Kabwe lead-poisoning claim against Anglo American is under appeal in South Africa
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Leigh Day reported that more than 95% of Kabwe's children have high blood lead levels and that no payment has been made. Amnesty International put the number of people in Kabwe at about 140,000 and said the company is shifting responsibility to others.
What happened
Amnesty International put the number of people in Kabwe at about 140,000 and said the company is shifting responsibility to others.
Leigh Day reported that a Zambian lead-poisoning claim against Anglo American will be heard at the Supreme Court of Appeal in South Africa.
Leigh Day reported that no payment has been made and that the case is continuing.
Leigh Day reported that more than 95% of Kabwe's children have high blood lead levels.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- OngoingZambian lead-poisoning claim against Anglo AmericanSupreme Court of Appeal · Civil · Kabwe claimants → Anglo American
Claim over lead poisoning in Kabwe, Zambia, to be heard at the Supreme Court of Appeal. No payment has been made, per Leigh Day. Leigh Day
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say how many claimants are in the case or how the 140,000 figure is counted.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give Anglo American's own response.
- None on record A class action on behalf of about 140,000 women and children is cited without a source URL and is not used.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
Communities and civil society
- Amnesty International and SALC intervene on landmark multinational mining case at South Africa's Supreme Court of AppealAmnesty International · 2025-11
Connected cases
- Addis Ababa riverside and corridor demolitions led to evictions without compensation Ethiopia · 2020–2024
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: advocate reporting on the case; there: called for a halt to evictions
- Kolwezi forced evictions (Cité Gécamines, DRC) Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2016–2023
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: advocate reporting on the case; there: Documented the evictions
- Lagos waterfront evictions (Otodo-Gbame, Badia East) and Eko Atlantic Nigeria · 2014–2026
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: advocate reporting on the case; there: NGO; recorded evictions and deaths
- Ngorongoro and Loliondo relocations Tanzania · 1992–2026
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: advocate reporting on the case; there: NGO; reported on forced evictions
- Niger Delta oil spills and sabotage attribution (Shell, Eni) Nigeria · 2008–2022
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: advocate reporting on the case; there: NGO; report on spill investigations
- Ogoniland and Bodo spills clean-up (SPDC, HYPREP) Nigeria · 1958–2026
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: advocate reporting on the case; there: Reported on spill-cause determination and sabotage attribution
- Study estimates 2,000 tonnes of uranium in DR Congo cobalt exports Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2000–2024
- Amnesty International (NGO) — here: advocate reporting on the case; there: documented evictions and abuses near Kolwezi