HFC-23 and SF6 Joint Implementation projects at KCKK Polymer and HaloPolymer Perm
- The waste rate of HFC-23 at one Perm plant in 2012 was above the IPCC range of 1.5% to 4% and above any known value, according to the study. Stockholm Environment Institute
- Company or project DNV (determination auditor): Confirmed the original design-document information, which stated HFC-23 was partly abated beforehand. Stockholm Environment Institute
- Company or project Bureau Veritas Certification (verifier): Confirmed the revised information, which states HFC-23 was not abated beforehand. Stockholm Environment Institute
- Researchers Schneider and Kollmuss (Stockholm Environment Institute): All Russian HFC-23 and SF6 abatement projects increased waste gas generation to unprecedented levels once more waste gas earned credits; about 28–33 million credits were issued in excess. Stockholm Environment Institute (Schneider, Kollmuss)
- Company or project HaloPolymer Perm: Did not respond to Nature's requests for comment. Scientific American / Nature
- Company or project HaloPolymer Kirovo-Chepetsk: Did not respond to Nature's requests for comment. Scientific American / Nature
Three Joint Implementation projects at two Russian fluorochemical sites issued 54 million emission reduction units. A 2015 study in Nature Climate Change found that waste-gas generation rose abruptly once crediting rules no longer capped it, and estimated that about 28–33 million credits were issued in excess.
Estimate by the study authors for all four plants together, equal to 66–79% of credits issued in periods without methodological safeguards.
Status Latest source is the August 2015 study and news coverage; no court ruling or regulatory action against the projects is on record.
- Operators of the two plants — Received ERUs for destroyed waste gas; revenue is not on record Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin)
- Buyers of the ERUs — Used credits against their targets; Vitol named as contracted buyer in a 2011 dispute Kommersant
- ERU holders — Secondary prices above EUR 10 in mid-2011; credits worth more than EUR 20 in 2008 and less than EUR 1 by 2015 Scientific American / Nature
- Atmosphere — About 28–33 million credits issued in excess, per the authors' estimate Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin)
- Ozone layer — Would be undermined if extra HCFC-22 was produced without demand and vented; the data needed to tell is unavailable Stockholm Environment Institute
What happened
Three registered Joint Implementation (JI) projects at two facilities destroy HFC-23, a by-product of HCFC-22 manufacture, and SF6 off-gas: RU1000201 covers HFC-23 and SF6 at KCKK Polymer in Kirovo-Chepetsk, and RU1000202 (HFC-23) and RU1000309 (SF6) cover HaloPolymer Perm. Together they issued 54 million emission reduction units (ERUs), 6% of ERUs issued by April 2014 according to UNEP Risoe data. A smaller Russian HFC-23 project reached determination but was never registered. The study's Supplementary Information states that the registered and proposed projects cover all Russian production: three HCFC-22 facilities with about 44,000 tonnes a year of capacity and two SF6 facilities with about 1,800 tonnes a year. The Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) gives the global warming potential of HFC-23 as 11,700 and of SF6 as 23,900 in the first commitment period.
RU1000201 and RU1000202 were developed by Camco International and initially applied CDM methodology AM0001 v5.2, which caps eligible HCFC-22 production at the 2002–2004 maximum and the HFC-23 waste rate at the 2002–2004 minimum. Crediting began in 2008. In 2011 both projects adopted revised monitoring plans with a JI-specific approach, applied from 1 January 2010; the revision removed both caps, so that, in the study's words, "all waste gas generated becomes eligible for crediting". It also declared original design-document information inaccurate, including applicable Russian regulations and historical data on HCFC-22 production and on HFC-23 generation and abatement. RU1000309 (SF6, HaloPolymer Perm) was developed and approved in 2011/2012 and claimed credits retroactively from 1 January 2008.
Schneider and Kollmuss (Nature Climate Change, published online 24 August 2015) reported that "all projects abating HFC-23 and SF6 under the Kyoto Protocol's Joint Implementation mechanism in Russia increased waste gas generation to unprecedented levels, once they could generate credits from producing more waste gas". SEI's working paper summarised the increase as abrupt from the second quarter of 2011, when the safeguards were abandoned, and "mostly attributable to an increase in waste generation rate, and not in production levels". The Supplementary Information states that total Russian HCFC-22 production did not increase substantially in 2011 and 2012; that in 2012 the HFC-23 waste generation rate at HaloPolymer Perm exceeded the IPCC range of 1.5% to 4% and any known value, including the 19 CDM plants in developing countries; and that for SF6 at HaloPolymer Perm the estimated 1990–2007 rate ranged from 0.4% to 5.8% (average 3.8%) against 16.9% reported by the plant for 2008–2010. Waste generation peaked in October–November 2012 at HaloPolymer Perm and in the fourth quarter of 2011 for SF6 at KCKK Polymer; the authors offer one possible explanation, the commonly used 1 December delivery date for carbon futures.
The original design documents stated that HFC-23 was already partly abated before the JI projects; the revised documentation states that it was not. The auditor DNV confirmed the original information at determination and Bureau Veritas Certification confirmed the revised information at verification. SEI also noted data inconsistencies: some periods report more HFC-23 incinerated than generated, or negative fugitive emissions, and from 2012 RU1000202 stopped reporting HFC-23 generation at all; the auditor did not identify these issues. Russia's greenhouse gas inventory kept an implied HFC-23 emission factor of about 3% in 2007–2009, and inventory SF6 emissions fell by 24 tonnes (from 53 to 29 tonnes) in 2007–2008 while the projects claimed reductions of 93–199 tonnes of SF6 a year in 2008–2012.
The authors estimated that "for all four plants together, about 28-33 million credits were issued in excess, corresponding to 66-79% of the credits issued for the periods where methodological safeguards to prevent perverse incentives were not applied". Commission Regulation (EU) No 550/2011 banned HFC-23 credits from use in the EU Emissions Trading System from 1 January 2013, with pre-2013 credits usable until 30 April 2013. HaloPolymer Perm and HaloPolymer Kirovo-Chepetsk did not respond to Nature's requests for comment.
- 2008Crediting begins at RU1000201 and RU1000202; SF6 project RU1000309 later claims credits retroactively from 1 January 2008
- 2011EU Regulation 550/2011 adopted (7 June); revised monitoring plans for RU1000201 and RU1000202 remove the caps, applied retroactively from 1 January 2010; waste generation rises abruptly from the second quarter
- 2012RU1000202 stops reporting HFC-23 generation; waste generation at HaloPolymer Perm peaks in October–November
- 2013EU ban on HFC-23 credits applies from 1 January; pre-2013 credits usable until 30 April
- 2015Nature Climate Change paper published online (24 August)
What was said
“all projects abating HFC-23 and SF6 under the Kyoto Protocol's Joint Implementation mechanism in Russia increased waste gas generation to unprecedented levels, once they could generate credits from producing more waste gas”
“for all four plants together, about 28-33 million credits were issued in excess, corresponding to 66-79% of the credits issued for the periods where methodological safeguards to prevent perverse incentives were not applied”
“all waste gas generated becomes eligible for crediting”
“mostly attributable to an increase in waste generation rate, and not in production levels”
“in practice this requirement did not prevent large industrial gas projects from making substantial changes after their registration”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Confirmed the original design-document information, which stated HFC-23 was partly abated beforehand.
Stockholm Environment InstituteConfirmed the revised information, which states HFC-23 was not abated beforehand.
Stockholm Environment InstituteAll Russian HFC-23 and SF6 abatement projects increased waste gas generation to unprecedented levels once more waste gas earned credits; about 28–33 million credits were issued in excess.
Stockholm Environment Institute (Schneider, Kollmuss)Did not respond to Nature's requests for comment.
Scientific American / NatureDid not respond to Nature's requests for comment.
Scientific American / NatureEarlier contracts transferring ERUs to foreign companies had no legal force because the units are state property.
KommersantDisputed the ministry's view that the earlier contracts lacked legal force.
KommersantHow it looked
Shown
- The original design documents stated that HFC-23 was already partly abated before the JI projects.Project design documents of RU1000201 and RU1000202, confirmed by DNV at determination · Stockholm Environment Institute
- The revised documentation stated that HFC-23 had not been abated before the projects.Revised project documentation, confirmed by Bureau Veritas Certification at verification · Stockholm Environment Institute
Recorded
- Three registered projects at two facilities issued 54 million ERUs, 6% of ERUs issued by April 2014 (UNEP Risoe).
- In 2012 the HFC-23 waste generation rate at HaloPolymer Perm exceeded the IPCC range of 1.5% to 4% and any known value; SF6 at HaloPolymer Perm was 16.9% as reported for 2008–2010 against an estimated 0.4% to 5.8% for 1990–2007.
- Secondary ERU prices were still above EUR 10 in mid-2011; Nature's news coverage reported credits worth more than EUR 20 each in 2008 and less than EUR 1 by 2015.
- Inventory SF6 emissions fell by 24 tonnes in 2007–2008 while the projects claimed reductions of 93–199 tonnes of SF6 a year in 2008–2012.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- HaloPolymer Perm (August 2015): Did not respond to Nature's requests for comment. · Scientific American / Nature
- HaloPolymer Kirovo-Chepetsk (August 2015): Did not respond to Nature's requests for comment. · Scientific American / Nature
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Accounts
- Disputed Validity of Vitol's 2011 contracts for ERUs from Galogen and the KChKhK polymer plant
- None on record HaloPolymer Perm: Did not respond to Nature's requests for comment.
- None on record HaloPolymer Kirovo-Chepetsk: Did not respond to Nature's requests for comment.
Record
- None on record None on record: monitoring data showing whether the extra waste gas was destroyed or vented; the authors state that the data needed to determine which pathway occurred is not available. If extra HCFC-22 or SF6 was produced without demand and vented, they state the emissions increase would exceed the credits issued and, for HCFC-22, ozone-layer protection would be undermined.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: revenue received by the plant operators, the buyers of these ERUs and the prices paid. Kommersant (2011) names Vitol as contracted buyer for ERUs from Galogen and the KChKhK polymer plant under a contract then in dispute.
- Insufficient Insufficient: monitoring reports missing from the Russian registry, namely the 1st and 2nd reports (2008–2009) for RU1000201 and the 1st, 2nd and 4th monitoring reports and 4th verification report for RU1000202.
- Not disclosed Not disclosed: whether SF6 was abated before project RU1000309; its documentation does not say. SF6 production data before 2008 is unavailable for HaloPolymer Perm.
- Not measured Not measured: after the 2011 revision, HCFC-22 and SF6 production is no longer monitored at three of the plants.
- Unclear Unclear: which four plants the estimate of 28–33 million excess credits covers; three registered projects at two facilities and one unregistered project are described.
- None on record None on record: statements from Bureau Veritas Certification, DNV, Camco or the Russian Designated Focal Point on these findings.
- None on record None on record: a court ruling or a Russian or international regulatory action against these projects.
Did the harm stop?
EU Regulation 550/2011 banned HFC-23 credits from the EU Emissions Trading System from 1 January 2013.
Who paid?
None on record.
Sources
Government and regulators
- Commission Regulation (EU) No 550/2011European Union · 2011-06-07
Press and investigations
- Carbon-Credits Scheme Linked to Increased Production of Greenhouse Gases (Nature news, reproduced)Scientific American / Nature · 2015-08-25
- Russians accused of abusing carbon creditsCooling Post · 2015-08-28
Researchers
- Has Joint Implementation reduced GHG emissions? Lessons learned for the design of carbon market mechanisms (Working Paper 2015-07)Stockholm Environment Institute (Kollmuss, Schneider, Zhezherin) · 2015-08
- Perverse effects of carbon markets on HFC-23 and SF6 abatement projects in Russia (Nature Climate Change 5, 1061–1063; abstract)Stockholm Environment Institute (Schneider, Kollmuss) · 2015-08-24
- Supplementary Information to Schneider and Kollmuss, nclimate2772Stockholm Environment Institute · 2015
Connected cases
- HFC-23 destruction credits under the CDM (China, India) China · 2005–2019 Related matter
- Russian Joint Implementation credits under the Kyoto Protocol, 2009–2012 Russia · 2009–2015
- Bureau Veritas Certification (Company) — here: Verifier who confirmed the revised documentation; there: Auditor of 56% of JI projects
- Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) (Research institution) — here: Authors of the Nature Climate Change paper and working paper; there: Authors of the 2015 Joint Implementation study
- Vitol (Company) — here: Swiss trader named in contracts for ERUs from the two plants; there: Swiss trader named in contracts with two Russian plants
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Regulation 550/2011; EU ETS credit data
- UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (International organisation) — here: Kyoto Protocol Joint Implementation framework; there: Kyoto Protocol Joint Implementation framework
- 62% of UK paraquat exports since 2015 went to poorer countries, analysis finds United Kingdom · 2015–2024
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Institution whose paraquat approval the EU court annulled
- AdBlue cartel (Daimler, BMW, VW) Germany · 2009–2014
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Competition authority that issued the decision
- Bottom trawling in European marine protected areas European Union · 2017–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Proposed the non-binding phase-out target
- Bou Craa phosphate mine and Morocco green hydrogen in Western Sahara Western Sahara (controlled in large part by Morocco) · 1975–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Negotiated the EU-Morocco arrangements
- End-of-life vehicle recycling cartel (EU carmakers, ACEA) European Union · 2002–2017
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Regulator
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Made the 2020 pledge; reported to have withdrawn it in 2026
- EU bans three neonicotinoid pesticides outdoors in 2018; Turkey follows in part European Union · 2018
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: adopted the outdoor ban
- EU Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism burden on Turkish exporters Turkey · 2026
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Regulator of CBAM
- EU Deforestation Regulation delays and trade pressure European Union · 2022
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Proposer of simplification review
- EU taxonomy hydropower exemption and California large hydro exclusion European Union / United States · 2002–2021
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Author of the taxonomy rule
- Germany agreed €2.6bn and €1.75bn coal exit payments to RWE and LEAG Germany · 2019–2023
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: approved the RWE payment
- Kerch Strait storm, November 2007: Volgoneft 139 fuel-oil spill and sulphur-ship sinkings Russia · 2007–2018
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Post-disaster needs assessment with UNEP
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Letter to an MEP on EIB and EBRD financing conditions
- Lliuya v RWE Peru · 2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Approved the German compensation payment to RWE (13 December 2023)
- Spain: environmental liability financial guarantee (EU Directive Art. 14) Spain · 2004
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Evaluated the directive and reported on mandatory financial security
- US withdrawal from 66 international bodies and Paris/UNFCCC United States · 2025–2027
- UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (International organisation) — here: Kyoto Protocol Joint Implementation framework; there: Treaty secretariat the US is leaving
- Used cooking oil and POME biofuel certification: fraud allegations (ISCC, EU/UK) European Union · 2016–2025
- European Commission (Public authority) — here: Regulation 550/2011 banning HFC-23 credits from 2013; there: Regulator; anti-dumping duties; recognition of ISCC