Baikonur lease, rocket-stage drop zones and fuel monitoring; Proton phase-out and Baiterek
- At Soyuz stage fall sites my soil held petroleum by-products up to 28,375 mg/kg in 2018–2019; 6 of 35 samples at seven old fall sites exceeded 100 mg/kg in 2019. Ministry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of Kazakhstan (with EC, UNEP, Zoï)
- Around Zhezkazgan and Talap, 68 soil analyses of petroleum by-products ranged from 5.6 to 3,612 mg/kg, with only two samples not exceeding the 100 mg/kg benchmark. Ministry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of Kazakhstan (with EC, UNEP, Zoï)
- In 2019 there was no funding for an environmental impact study of the areas where spacecraft stages and debris have fallen on me. Ministry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of Kazakhstan (with EC, UNEP, Zoï)
- Government and regulators Ministry of Defence and Aerospace Industry (2018): No heptyl contamination of the territory under the flight path occurs in normal launches. Informburo
- Government and regulators National Report on the State of the Environment 2018–2019: Exceedances were detected in 65 air and 7 snow samples at the 2019 Proton-M first-stage fall area; the substances are not named. Ministry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of Kazakhstan (with EC, UNEP, Zoï)
Russia leases Baikonur for $115 million a year, extended to 2050 at the same rent, and its launches drop spent stages on Kazakh land. Kazakhstan’s 2018–2019 national report recorded petroleum by-products in drop-zone soils and stated that a lack of funding in 2019 prevented an environmental impact study of areas affected by fallen stages and debris.
Extended to 2050 “at the same rent of 115 million dollars a year” (Kazinform, 10 December 2024).
Status As of 30 April 2026: first Soyuz-5 (Baiterek) test launch held from Site 45; no published Kazakh decision on Proton launches after 2025 is on record.
- Kazakhstan — $115 million a year in rent, unchanged to 2050 Kazinform
- Kazakhstan’s budget — Baiterek: KZT 14.7bn allocated in 2024; environmental monitoring with funding shortfall in 2019 Kazinform
- Soil and air at drop zones and around Baikonur — Petroleum by-products up to 28,375 mg/kg at Soyuz fall sites; exceedances at the 2019 Proton-M fall area Ministry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of Kazakhstan (with EC, UNEP, Zoï)
What happened
The Baikonur lease was signed on 10 December 1994 and extended to 2050 (signed January 2004), according to Kazinform. The rent is $115 million a year. Kommersant reported in 1999 that Russia was to pay $50 million by November and deliver $65 million in goods and food by year-end. The leased “Baikonur complex” includes the fields where separating parts of launch vehicles fall. In 2011 Serik Temirbulatov (Nur Otan) told parliament that “$115 million is not an adequate amount for the damage inflicted”; Tengrinews reported total 2011 rent of $116.9 million, plus $25 million for military testing sites and $50 million a year for infrastructure upkeep.
Kazakhstan’s National Report on the State of the Environment 2018–2019 states that monitoring is carried out by the state enterprise Gharysh-Ecology Research Center on behalf of the Aerospace Committee, and that “a lack of funding in 2019 did not allow for an environmental impact study of areas affected by fallen spacecraft stages and debris”. At the cosmodrome in 2018–2019 no exceedances were found in air, soil or snow; however, substance exceedances were detected in 65 air samples and 7 snow samples taken from the area of the fall of the first stage of the Proton-M rocket in 2019 (the substances are not named). At Soyuz stage fall sites petroleum by-products reached up to 28,375 mg/kg in soil, and in 2019 6 of 35 soil samples at seven old Soyuz fall sites exceeded the oil-field benchmark of 100 mg/kg. In Baikonur town, Akai and Toretam 73 of 228 air measurements exceeded safe hydrocarbon levels; at Zhezkazgan and Talap, 68 soil analyses ranged from 5.6 to 3,612 mg/kg petroleum by-products with only two samples not exceeding the benchmark.
Proton launches use heptyl. In November 2014 Roscosmos head Oleg Ostapenko said the phase-out of Proton launches had been “absolutely agreed upon and laid out in a protocol”, and Deputy Prime Minister Bakytzhan Sagintayev called it “a sensitive question for society”; no timetable figures were published. The Ministry of Defence and Aerospace Industry (MOAP) said in 2018 that Proton-M reduction was planned by 2025 and that Cyclone-2 launches stopped in 2008, RS-20 in 2011 and RS-18 in 2014. In June 2023 Vice-Minister Aset Turysov said continuing after 2025 needs detailed working-through of all issues, and in April 2024 Khrunichev CEO Alexey Varochko said Khrunichev and Roscosmos had proposed that Kazakhstan continue Proton launches from Baikonur after 2025, with ten Proton-M rockets in various stages of readiness.
Kazakhstan began the Baiterek project in 2004 “to create its own launch complex with an environmentally clean rocket” (Kazinform); sites 42, 43 and 45 were withdrawn from the lease in 2018. Prime Minister Olzhas Bektenov said in summer 2024 that 14.7 billion tenge was allocated that year, with the remainder of funding to be worked out; Talgat Musabayev said in 2012 that Baiterek’s cost had risen from $223 million to $1.64 billion (as cited by Informburo, 2023). The first Soyuz-5 test launch from Site 45 took place on 30 April 2026 on a suborbital trajectory; Roscosmos said the first and second stages performed normally, and Orda.kz described the fuel as kerosene and liquid oxygen, less toxic than earlier fuel types.
MOAP said in 2018 that no heptyl contamination of the territory under the flight path occurs in normal launches and that more significant pollution occurs in accidents; it also called information about dangerous pollution untrue and said that declaring the cosmodrome an ecological disaster zone is not needed. Infracos, a subsidiary of Kazkosmos, handles ecological work at the cosmodrome and drop zones and has patented bacterial methods for neutralising heptyl in soil. Expert Oleg Balitsky estimated, as quoted by Informburo in 2023, that with improved combustion about 10 kg of heptyl now falls with a stage in a normal launch, against about a tonne previously.
- 1994Baikonur lease signed (10 Dec)
- 2004Lease extended to 2050 (signed January); Baiterek project begins
- 2011Parliament member says $115 million is not adequate for the damage inflicted (Sept)
- 2014Protocol to phase out Proton launches (Nov)
- 2018Baiterek sites 42, 43, 45 withdrawn from the lease; MOAP report on pollution (Oct)
- 2019Exceedances found at the Proton-M first-stage fall area; no funding for an environmental impact study of fall areas
- 2024Russia proposes continuing Proton after 2025 (24 Apr); lease extension to 2050 reviewed by Kazinform (10 Dec)
- 2026First Soyuz-5 (Baiterek) test launch (30 Apr)
What was said
“$115 million is not an adequate amount for the damage inflicted”
“The question has been absolutely agreed upon and laid out in a protocol”
“It is a sensitive question for society.”
“a lack of funding in 2019 did not allow for an environmental impact study of areas affected by fallen spacecraft stages and debris”
“The first and second stages of Soyuz-5 performed normally”
“no heptyl contamination of the territory under the flight path occurs”
“does not correspond to reality”
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
No heptyl contamination of the territory under the flight path occurs in normal launches.
InformburoExceedances were detected in 65 air and 7 snow samples at the 2019 Proton-M first-stage fall area; the substances are not named.
Ministry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of Kazakhstan (with EC, UNEP, Zoï)Khrunichev and Roscosmos proposed that Kazakhstan continue Proton launches after 2025.
BES.media (citing RIA Novosti)Continuing after 2025 needs detailed working-through of all issues, taking existing circumstances and risks into account.
InformburoThe phase-out is absolutely agreed upon and laid out in a protocol.
The Moscow TimesHow it looked
Shown
- Baiterek as a launch complex “with an environmentally clean rocket”Kazinform, 2024 · Kazinform
- Heptyl contamination of the territory under the flight path does not occur in normal launchesMinistry of Defence and Aerospace Industry, 2018 · Informburo
- Soyuz-5 fuel (kerosene and liquid oxygen) less toxic than earlier fuel typesOrda.kz, 2026 · Orda.kz
Recorded
- Lease signed 10 December 1994; extended to 2050 at $115 million a year
- 2011 total rent $116.9 million, plus $25 million for military testing sites and $50 million a year for infrastructure upkeep (Tengrinews)
- Exceedances in 65 air and 7 snow samples at the 2019 Proton-M first-stage fall area
- Petroleum by-products up to 28,375 mg/kg at Soyuz stage fall sites; allowable concentrations of petroleum products in soil yet to be established
- Baiterek: 14.7 billion tenge allocated in 2024; cost cited as risen from $223 million to $1.64 billion
- First Soyuz-5 test launch from Site 45 on 30 April 2026
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- kazakhstan-moap (October 2018): Heptyl contamination of the territory under the flight path does not occur in normal launches; information about dangerous pollution does not correspond to reality and declaring the cosmodrome an ecological disaster zone is not needed. · Informburo
- kazakhstan-aerospace-committee (10 December 2024): Thirty years of the lease were a time of trial, errors and new decisions; Kazakhstan intends to develop the cosmodrome further (chair Baubek Oralmagambetov). · Kazinform
- khrunichev (24 April 2024): Khrunichev and Roscosmos proposed that Kazakhstan continue Proton launches from Baikonur after 2025 (CEO Alexey Varochko via RIA Novosti). · BES.media (citing RIA Novosti)
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Disputed Heptyl contamination under the flight path and at drop zones
Accounts
- Disputed Whether Proton launches continue after 2025
Record
- Not measured Not measured: the environmental impact of fallen spacecraft stages and debris in 2019; funding for the study was lacking (national report).
- Unclear Unclear: which substances exceeded limits in 2019 samples from the Proton-M first-stage fall area; the national report does not name them.
- Not measured Not measured: allowable concentrations of petroleum products in soil have yet to be established (national report).
- Unclear Unclear: whether the 1994 lease treaty and the 2050 extension protocol contain environmental-liability clauses.
- None on record None on record: a published Kazakh decision on Proton launches after 2025.
- None on record None on record: insurance cover for environmental damage at the drop zones.
- Unclear Unclear: monitoring data for 2020–2026.
Did the harm stop?
Proton launches continue; a 2014 protocol set a phase-out and MOAP said in 2018 that reduction was planned by 2025. Not disclosed: a Kazakh decision on Proton launches after 2025.
Who paid?
Russia pays $115 million a year in rent, unchanged to 2050 (Kazinform). Kazakhstan funds the Baiterek project (KZT 14.7bn allocated in 2024) and national monitoring; the national report states that funding in 2019 was lacking for an impact study of fall areas.
Sources
Government and regulators
- National Report on the State of the Environment 2018–2019: Baikonur CosmodromeMinistry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of Kazakhstan (with EC, UNEP, Zoï) · 2020
Press and investigations
- 30 years of the Baikonur lease: what Kazakhstan owns todayKazinform · 2024-12-10
- Soon we’ll fly. Kazakhs have already been given $1,000Kommersant · 1999-07-15
- Kazakhstan’s Parliament calls for greater Baikonur rent paymentsTengrinews · 2011-09-20
- Russia and Kazakhstan to begin phasing out Proton rocket launchesThe Moscow Times · 2014-11-24
- MOAP RK presented a report on environmental pollution after accidents at BaikonurInformburo · 2018-10-11
- Russia wants to continue Proton launches from Baikonur after 2025. Will Kazakhstan agree?Informburo · 2023-06-08
- Russia proposed that Kazakhstan continue Proton launches from BaikonurBES.media (citing RIA Novosti) · 2024-04-24
- Soyuz-5 makes first test launch under the Baiterek projectOrda.kz · 2026-05-01
- Compensation of Proton-M crash damage taking way too long: KazakhstanTengrinews · 2014-03-14
Connected cases
- Baikonur launch accidents 1999–2007: Kazakh claims and the compensation agreed Kazakhstan · 1999–2007 Related matter
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Claimant; negotiated the settlements
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Respondent in the intergovernmental talks
- Roscosmos (Government) — here: Operator of Proton and Soyuz launches; there: Russian space agency; worked to reduce the 2007 demand
- Khrunichev State Space Center (Company) — here: Proton manufacturer; proposed continuing launches after 2025; there: Paid $1.7 million of the agreed 2007 compensation
- Proton-M crash at Baikonur, 2 July 2013: Kazakhstan’s KZT 13.69bn damage claim against Russia Kazakhstan · 2013–2016 Related matter
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Pursued the claim through intergovernmental channels
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Russian side in the compensation talks
- Roscosmos (Government) — here: Operator of Proton and Soyuz launches; there: Launch provider; carried out the clean-up; recipient of the claim
- Ministry of Defence and Aerospace Industry of Kazakhstan (MOAP) (Government) — here: 2018 report on pollution after accidents; there: 2018 report on contamination after accidents at Baikonur
- Sary-Shagan test range lease to Russia: rent, a 1992–1996 compensation clause and an ecological commission Kazakhstan · 1992–2016 Related matter
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Lessor
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Lessee; treaty obligations on rent, compensation and ecological consequences
- Soviet nuclear satellite Cosmos 954 crashes in Canada; USSR pays C$3m in 1981 Canada · 1978–1981 Related matter
- Degelen Mountain plutonium security operation (United States–Kazakhstan–Russia) Kazakhstan · 1996–2012
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Host state; fieldwork and security forces
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Provided information on the site, including the 2005 disclosure
- Semipalatinsk test site: measured contamination, land reallocation and the Nuclear Safety Zone Kazakhstan · 1949–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Reallocates test-site land; funds the Nuclear Safety Zone
- Ministry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Publisher of the National Report 2018–2019; there: Publisher of the National Report on the State of the Environment 2018–2019
- Arctic Sunrise seizure at the Prirazlomnaya platform: ITLOS bond, PCA arbitration, 2019 settlement and ECtHR judgment Russia · 2012–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Respondent; did not appear before ITLOS or the PCA tribunal; settled in 2019
- Baikal Natural Territory: expertise exemptions and clear-cutting rules Russia · 2020–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Sets the list of objects under Article 25.1(3); Deputy Prime Minister statements
- Baikal omul industrial fishing ban (from 2017) Russia · 2016–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Funded releases, hatchery and research vessel
- Baikalsk Pulp and Paper Mill: closure and waste clean-up Russia · 1966–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Decree No. 1; funded wages and clean-up; named contractors
- Caspian sturgeon and caviar: trade suspensions, fishing bans and the move to farmed caviar Caspian Sea (Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Iran) · 1998–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Ministry of Agriculture; Atyrau Sturgeon Hatchery
- Cosmos 1408 anti-satellite test (Russia) Russia · 2021
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Conducted the test
- Destruction of the Kakhovka dam and drainage of the Kakhovka reservoir (June 2023) Ukraine · 2023–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Account of responsibility; named in the claims and suspicion notices
- Drone strike on the Chornobyl New Safe Confinement, 14 February 2025, and the repair funding Ukraine · 2025–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Denied striking nuclear infrastructure
- ESPO oil pipeline rerouted away from the Baikal shore (2006) Russia · 2005–2008
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: President ordered the reroute; Prime Minister approved the route
- Hardwood logging in the Russian Far East and exports to China Russia · 2001–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Officials' statements 2020 and 2023
- Karachaganak oil arbitration and the sulphur-fine reports (Kazakhstan) Kazakhstan · date not stated
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: State party in the arbitration
- Karaturun well blowout and methane release (Mangystau, 2023) Kazakhstan · 2023–2025
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Ministries of Ecology and Energy
- Kashagan gas flaring: KZT 134.2 billion damage order (2014) and KZT 3.6 billion award (2025) Kazakhstan · 2013–2025
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Party to the confidential December 2014 agreement (Minister of Energy)
- Kazakhstan plans saiga antelope cull as population recovers Kazakhstan · 2023
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Planned the cull
- Kazakhstan's two-billion-tree programme Kazakhstan · 2020–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Prime Minister's criticism; funding
- Kerch Strait storm, November 2007: Volgoneft 139 fuel-oil spill and sulphur-ship sinkings Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Government claimants; military clean-up reported
- Khimki forest and the M11 Moscow–St Petersburg toll motorway (km 15–58) Russia · 2007–2025
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Land-transfer order; Medvedev and Ivanov statements
- Norilsk diesel spill Russia · 2020–2023
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Declared federal emergency; federal budget received the award
- Nornickel Sulphur Programme: SO2 targets, spending and measured emissions at Norilsk and Kola Russia · 2015–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Resolution No. 353 of 12 March 2022; emissions-quota experiment postponed
- Register of Damage for Ukraine, the Claims Commission convention and the money meant to pay claims Ukraine · 2024–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Owner of immobilised central bank assets
- Russia's 1 January 2022 ban on exports of unprocessed softwood and valuable hardwood logs Russia · 2020–2025
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Issued the instruction, duties and quotas
- Russia's forest-fire control zones and federal fire-service funding Russia · 2015–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Reserve-fund Order No. 2740-r (2026); Decree No. 382 issued by the President
- Russia's national carbon-unit system under Federal Law 296-FZ Russia · 2021–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Adopted Decree No. 234 of 2026
- Russian forest-climate projects: RUSAL fire-protection units and Sakhalin larch planting Russia · 2019–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Federal Law 492-FZ and reserve-account rules
- Russian Joint Implementation credits under the Kyoto Protocol, 2009–2012 Russia · 2009–2015
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Approved projects through the Designated Focal Point
- Sakhalin carbon-neutrality experiment under Federal Law 34-FZ Russia · 2022–2028
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Set the payment rate; federal law 34-FZ
- Sakhalin-2 and Sakhalin-1 in 2022: transfer decrees, the ecological-audit deduction clause and write-downs Russia · 2022–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Decree No. 416 and the orders on the stake sale
- Sakhalin-2: 2006 approval revocation, Gazprom stake purchase, 2009 damage-claim settlement and lender exits Russia · 2005–2009
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: President Putin present at the December 2006 protocol
- Semey Ormany forest fire, Kazakhstan Kazakhstan · 2023–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Funded firefighting equipment and pay rises
- Semipalatinsk test site: state compensation to residents under Kazakhstan’s 1992 law Kazakhstan · 1949–2025
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Legislator and payer of compensation under the 1992 law
- Siberian wildfire season of 2019: Krasnoyarsk, Irkutsk and Yakutia Russia · 2019
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Prime Minister ordered arson checks (1 August 2019)
- Smelter emissions in Kazakhstan: fines and investment pledges at Kazzinc, Kazakhmys and ERG Kazakhstan · 2020–2026
- Government of Kazakhstan (Government) — here: Lessor of Baikonur; there: Presented emission cuts and investment pledges
- Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics: environmental pledges and the Mzymta valley Russia · 2007–2018
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Host government; Putin and Kozak statements
- Soviet whaling catches and the reports to the IWC, 1948–1979 Russia · 1948–1994
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Supplied original catch data to the IWC Scientific Committee in 1994
- Ukraine’s criminal proceedings over wartime environmental harm Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: No response on record
- Usinsk pipeline spill (Komi, 1994) and the World Bank and EBRD emergency loans Russia · 1994–2004
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: Borrower of both loans; on-lent them to Komineft
- War-related greenhouse-gas emissions and Ukraine’s planned climate damage claim Ukraine · 2022–2026
- Government of Russia (Government) — here: Lessee of Baikonur; pays $115 million a year; there: No response on record