Killings alleged at Del Monte's pineapple farm in Thika, Kenya
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Guards at Del Monte's pineapple farm in Thika, Kenya, have been accused of killings and rape, and security was outsourced to G4S in 2024; the company says no fault has been established. At stake for nature is how the farm and its neighbours are managed, which the sources reviewed do not describe.
- Villagers near the farm — Allegations of killings and rape filed on behalf of 134 villagers
- People allegedly killed near the farm — Between three and five killings reported across sources; none proven in court Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
What happened
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre reported in 2023 that guards at Del Monte's pineapple farm in Kenya were accused of killings.
Allegations of killings and rape were filed on behalf of 134 villagers, and Tesco and Morrisons reportedly halted orders from the farm.
Security was given to G4S in 2024, and the Kenya Human Rights Commission reported in 2025 a further killing tied to G4S guards in Murang'a.
The company says no fault has been established, and the sources reviewed report between three and five killings, none of them proven in court.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the Bureau of Investigative Journalism's count of 11 deaths could not be independently verified.
- None on record Not known: the history of the Thika land.
- None on record Not known: which Del Monte entity operates the Thika farm, since several companies trade under the Del Monte name.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Communities and civil society
- Guards at Del Monte pineapple farm in Kenya accused of killingsBusiness & Human Rights Resource Centre · 2023
- Del Monte, G4S tied to latest security guard killing in Murang'aKenya Human Rights Commission · 2025
- Kenya killings continue on Del Monte farm, families say after G4S hired for securityBusiness & Human Rights Resource Centre · 2026
Connected cases
- Amazon Soy Moratorium Brazil · 2006–2026
- Tesco (Company) — here: Supermarket reported to have halted orders; there: Retailer that wrote to the traders
- Tesco fictional farm brands (UK) United Kingdom · 2016
- Tesco (Company) — here: Supermarket reported to have halted orders; there: Retailer that launched the brands
- WWF-UK corporate income falls to GBP 10.6m as charity consults on 90 job cuts United Kingdom · 2024–2025
- Tesco (Company) — here: Supermarket reported to have halted orders; there: Corporate partner whose partnership ended or was scaled back