Chikweti forestry plantations (Mozambique)
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A Dutch pension fund held a majority stake in a fund that planted pine and eucalyptus in Niassa province, Mozambique. A 2010 government review found that 32,000 hectares were occupied without land-use rights.
Finding of Mozambique's Ministry of Agriculture and the National Directorate of Lands and Forests (DNTF); the fund denied it.
Status As of the sources reviewed (2011–2013): ABP conceded the investment did not meet ESG criteria and stayed invested; current status not found.
- ABP and the other investors in GSFF — Stakes in a forestry fund; returns are not stated in the sources reviewed. Transnational Institute and FIAN
What happened
In 2007 the Dutch pension fund ABP decided to add forest land to its portfolio. According to a briefing by the Transnational Institute (TNI) and FIAN, it took 60 percent of the Global Solidarity Forest Fund (GSFF), a US$100 million fund set up by the Diocese of Västerås of the Church of Sweden and the Church of Norway's foundation OVF. Other sources give ABP's share as 54.5 percent and its investment as €47 million or US$60 million. GSFF's subsidiary Chikweti Forests of Niassa established pine and eucalyptus plantations in Niassa province, Mozambique.
ABP's stated reason was that forest land offers stable and potentially high returns for pension funds. A senior ABP portfolio manager announced a target of raising land investment to about €1 billion under the slogan 'The world is our farm', according to TNI and FIAN.
In Mozambique land belongs to the state, and the right to use it is held through a DUAT (right of use and benefit of land), which works as a title. A review in September 2010 by the Ministry of Agriculture and the National Directorate of Lands and Forests (DNTF) found that Chikweti had occupied 32,000 hectares illegally, without a DUAT. GSFF denied the finding.
In December 2011 ABP conceded that the investment did not meet environmental, social and governance (ESG) criteria, but declined to withdraw. In 2011–2013 the Dutch minister Ben Knapen said the government does not dictate policy to private investors, and the government defended forest investment as important for Mozambique's development, according to TNI and FIAN.
- 2007ABP decides to add forest land to its portfolio and takes a majority stake in GSFF
- 2010September: Mozambican government review finds 32,000 ha occupied without DUAT; GSFF denies
- 20115 December: ABP concedes the investment did not meet ESG criteria; declines to withdraw
- 2013TNI/FIAN briefing on the Netherlands and the global land and water grab published
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
A September 2010 review found that Chikweti Forests of Niassa occupied 32,000 ha illegally, without DUAT.
Transnational Institute and FIANHow it looked
Shown
Recorded
- A September 2010 review by Mozambique's Ministry of Agriculture and DNTF found Chikweti Forests of Niassa occupied 32,000 ha without DUAT; GSFF denied it.
- ABP conceded in December 2011 that the investment did not meet ESG criteria and declined to withdraw.
- Chikweti held FSC certification at the time the government review found 32,000 ha occupied without DUAT.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- Global Solidarity Forest Fund (GSFF) (2010): Denied that Chikweti had occupied 32,000 ha without DUAT. · Transnational Institute and FIAN
- ABP (December 2011): Conceded that the investment did not meet ESG criteria; declined to withdraw. · IPE / Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
- Dutch government (Minister Ben Knapen) (2011–2013): The government does not dictate policy to private investors; forest investment was defended as important for Mozambique's development. · Transnational Institute and FIAN
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Accounts
- Disputed Did Chikweti occupy 32,000 hectares without land-use rights (DUAT)?
Record
- None on record Current status of GSFF and Chikweti and whether ABP has since exited: the sources reviewed date from 2011–2013.
- Insufficient A table in a World Bank BioCarbon Fund document is reported to give 63,040 ha of DUAT and 14,250 ha planted for Chikweti; reported but not independently verified.
- Unclear Whether local communities were properly consulted: reported by the Mozambican farmers' union and the DNTF, but not independently verified in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not on record: the sources reviewed (2011–2013) do not say whether the occupation ended or whether ABP exited.
Who paid?
Not established in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- ABP concedes African forestry investment failed to meet ESG criteriaIPE / Business & Human Rights Resource Centre · 2011-12-05
Communities and civil society
- The Netherlands and the Global Land and Water GrabTransnational Institute and FIAN · 2013
Connected cases
- Corio, ABP and forest land investments (Netherlands) Netherlands · 2000–2021
- ABP (Pension fund) — here: Majority investor in GSFF; there: Dutch civil-service pension fund; reported main Corio shareholder; GSFF investor
- Global Solidarity Forest Fund (GSFF) (Asset manager) — here: Forest fund; there: Global Solidarity Forest Fund, forestry fund in Mozambique
- Chikweti Forests of Niassa (Company) — here: Plantation company (GSFF subsidiary); there: GSFF subsidiary; plantations in Niassa
- Dutch pension fund ABP added forest land in 2007 and held Brazilian meat shares Netherlands · 2007–2021
- ABP (Pension fund) — here: Majority investor in GSFF; there: Dutch public-sector pension fund; investor in forest land and Brazilian meat shares
- Global Solidarity Forest Fund (GSFF) (Asset manager) — here: Forest fund; there: forest fund in which ABP took a 60 percent stake
- Chikweti Forests of Niassa (Company) — here: Plantation company (GSFF subsidiary); there: plantation company whose occupation of 32,000 hectares was found by the 2010 review
- Dutch pension fund ABP held a stake in a Mozambique forest fund Mozambique · 2007–2011
- ABP (Pension fund) — here: Majority investor in GSFF; there: Dutch public-sector pension fund; 60 percent investor in the fund
- Global Solidarity Forest Fund (GSFF) (Asset manager) — here: Forest fund; there: forest fund holding Chikweti Forests of Niassa
- Chikweti Forests of Niassa (Company) — here: Plantation company (GSFF subsidiary); there: plantation company whose occupation of 32,000 hectares was found by the 2010 review
- APRIL pulp suppliers linked to forest loss and Cerrado eucalyptus growth Brazil · 2010–2024
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certification scheme; there: Certification body whose remedy process for the suppliers is on hold
- EU woody biomass and Enviva pellets United Kingdom · 2012–2026
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certification scheme; there: Certifier that suspended the pellet producer AVP
- FSC suspends Vietnamese pellet maker An Viet Phat Energy over false claims Vietnam · 2022–2023
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certification scheme; there: Certifier that suspended AVP
- FSC suspends Vietnamese pellet producer over false certification claims Vietnam · 2022–2023
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certification scheme; there: Certifier that suspended the producer
- Greenpeace leaves the Forest Stewardship Council in 2018 Global · 2018
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certification scheme; there: Certifier that Greenpeace left
- Land sales and logging on Sami reindeer pasture in Sweden, NGO reports Sweden · 2020–2025
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certification scheme; there: certification body whose system was examined in the Earthsight report
- NGO investigation links FSC-certified Ukrainian beech to IKEA; claims not verified Ukraine · date not stated
- Forest Stewardship Council (Standard-setter) — here: Certification scheme; there: Certifier named in the unverified account