Mountain gorilla census counts 1,063; Bwindi Batwa evicted in 1991 without compensation
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
A 2016 to 2018 census counted at least 1,063 mountain gorillas in the Bwindi and Virunga populations, up from about 240 in Virunga in the 1980s. The recovery is set against the Batwa people's compensation claim, which a Ugandan court found unmet and which the government has appealed.
- Mountain gorillas in Bwindi and Virunga — Counted at 1,063 in the 2016 to 2018 census, up from about 240 in Virunga in the 1980s Mongabay
- Batwa people of Bwindi — Removed from the forest in 1991 without compensation; the 2021 court ruling found the compensation inadequate Daily Monitor
What happened
A 2016 to 2018 census of the Bwindi and Virunga populations counted at least 1,063 mountain gorillas, Mongabay reported in December 2019.
Mongabay also reported that the Virunga population had fallen to about 240 in the 1980s.
Batwa people were removed from Bwindi forest in 1991 without compensation being paid, the Daily Monitor reported.
In August 2021 Uganda's Constitutional Court unanimously found that the Batwa were left landless without adequate compensation and left the remedy to a higher court; the government appealed.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2021-08OngoingBatwa eviction compensation caseConstitutional Court of Uganda · constitutional · Batwa people of Bwindi → Government of Uganda
The court ruled unanimously that the Batwa were left landless without adequate compensation and left the remedy to a higher court. The government appealed. Daily Monitor
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: between 150 and 175 Virunga rangers have been killed since 1996.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give the number of Batwa people removed from Bwindi or the amount of compensation owed.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the government's appeal has been decided.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Mountain gorilla census reveals further increase in numbersMongabay · 2019-12-17
- Court faults govt for failing to pay Batwa during evictionDaily Monitor ·
Connected cases
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- Government of Uganda (Government) — here: Defendant; appealed the August 2021 Constitutional Court ruling; there: Host government; EACOP (Special Provisions) Act 2021