Cases / Killings and repression of defenders · Republic of the Congo · 2017
Report says a man died after ecoguard beating in Republic of the Congo park
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
A December 2017 Rainforest Foundation UK report says a man died in November 2017 after being beaten by park ecoguards in the Nouabalé-Ndoki area. The sources reviewed record no response from WCS and no prosecution.
What?
Rainforest Foundation UK reported that a man died in November 2017 after being beaten by Nouabalé-Ndoki ecoguards. Rainforest Foundation UK
Where?
Nouabalé-Ndoki, Republic of the Congo Rainforest Foundation UK
When?
Death in November 2017; report in December 2017 Rainforest Foundation UK
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
- A man (not named) — died in November 2017 after being beaten by ecoguards Rainforest Foundation UK
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Beating by ecoguards of the Nouabalé-Ndoki and Tri-National de la Sangha area, per the report. Rainforest Foundation UK
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Rainforest Foundation UK's December 2017 report, 'The Human Cost of Conservation in Republic of Congo', said a man died in November 2017 after being beaten by Nouabalé-Ndoki and Tri-National de la Sangha ecoguards.
The report says funding includes USAID.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record No WCS response or prosecution was found in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not describe the circumstances of the beating in more detail.
- None on record The amount of USAID funding is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts— Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers
Communities and civil society
- Aid-funded conservation guards accused of extrajudicial killingRainforest Foundation UK · Dec 2017
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- Messok Dja ecoguard abuses (Republic of Congo) Republic of Congo · 2008–2020 Related matter
- Kahuzi-Biega National Park: Batwa evictions and killings DR Congo · 1975–2024
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: conservation NGO; no response found in the sources reviewed; there: Funder, then park manager from April 2022
- USAID (Government) — here: funder named in the report; there: Funder
- WWF independent review (Pillay panel) and US funding suspension International · 2019–2020
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: conservation NGO; no response found in the sources reviewed; there: Grantee under US review
- USAID (Government) — here: funder named in the report; there: Source of the CARPE funds routed through the US Fish and Wildlife Service
- WWF-funded ranger units accused of torture and killings in Asia and Africa Multiple countries · 2006–2023
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: conservation NGO; no response found in the sources reviewed; there: Took over management of Kahuzi-Biega park in April 2022
- USAID (Government) — here: funder named in the report; there: Funder of Kahuzi-Biega park, per the Minority Rights Group report
- Ecopetrol Lizama well blowout (Colombia) Colombia · 2018–2021
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: conservation NGO; no response found in the sources reviewed; there: Conservation organisation listing Ecopetrol among its corporate supporters
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- USAID (Government) — here: funder named in the report; there: Donor to NRT (nearly $20m, 2015–2020; funding ended January 2025)
- Tobacco groups' diversification into oil, food and shipping United States · 2005–2026
- Wildlife Conservation Society (NGO) — here: conservation NGO; no response found in the sources reviewed; there: Conservation organisation; trustee role documented
- USAID funding for Kenya's Northern Rangelands Trust ended in 2025 Kenya · 2025
- USAID (Government) — here: funder named in the report; there: Donor whose funding ended; agency closed 1 July 2025