Canada's Giant Mine arsenic cleanup cost rises to CAD 4.38 billion
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The federal cost of cleaning up the former Giant Mine in Yellowknife has reached CAD 4.38 billion. About 237,000 tonnes of arsenic are to be frozen, with cooling and monitoring needed indefinitely.
What happened
CBC reported in August 2022 that the federal cost of remediating Giant Mine had risen to CAD 4.38 billion; its former owner, Royal Oak, had been placed in receivership in 1999.
Cabin Radio reported that the full CAD 4.38 billion was public money and that about 237,000 tonnes of arsenic would be frozen.
Cabin Radio also reported an estimate of about CAD 1 billion for cleanup and about CAD 2 million a year in maintenance, which would last indefinitely.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say who gained from the mine's operations or who was harmed by the arsenic.
- None on record The CAD 1 billion cleanup estimate and the CAD 4.38 billion federal cost are reported without reconciliation of their scope.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not explain what the 1948 to 2038 span marks at its end.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Cleaning up Giant Mine will take longer and cost much more than plannedCabin Radio · 2022
Connected cases
- Giant Mine cleanup cost in Yellowknife rose to 4.38 billion Canadian dollars Canada · 1999–2022
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Bears the federal cost of the cleanup
- Royal Oak (Company) — here: Former owner; placed in receivership in 1999; there: Former owner; in receivership from 1999
- About 100 tonnes of iron released off Haida Gwaii in 2012 ocean experiment Canada · 2012–2013
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Environment ministry searched in 2013; no charges recorded
- Alberta and Ottawa tie new oil pipeline to Pathways carbon capture plan Canada · 2025
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Party to the November 2025 agreement; federal tax credit
- Alberta orphan wells and mine liabilities Canada · 2002
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Source of federal funding (2020) and loans
- Alberta orphan wells, closure liabilities and the Redwater ruling Canada · 2002
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Source of federal funding (2020) and loans
- Canada narrowed federal environmental reviews in 2012 and again in 2025 Canada · 2012–2025
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Federal government; subject of the 2012 assessment law and Bill C-5
- Lac-Mégantic rail disaster (Quebec) Canada · 2012–2026
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Contributed C$75 million to the settlement fund
- Québec caribou emergency order and the 17 percent protection target Canada · 2020–2026
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Began the emergency-order process
- Ruby River seeks $588m-$1bn from Canada over rejected Québec LNG plant Canada · 2021
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: respondent
- Soviet nuclear satellite Cosmos 954 crashes in Canada; USSR pays C$3m in 1981 Canada · 1978–1981
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Claimant for damage from Cosmos 954
- Trans Mountain pipeline insurers (Canada) Canada · 2018–2024
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: Owner since 2018; guarantor of the credit facility
- Westmoreland's claim over Alberta coal exit dismissed; company ordered to pay costs Canada · 2024
- Government of Canada (Government) — here: Federal government funding the remediation; there: respondent