Kikonda Forest Reserve carbon plantation (Global Woods), Uganda
Global Woods AG, a German company, planted pine and eucalyptus on the Kikonda Central Forest Reserve under a 2002 tree-farming licence and sold Gold Standard carbon credits from it. Journalists and NGOs report evictions and conflict with herders and farmers, which the company and the FSC contest or contextualise; Gold Standard required corrective action in 2016 and later closed the grievance, and no court ruling is on record.
From an undated printout of the Gold Standard registry page; 452,328 were retired. The company's project page and an aggregator listing give different volumes and crediting periods, and the buyers are not named in any source reviewed.
Status As of October 2026: the plantation is held by Nile Fibreboard Ltd after a 2020 sale; Gold Standard closed its grievance in 2023 after corrective action; no court ruling and no 2024 to 2026 reporting on the plantation is on record.
- Global Woods and its investors — Sold carbon credits (500,935 VERs issued per the registry printout) and the plantation; the sale price is undisclosed Gold Standard registry
- Nile Fibreboard Ltd — Acquired the 8,500 ha plantation in 2020 Africa Private Equity News
- Herders and farmers who used the reserve — Reported removal from land and homes, fines, arrests and impounded cattle; denied or contextualised by the company and the FSC REDD-Monitor
- Livestock of neighbouring farmers — Farmers attribute cattle deaths to the company's herbicides; the company says there is no scientific link REDD-Monitor
What happened
Kikonda Central Forest Reserve lies in Kyankwanzi District, formerly Kiboga, about 30 km south-east of Hoima in the Kafu River catchment. The project area is 12,182 ha, of which 7,321 ha are eligible for planting and 4,861 ha are conservation area (the company's figures; some sources give 12,186 ha). Global Woods AG, a German company, received a 50-year tree-farming licence from the Ugandan state in 2002 according to REDD-Monitor and the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC); Witness Radio reported that it allegedly acquired a 49-year lease. REDD-Monitor wrote that Manfred Vohrer, a former FDP politician, was behind the company and its chief executive. Planting of pine and eucalyptus began in 2001 or 2002; REDD-Monitor reported more than 8,000 ha planted by 2016 and Criterion Africa Partners (CAP) gave 8,500 ha in 2020.
The plantation was registered as Gold Standard project GS 2990, "Kikonda Forest Reserve", an afforestation and reforestation project with a crediting period from 1 October 2002 to 1 October 2050 and an estimated 18,058 tonnes a year. An undated printout of the registry page shows 500,935 verified emission reductions (VERs) issued, of which 452,328 were retired, and 853,185 planned emission reductions (PERs) issued, of which 213,905 were assigned. The company's project page gives removals of 67,706 tonnes of CO2 a year over 2002 to 2032 and says more than 1 million tonnes were sequestered in 2002 to 2020; it lists the credits as "Sold Out". No source reviewed names a buyer. The project also held CarbonFix certification from January 2009 (Witness Radio), Climate, Community and Biodiversity certification from 2009 that expired in July 2014 (REDD-Monitor), and FSC forest management certification from 2012, covering 10,298 ha in 2020.
Journalists and NGOs reported conflict with people who used the reserve. REDD-Monitor, summarising reports by the journalist Susanne Götze, a 2013 Swedish Society for Nature Conservation report on the Climate, Community and Biodiversity standard and a 2014 University of Otago doctoral study, wrote that the company assumed 20 communities where a survey counted 44, and that when planting began herders were removed from their land and homes. The reports described fines of up to US$400, arbitrary arrests, impounded cattle, denied access to community water tanks and farmers' attribution of cattle deaths to the company's herbicides. Götze reported that a neighbouring resident's house was burned and that, according to his wife, a Global Woods employee beat their children. Witness Radio (10 May 2023) reported, as allegations, that more than 10,000 people were evicted with the support of security forces from more than 30 villages and that a water dam at Kigando village was destroyed; it said Global Woods, Nile Fibre Board, Sarrai Group and CAP did not respond, and it reported no court case on Kikonda.
The company and certifiers gave different accounts. The project design document said the project only enforces the law and that "no long-term negative impacts can be expected", and that charcoal makers and cattle keepers would need 5 to 10 years to find other work. A Global Woods representative told Götze there was no scientific link between its chemicals and cattle deaths, and the company said it regretted the incident but had acted legally on land the government assigned. The FSC assessor SGS wrote that there are no customary use rights because the area is a forest reserve. The FSC reported in 2017 that about 2,000 ha of the concession was contested and unplanted, and in 2019 that the company ran a livelihoods programme supporting 1,012 crop growers and 367 cattle keepers; a Makerere University researcher described overlapping freehold, customary and mailo claims. Gold Standard received a grievance on 20 November 2015, commissioned Climate Focus to assess land title, violence on project land and chemical use affecting livestock (report May 2016), and in October 2016 its Technical Governance Committee decided on corrective action for Global Woods' Kikonda project. The page says all requirements have since been fulfilled and the grievance is closed; it was last updated on 26 January 2023, and it does not describe the Climate Focus findings.
Ownership changed. Global-woods International says the project was handed in 2010 to a Danish forest investment fund (not named), transferred in 2020 to a Ugandan family-owned business, and that the company ended all involvement in 2022. CAP announced on 1 December 2020 that its portfolio company Global Woods had sold the 8,500 ha plantation to Nile Fibreboard Ltd; CAP's 2015 investment had financed the last 3,000 ha, and the price was undisclosed. The sources reviewed contain no 2024 to 2026 reporting on evictions, court cases or Nile Fibreboard's response.
- 2001Tree planting begins (REDD-Monitor: 2001; FSC Africa and Gold Standard: 2002 licence and crediting period)
- 2002Global Woods receives a 50-year tree-farming licence from the Ugandan state (Witness Radio: a 49-year lease); crediting period begins 1 October
- 2009CarbonFix certification (January); Climate, Community and Biodiversity certification, which expired in July 2014
- 2010Per the company page, the project is handed to a Danish forest investment fund (unnamed); no independent confirmation
- 2012FSC forest management certification awarded
- 2013Swedish Society for Nature Conservation report on the CCB standard
- 2015Gold Standard receives a grievance (20 November); CAP invests to finance the last 3,000 ha
- 2016Climate Focus assessment (May); Gold Standard Technical Governance Committee decides on corrective action (October); REDD-Monitor (January) and Freitag (9 March) report on conflicts
- 2020CAP announces the sale of the plantation to Nile Fibreboard Ltd (1 December)
- 2022Global-woods International ends all involvement, per its project page
- 2023Gold Standard grievance page last updated (26 January); Witness Radio reports allegations of evictions (10 May)
What was said
“no long-term negative impacts can be expected”
“There are no customary use rights of the land, since the area is a Forest Reserve”
“If we'd waited for others to resolve land issues, we would not have this forest today.”
“Encroachment is real. We can't wish it away.”
“has already proven to be untenable”
“The sale of Global Woods' plantations to Nile Fibreboard represents a successful outcome for all stakeholders involved.”
“All recommendations and requirements in this regard have been since fulfilled”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
Herders say they held land rights before Global Woods arrived and are being pushed out; a neighbouring resident's house was burned and, according to his wife, a Global Woods employee beat their children.
Der FreitagThe company assumed 20 communities where a survey counted 44; herders were removed when planting began; fines, arbitrary arrests, impounded cattle and denied access to water tanks were recorded.
REDD-MonitorMore than 10,000 people were evicted with the support of security forces from more than 30 villages, with arrests, looted animals and grain and a destroyed water dam at Kigando village.
Witness RadioThe project only enforces the law; the government assigned the land; the company regretted the incident but acted legally.
REDD-MonitorThere are no customary use rights in a forest reserve; about 2,000 ha is contested and unplanted; families encroached on the reserve and the company set up a livelihoods programme for 1,012 crop growers and 367 cattle keepers.
FSC AfricaFreehold, customary and mailo claims overlap on the land.
FSC AfricaAttribute cattle deaths to the herbicides the company used; one herder reported losing more than 30 cattle in 2017 (Witness Radio).
Witness RadioThere is no scientific link between its chemicals and cattle deaths.
REDD-MonitorClimate Focus reviewed chemical use affecting livestock and the Technical Governance Committee required chemical-use minimisation and monitoring; the page does not describe the findings.
Gold StandardAll recommendations and requirements have been fulfilled and the grievance is closed.
Gold StandardDescribes a multimillion-dollar tree project sold off before land-grab and human-rights claims were resolved with local communities; the companies did not respond.
Witness RadioA relative of the principal backer of Global Woods is Technical Director, Land Use and Forests at Gold Standard.
REDD-MonitorTold Götze this is not a conflict of interest.
REDD-MonitorHow it looked
Shown
- The plantation described as sold-out carbon removal credits, with more than 1 million tonnes of CO2 sequestered in 2002 to 2020, more than 8 million trees and a conservation area of 4,861 ha.Global-woods International · Global-woods International
- The project described as enforcing the law, with a livelihoods programme supporting 1,012 crop growers and 367 cattle keepers.Global Woods, as reported by the FSC · FSC
- The sale of the plantation to Nile Fibreboard described as "a successful outcome for all stakeholders involved".Criterion Africa Partners · Africa Private Equity News
Recorded
- Gold Standard registry printout: 500,935 VERs issued, 452,328 retired; 853,185 PERs issued, 213,905 assigned; crediting period 1 October 2002 to 1 October 2050.
- Gold Standard grievance process: submitted 20 November 2015; Climate Focus assessment May 2016; Technical Governance Committee corrective-action decision October 2016; page says all requirements fulfilled and the grievance closed (updated 26 January 2023).
- Reports of evictions, fines, arrests and impounded cattle come from journalists and NGOs and are denied or contextualised by the company; Witness Radio reports no court case on Kikonda and no response from the companies.
- FSC: about 2,000 ha of the concession is contested and unplanted; 10,298 ha FSC-certified in 2020 (8,522.03 ha plantation, 1,776.8 ha natural forest).
- No buyer of Kikonda credits is named on the company pages, the registry printout or the CAP release.
In nature's name
Promised
- “no long-term negative impacts can be expected” — Project design document, as quoted by REDD-Monitor (Not stated) REDD-Monitor
What was measured
The credit volumes (registry printout, company page) and the company's carbon figures are operator and registry figures; the sources reviewed describe no independent measurement of carbon removed, of the land cover the plantation replaced or of the conservation area. The volumes also conflict between the registry printout and the company page.
Findings on record
- Registry action Gold Standard Technical Governance Committee (2016-10) · Corrective action on Global Woods' Kikonda project after the grievance of 20 November 2015 Gold Standard
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Global Woods (Project design document; 2016): Said through its project design document that the project only enforces the law and "no long-term negative impacts can be expected"; a representative said there is no scientific link between its chemicals and cattle deaths; to Götze it said it regretted the incident but had acted legally on land the government assigned. · REDD-Monitor
- Gold Standard (2016; updated 26 January 2023): Commissioned Climate Focus after a grievance of 20 November 2015, decided on corrective action in October 2016 and states "All recommendations and requirements in this regard have been since fulfilled"; told Götze that a relative of the principal backer working as its technical director is not a conflict of interest. · Gold Standard
- Criterion Africa Partners (1 December 2020; 10 May 2023): Announced the sale of the plantation to Nile Fibreboard Ltd as "a successful outcome for all stakeholders involved"; Witness Radio reported that it did not respond to its questions. · Africa Private Equity News
- Nile Fibreboard Ltd (10 May 2023): Did not respond, according to Witness Radio; no statement of its own is recorded in the sources reviewed. · Witness Radio
- Global-woods International (Page printed 19 June 2024): Says the project was sold in 2010 and transferred in 2020, that it ended all involvement in 2022 and that the credits are "Sold Out". · Global-woods International
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- None on record No court case on record.
Figures
- Insufficient People evicted alleged: Witness Radio, reported as allegations; no court finding.
- Insufficient Fines alleged usd: Fines described in reports summarised by REDD-Monitor.
Accounts
Record
- None on record None on record: the buyers of Kikonda credits; no source reviewed names one.
- None on record None on record: a court ruling on Kikonda; Witness Radio (2023) reports no Kikonda court case and the sources reviewed give none.
- None on record None on record: the natural land cover (grassland, scrub or forest) the plantation replaced, or how much was converted; the company says it set aside 4,861 ha as conservation area.
- None on record None on record: the findings of the Climate Focus assessment; the Gold Standard page names its subjects but does not describe its findings, and does not state deregistration.
- Not disclosed None on record: the parties and price of the 2010 transfer and the sale price to Nile Fibreboard in 2020; CAP did not disclose the price.
- None on record None on record: new issuance, litigation or a Nile Fibreboard response between 2024 and 2026.
- Self-reported only Not measured: carbon removed. The registry volumes, the company's figure of more than 1 million tonnes and CAP's 2.5 million tonnes at maturity are operator and registry figures, not an independent measurement.
- Disputed Disputed: the credit volumes and period. The registry printout gives an estimated 18,058 tonnes a year to 2050; the company page gives 67,706 tonnes a year over 2002 to 2032.
- Disputed Disputed: the licence term (50 or 49 years), the area (12,182 or 12,186 ha), the district (Kiboga, Kyankwanzi or near Hoima) and the sale year (2010 or 2020; both may be true if there were two transfers, which no source states).
- Disputed Unconfirmed: a reports of an offsets database listed the project under Nile Fibreboard with 1.35 million credits issued and 688 thousand retired; the page did not load and the figures conflict with the registry printout.
- Disputed Unconfirmed: a reports of a World Rainforest Movement bulletin reports 888,033 tonnes of CO2e projected over 50 years and continuing conflicts with communities.
Did the harm stop?
The sources reviewed do not state whether the disputed activities have stopped. Witness Radio (2023) alleged unresolved land claims, while Gold Standard states its 2016 requirements were fulfilled and the grievance closed.
Who paid?
The buyers of the credits are not named in the sources reviewed and no sale prices are on record. CAP's 2015 investment financed the last 3,000 ha; its sale price to Nile Fibreboard was undisclosed.
Sources
Company or project
- Kikonda Forest Reserve (project page)Global-woods International · 2026
- Kikonda Forest Reserve (company page, printout stored by Land Matrix)Global-woods International · 2024-06-19
Press and investigations
- Unser Märchenwald (Susanne Götze), Der Freitag 08/2016Der Freitag · 2016-03-09
- Criterion Africa Partners exits Ugandan timber plantation (report on the 1 December 2020 CAP release)Africa Private Equity News · 2020-12-07
Communities and civil society
- Global Woods plantations in Uganda (Chris Lang)REDD-Monitor · 2016-01-08
- Facing land conflict by growing farmers' means to support themselvesFSC Africa · 2017-11-03
- New hope for one Ugandan communityFSC · 2019-01-29
- Investor record: Global-woods AG Kikonda Uganda LimitedLand Matrix · undated
- Biodiversity and livelihoods flourish in Uganda's FSC-certified plantationsFSC Africa · 2020-07-15
Standard-setters and registries
- Gold Standard registry page, project GS 2990 Kikonda Forest Reserve (undated printout stored by Land Matrix)Gold Standard registry · undated
- Kikonda Carbon Tree Plantation Project grievanceGold Standard · 2023-01-26
Connected cases
- APRIL pulp suppliers linked to forest loss and Cerrado eucalyptus growth Brazil · 2010–2024
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: Certification body whose remedy process for the suppliers is on hold
- Carpathian beech, IKEA's supply chain and FSC certification: Earthsight's 2020 findings and the responses Ukraine · 2018–2025
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: Certifier; disputes Earthsight's reading of the law
- Chikweti forestry plantations (Mozambique) Mozambique · 2007
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: Certification scheme
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- Government of Uganda (Government) — here: Granted the tree-farming licence over the forest reserve; there: Host government; EACOP (Special Provisions) Act 2021
- EU woody biomass and Enviva pellets United Kingdom · 2012–2026
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: Certifier that suspended the pellet producer AVP
- FSC suspends Vietnamese pellet maker An Viet Phat Energy over false claims Vietnam · 2022–2023
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: Certifier that suspended AVP
- FSC suspends Vietnamese pellet producer over false certification claims Vietnam · 2022–2023
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: Certifier that suspended the producer
- FSC suspension of Russia and Belarus and birch plywood sanctions cases in the EU Russia · 2022–2026
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: Suspended certificates in Russia and Belarus
- Greenpeace leaves the Forest Stewardship Council in 2018 Global · 2018
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: Certifier that Greenpeace left
- Land sales and logging on Sami reindeer pasture in Sweden, NGO reports Sweden · 2020–2025
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certified forest management from 2012 and reported on land conflict; there: certification body whose system was examined in the Earthsight report
- Mountain gorilla census counts 1,063; Bwindi Batwa evicted in 1991 without compensation Multiple (Uganda, DR Congo, Rwanda) · 1991
- Government of Uganda (Government) — here: Granted the tree-farming licence over the forest reserve; there: Defendant; appealed the August 2021 Constitutional Court ruling
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- Witness Radio (NGO) — here: Published allegations of evictions in 2023; there: NGO reporting killings and disappearances