Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Wind, hydro and other renewables · Namibia · 2020–2026

Hyphen green hydrogen project (Namibia)

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured. Disputed
People
  • Up to 3,000 people died.
    Nama and Herero killed on Shark Island, 1904–1908, near the planned port.
What the record lacks: 5 none on record · 1 not measured · 4 disputed See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
Is the brine from desalination for the project small enough to ignore?
  • Researchers German-ministry-backed report (October 2023): One litre of treated water needs two to three litres of seawater and leaves one to two litres of brine.
  • Standard-setters and registries Existing environmental assessments (authors not named): Assume the brine volume to be small, according to the same report.

A planned green hydrogen and ammonia export project inside the Tsau //Khaeb National Park near Lüderitz, in which the Namibian state holds 24%. Its final investment decision was postponed to the end of 2027.

24%Namibian state stake in the project; final investment decision postponed to end of 2027
The Namibian, 6 October 2026.

Status As of October 2026: final investment decision postponed to the end of 2027; the state holds 24%.

What?
A planned export green hydrogen and ammonia project inside a national park; the final investment decision was postponed to the end of 2027. The Namibian
Where?
Tsau //Khaeb National Park, around Lüderitz, Namibia.
When?
Tender 2020–2023; state stake December 2023; decision postponed 6 October 2026. The Namibian
Who?
Gained
  • Project partners — No returns yet; the project has not reached a final investment decision. The Namibian
Lost
None on record
Harmed
  • Nama community — Representatives objected to a port near Shark Island, a genocide memorial site.
Why?
Stated aim: export green hydrogen to Europe and create jobs; seawater was to supply the water.
How?
Through a tender exempt from procurement rules, a state stake, and announced public lenders.
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Hyphen is a green hydrogen project, to produce hydrogen with renewable electricity, usually converted to ammonia for export. Its site is inside the Tsau //Khaeb National Park around Lüderitz, Namibia. The project was valued at $10 billion, and promoters said it would create 15,000 construction jobs and 3,000 permanent jobs. A study announced in December 2022 with German backing said Namibia planned to start exports before 2025.

The tender, run between 2020 and 2023, was exempted from public procurement rules, and the bids and the reasons for the selection were not disclosed. Namibia's green hydrogen commissioner, James Mnyupe, defended the exemption. One partner, Nicholas Holdings, is registered in the British Virgin Islands and holds its stake through Mauritius. In December 2023 the state took a 24% stake. Germany declared Hyphen a strategic foreign project in 2024. The European Investment Bank announced a loan of up to €500 million, and the African Development Bank provided a grant and loan.

A port is planned near Shark Island, where up to 3,000 Nama and Herero were killed in the German genocide of 1904–1908. Nama representatives objected in April 2024, saying the memorial site could be damaged.

A report backed by a German ministry stated that producing one litre of treated water needs two to three litres of seawater and leaves one to two litres of brine, and that existing environmental assessments assume this volume to be small.

In October 2026 the final investment decision was postponed to the end of 2027. Opposition shadow minister Rodney Cloete said that, with the state a part-owner, the costs of every delay were now partly the state's own.

  1. 2020Tender begins around Lüderitz (2020–2023); exempted from public procurement rules
  2. 2022December: German-backed study announces Namibia plans to start exports before 2025
  3. 2023December: the Namibian state takes a 24% stake
  4. 2024April: Nama representatives object to the Shark Island port plan; Germany declares Hyphen a strategic foreign project
  5. 20266 October: final investment decision postponed to end of 2027

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Was the tender properly run?
Government and regulators
James Mnyupe, Namibia's green hydrogen commissioner

Defended the exemption from public procurement rules.

Government and regulators
Namibian authorities

Bids and the reasons for selection were not disclosed.

Is the brine from desalination for the project small enough to ignore?
Researchers
German-ministry-backed report (October 2023)

One litre of treated water needs two to three litres of seawater and leaves one to two litres of brine.

Standard-setters and registries
Existing environmental assessments (authors not named)

Assume the brine volume to be small, according to the same report.

Did the 2022 export timeline hold?
Researchers
German-backed study announcement, December 2022

Namibia planned to start exports before 2025.

Press and investigations
The Namibian, 6 October 2026

The final investment decision was postponed to the end of 2027; shadow minister Rodney Cloete said the state, as part-owner, now shares the cost of delay.

The Namibian
Will the port near Shark Island damage the memorial site?
Communities and civil society
Nama representatives

Concerned that the memorial site, where up to 3,000 Nama and Herero were killed in 1904–1908, would be harmed (April 2024).

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • The project would create 15,000 construction jobs and 3,000 permanent jobs.
    Promoters of the project
  • Namibia would start exporting green hydrogen before 2025.
    German-backed study announcement, December 2022

Recorded

  • The tender was exempted from public procurement rules; bids and selection reasons were not disclosed.
  • The final investment decision was postponed to the end of 2027; the state holds 24%.
  • The site lies inside the Tsau //Khaeb National Park.
  • A German-ministry-backed report says each litre of treated water leaves one to two litres of brine and that current environmental assessments assume a small volume.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
No figure published.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Currency: USD · Window: . All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • Namibia's green hydrogen commissioner, James Mnyupe (2020–2023): Defended the exemption of the tender from public procurement rules.

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Site
Inside a national park
Tsau //Khaeb National Park, around Lüderitz
Brine per litre of treated water
1–2 litres
From 2–3 litres of seawater; existing environmental assessments assume a small volume (German-ministry-backed report, October 2023)
Planned exports before 2025
Not met
Final investment decision postponed to end of 2027

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

  • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
  • Disputed Is the brine from desalination for the project small enough to ignore?

Accounts

  • Disputed Was the tender properly run?
  • Disputed Did the 2022 export timeline hold?
  • Disputed Will the port near Shark Island damage the memorial site?
  • None on record Namibian authorities: Bids and the reasons for selection were not disclosed.

Record

  • None on record Tender documents have never been disclosed, and the bids and reasons for the selection are not public.
  • None on record The grantor of the €40 million grant listed with the postponement is not identified in the sources reviewed.
  • None on record A response from the Hyphen consortium to the Nama objection to the port is not on record in the sources reviewed.
  • None on record The sources reviewed do not report an independent ecological assessment of the site.

Did the harm stop?

The project had not reached a final investment decision as of October 2026.

Who paid?

Not established; the state holds 24% and public lenders were announced.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

Press and investigations

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Insurance

Premium
The price paid for an insurance policy.