Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Mining · Democratic Republic of the Congo · 2025

DRC replaces cobalt export ban with 96,600-tonne annual quota

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 5 none on record · 1 not measured · 1 unclear See the gaps

The Democratic Republic of the Congo turned a February 2025 cobalt export ban into a quota of 96,600 tonnes a year for 2026 and 2027, Bankable reported. The IEA linked a rise of about 130% in cobalt prices to the DRC constraint; the sources reviewed do not state environmental effects of the quota.

What?
The DRC converted a February 2025 cobalt export ban into a quota of 96,600 tonnes a year for 2026 and 2027. Bankable
Where?
Democratic Republic of the Congo Bankable
When?
Export ban February 2025; quota for 2026 and 2027; Bankable report October 2025 Bankable
Who?
Gained
  • CMOC — Exported about 96,000 tonnes in 2024; Bankable's headline says it wins the largest share of the quota Bankable
Lost
  • Artisanal cobalt miners — Share of DRC output fell to about 2% in 2024 (Cobalt Institute); their outcomes are not described in the sources reviewed
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Export ban converted into a quota, with 9,600 tonnes at the discretion of the regulator ARECOMS. Bankable
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Bankable reported in October 2025 that the DRC converted its February 2025 cobalt export ban into a quota of 96,600 tonnes a year for 2026 and 2027, of which 9,600 tonnes are at the discretion of the regulator ARECOMS.

The same report says CMOC exported about 96,000 tonnes in 2024, and its headline says CMOC wins the largest share of the quota.

The IEA reported that cobalt prices rose about 130% from January 2025 to April 2026 in its base-metals review, linking the rise to the DRC constraint.

The Cobalt Institute reported that artisanal cobalt fell to about 2% of DRC production in 2024, a decline it attributed to growth in industrial output.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • None on record Environmental effects of the export ban and quota are not stated in the sources reviewed.
    • None on record Labour and community conditions in DRC cobalt mining are not covered by the sources reviewed for this record.
    • None on record The basis for the 9,600-tonne discretionary allocation is not stated.
    • None on record The IEA figure and the Cobalt Institute figure have no URL in the sources reviewed.
    • None on record The reason for the February 2025 export ban is not stated in the sources reviewed.
    • Unclear Whether the quota has changed cobalt prices beyond the IEA-reported rise is not stated.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.