Cases / Killings and repression of defenders · Kenya · 2021
Conservationist Joannah Stutchbury shot in Kiambu, Kenya, in 2021
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Joannah Stutchbury was shot dead in Kiambu, Kenya, on 15 July 2021, after a developer had filed a complaint against her over encroachment on the Kiambu forest. No arrests had been reported as of late 2021, and no later update was found in the sources reviewed.
What?
Joannah Stutchbury was shot in Kiambu, Kenya, on 15 July 2021; she had opposed encroachment on the Kiambu forest. Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
Where?
Kiambu, Kenya Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
When?
15 July 2021; no arrests as of late 2021 Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
- Joannah Stutchbury — shot 15 July 2021 Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Shot; a developer, Agropack, had filed a complaint against her before the shooting. Prosecution: none found.
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre reported that no arrests had been made as of late 2021 over the murder of a conservationist threatened by road developers.
The sources reviewed record no prosecution and no later update.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The conservation and climate programme she was linked to is not named in the sources reviewed.
- Unclear Whether Agropack's complaint led to any action is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts— Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers
Communities and civil society
- Kenya: after almost two months no arrests made for murder of conservationist threatened by road developersBusiness & Human Rights Resource Centre ·