WWF-UK corporate income falls to GBP 10.6m as charity consults on 90 job cuts
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
WWF-UK's corporate income fell to GBP 10.6m in 2024-25 as partnerships with Tesco, HSBC, Reckitt and KPMG ended or shrank. In November 2025 the charity opened a consultation on 90 job cuts, about 20% of its staff, and the sources reviewed do not state the reason for the cuts.
- WWF-UK — Corporate income fell, and the Tesco, HSBC, Reckitt and KPMG partnerships ended or shrank Civil Society
- WWF-UK staff — About 90 roles, about 20% of staff, were put into a consultation on job cuts in November 2025 Civil Society
What happened
Civil Society reported that WWF-UK's total income was GBP 89.3m in 2024-25 and its corporate income was GBP 10.6m, a fall in corporate income.
Civil Society reported that the Tesco, HSBC, Reckitt and KPMG partnerships had ended or been scaled back, with GSK coming in instead.
Civil Society reported that the charity opened a consultation in November 2025 on 90 job cuts, about 20% of its staff.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: 2023-24 total income of GBP 92.5m, of which GBP 18.2m (about 20%) was corporate income, from the WWF-UK annual report summary of March 2025.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not state why the partnerships ended or were scaled back, or whether the job cuts were caused by the fall in corporate income.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not name the individual corporate donors behind the partnership income, or give the value of the GSK partnership.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether conservation programmes were affected by the cuts.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- WWF-UK corporate income fall and job cutsCivil Society · 2025-11
Connected cases
- Amazon Soy Moratorium Brazil · 2006–2026
- Tesco (Company) — here: Corporate partner whose partnership ended or was scaled back; there: Retailer that wrote to the traders
- Cali Fund (digital sequence information) Global · 2024–2026
- GSK (Company) — here: Corporate partner that came in as the earlier partnerships ended; there: Pharmaceutical company named in freedom-of-information emails
- Killings alleged at Del Monte's pineapple farm in Thika, Kenya Kenya · 2023
- Tesco (Company) — here: Corporate partner whose partnership ended or was scaled back; there: Supermarket reported to have halted orders
- Microsoft forestry carbon deals and the Apple Restore Fund Brazil · 2024
- HSBC (Bank) — here: Corporate partner whose partnership ended or was scaled back; there: Partner in Climate Asset Management
- Net Zero Banking Alliance exits and closure International · 2023–2026
- HSBC (Bank) — here: Corporate partner whose partnership ended or was scaled back; there: NZBA founder; left July 2025
- Sabarmati Riverfront Development (Ahmedabad) India · 2009–2019
- KPMG (Company) — here: Corporate partner whose partnership ended or was scaled back; there: Ranking publisher
- Tesco fictional farm brands (UK) United Kingdom · 2016
- Tesco (Company) — here: Corporate partner whose partnership ended or was scaled back; there: Retailer that launched the brands
- UK ad regulator bans HSBC '2 million trees' advert after 45 complaints United Kingdom · 2022
- HSBC (Bank) — here: Corporate partner whose partnership ended or was scaled back; there: advertiser; advert banned