Cases / Agriculture, livestock and food · United Kingdom · 2024
Arla denies Gates link to Bovaer cattle feed additive pilot in UK
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Arla began a UK pilot of the Bovaer methane feed additive in November 2024. Grocery Gazette reported that the additive is approved by EFSA and the UK Food Standards Agency, and Arla called a claimed link to Gates 'completely false'.
What?
Arla ran a UK pilot of the Bovaer methane feed additive from November 2024 and denied a claimed link to Gates. Grocery Gazette
Where?
United Kingdom Grocery Gazette
When?
Pilot from November 2024; the Grocery Gazette article is dated 3 December 2024. Grocery Gazette
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
A feed additive for cattle, tested in a pilot. Grocery Gazette
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who
What happened
The record, in order.
Arla ran a pilot of the Bovaer methane feed additive in the United Kingdom from November 2024, Grocery Gazette reported.
Grocery Gazette reported that the additive is approved by the European Food Safety Authority and the UK Food Standards Agency.
Arla denied a claimed link to Gates, calling it 'completely false'.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: online claims that Bovaer passes into milk and causes cancer; no source reviewed confirms them.
- None on record The size, length and results of the UK pilot are not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the pilot has expanded beyond the UK.
- None on record Who gains from the spread of the claims is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- Grocery Gazette report on Arla cattle feed additive (3 December 2024)Grocery Gazette · 2024-12-03