700 km from Niamey. The operator is CNPC Niger Petroleum S.A. Crude and gas sprayed more than 10 metres high and crude flowed over several hundred metres, according to images on state television reported by AFP. The platform shared with wells W-3 and W-4 was described as badly damaged, and the integrity of those two neighbouring wells was said to be compromised. Two employees were hospitalised; no deaths were reported.

A communiqué of Niger's Ministry of Petroleum, read on 12 October 2026 by Secretary General Abdoulkarim Mohamed Ali, called the event an 'environmental incident of exceptional gravity' and said the eruption was 'partially contained, but not fully under control'. Containment relied on dikes, trenches and basins, and recovered oil was taken to the Goumeri treatment station. On 14 October Petroleum Minister Hamadou Tinni and Environment Minister Col. Abdoulaye Maizama visited the site with the Diffa governor and specialists from Sonatrach; the eruption was continuing at lower intensity and no end date had been announced.

The ministry said 'all responsibilities will be established and borne' and that damages would be covered under the laws in force, without giving an amount or mechanism. It announced an independent investigation into the causes and responsibilities with Algerian (Sonatrach) expertise, ruled out a criminal or terrorist cause, and, as reported by Nigerdiaspora, took precautionary and control measures against the operator. Scoop Afrique reported 17 days of official silence before the 12 October communiqué.

The well is part of Agadem phase II, launched on 1 November 2023, which planned 20,000 barrels a day for the Zinder refinery and 90,000 barrels a day for export. A Nigerien extractive-industries think tank, which AFP did not name, warned of risks to herds, pastures, soils and water, and Scoop Afrique named herders in Diffa as affected.

  1. 2023Agadem phase II launched (1 November)
  2. 2026Eruption begins at Goumeri W-8 (25 September); ministry communiqué (12 October); ministers visit the site; eruption continuing at lower intensity (14 October)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“environmental incident of exceptional gravity”

“partially contained, but not fully under control”

Niger's Ministry of Petroleum communiqué, read by Secretary General Abdoulkarim Mohamed Ali · 12 October 2026 · translated from French · Nigerdiaspora

“All responsibilities will be established and borne”

Niger's Ministry of Petroleum · 12 October 2026 · translated from French · Nigerdiaspora

“badly damaged”

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • Images of crude and gas spraying more than 10 metres high and crude flowing over several hundred metres
    Niger's state television, as reported by AFP · AFP via Connaissance des Énergies
  • Containment with dikes, trenches and basins, and delivery of recovered oil to the Goumeri treatment station
    Niger's Ministry of Petroleum, as reported by Nigerdiaspora · Nigerdiaspora

Recorded

  • No published volume of crude or gas released and no contaminated area figure (AFP, 13 October 2026).
  • Two employees hospitalised; no deaths (AFP).
  • Status on 12 October 2026: partially contained, but not fully under control; on 14 October the eruption was continuing at lower intensity with no end date announced.
  • An independent investigation into causes and responsibilities was announced, with Algerian (Sonatrach) expertise; the ministry rules out a criminal or terrorist cause.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
Compensation or clean-up spending for the Goumeri W-8 eruption—
No amount or mechanism published; the ministry said damages will be covered under the laws in force.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Currency: USD · Window: 2026. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • niger-government (12 October 2026): The Ministry of Petroleum called the eruption an environmental incident of exceptional gravity, said responsibilities will be established and damages covered under the laws in force, and announced an independent investigation. · Nigerdiaspora

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

  1. 2026–Ongoing
    Independent investigation into the causes of the Goumeri W-8 eruption
    Niger's Ministry of Petroleum (with Algerian Sonatrach expertise) · Administrative · Ministry of Petroleum → CNPC Niger Petroleum S.A. (operator)

    The ministry announced an independent investigation into the causes and responsibilities and ruled out a criminal or terrorist cause. Nigerdiaspora reported precautionary and control measures taken against the operator. Nigerdiaspora

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Spray height of crude and gas
More than 10 m
State television images (AFP, 13 October 2026)
Crude flow on the ground
Several hundred metres
State television images (AFP)
Volume released
Not published
AFP, 13 October 2026
Days of eruption by 14 October 2026
Since 25 September
Continuing at lower intensity; no end date announced

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Money

  • None on record Compensation or clean-up spending for the Goumeri W-8 eruption — No amount or mechanism published; the ministry said damages will be covered under the laws in force.

Record

  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the volume of crude and gas released, the area contaminated and the compensation amount (AFP, 13 October 2026).
  • None on record None on record: a statement from CNPC Niger Petroleum S.A. on the eruption.
  • None on record None on record: a direct statement from herders or communities in the affected area.
  • Unclear Unclear: the wording of the government's commitment on compensation; Nigerdiaspora quotes the ministry as saying damages will be covered 'under the laws in force', while Scoop Afrique reports a promise of 'full compensation'.
  • Unclear Unclear: the exact position of the Goumeri W-8 well; it has not been published.

Did the harm stop?

Not stopped as of 14 October 2026: the eruption was continuing at lower intensity and no end date was announced.

Who paid?

No amount or mechanism published. The ministry said damages will be covered under the laws in force and that responsibilities will be established.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Places and local terms

Pastoralists
People whose livelihoods depend on moving livestock between grazing lands.