3M agrees to pay US public water suppliers $10.3bn over PFAS
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
3M's settlement with US public water suppliers over PFAS was approved on 29 March 2024 at a present value of $10.3 billion, with a nominal ceiling of $12.5 billion paid over 13 years. It covers systems that have detected or could detect PFAS, and the company's chief executive described it as a way to reduce risk and uncertainty.
What happened
3M's June 2023 press release announced a settlement with US public water suppliers, valued at $10.3 billion in present terms and up to $12.5 billion nominal over 13 years.
The settlement received final approval on 29 March 2024 and covers public water systems that have detected or could detect PFAS.
3M's chief executive, Mike Roman, presented the settlement as an effort to reduce risk and uncertainty.
In its second-quarter 2023 results 3M recorded the settlement as a charge, discounted at 5.2%, with payments running from 2024 to 2036.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2024-02-16SettledPFAS contamination suit against DuPont, Chemours and CortevaNot named in the sources reviewed · Civil · US water systems → DuPont, Chemours and Corteva
ASDWA reported that a judge approved a settlement requiring the three companies to pay $1.1 billion. ASDWA
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: AWWA estimates of $37.1 to $48.3 billion over five years to treat more than 7,000 water intake points, with most of the cost falling on customers.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the split of the DuPont, Chemours and Corteva payments into $592 million, $400 million and $193 million, and the exclusion of personal-injury and state natural-resource claims.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Company or project
- 3M reports second quarter 2023 results3M · 2023-07-25
Communities and civil society
Connected cases
- PFAS insurance disputes (3M, Chemours, DuPont) United States · 2020–2026
- 3M (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Defendant in the AIG suit; policyholder
- DuPont (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Co-settling company
- Chemours (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Policyholder; arbitration claimant against insurers
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Co-settling company
- PFAS water utility settlements by 3M, DuPont, Chemours and Corteva United States · 2023–2036
- 3M (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Defendant and settling party; PFAS manufacturer
- DuPont (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Co-party to the June 2023 water-systems settlement; former parent of Chemours
- Chemours (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Co-party to the June 2023 water-systems settlement; alleged understated liability at separation
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Co-party to the June 2023 water-systems settlement
- Chemours spin-off liabilities United States · 2015–2025
- DuPont (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Parent company that spun off Chemours
- Chemours (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Spun-off company that received DuPont's PFAS liabilities
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Party to the PFAS cost-sharing agreement and settlements
- DuPont PFOA (C8) at Washington Works, Parkersburg, and the Tennant farm United States · 1981–2026
- DuPont, Chemours and Corteva: PFAS cost-sharing and water-system settlement United States · 2015–2025
- DuPont (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Party to the cost-sharing agreement and the water-systems fund; alleged by Chemours to have received a dividend at the separation
- Chemours (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Spun off from DuPont in 2015; bears half of the cost sharing; party to the water-systems fund; insured
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Party to the cost-sharing agreement and the water-systems fund
- GenX chemical found in Cape Fear River, a DuPont and Chemours replacement for PFOA United States · 2009
- DuPont (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Producer of PFOA and related chemicals; party to the 2021 resolution
- Chemours (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Producer of GenX; party to the 2021 resolution and the lawsuit against DuPont
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Party to the 2021 resolution and the 2023 settlement fund
- 3M agrees to pay 571 million euros for Zwijndrecht PFOS clean-up Belgium · 2022–2023
- 3M (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Company paying the settlement and appellant against the decree
- 3M booked US$10.3bn charge for US public water PFAS settlement United States · 2023–2036
- 3M (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: defendant; recorded the settlement charge
- 3M PFOS: internal evidence, EPA penalty and Minnesota settlement United States · 1979–2026
- 3M (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: PFOS manufacturer and defendant
- Appeals court overturns PFAS blood-contamination class action against 3M United States · 2023
- 3M (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: defendant named in the case
- Australian government settled PFAS claims at three defence bases and sued 3M Australia · 1988–2025
- 3M (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: defendant in the Commonwealth suit
- Bayer buys Monsanto for $66bn; four firms hold most seed and pesticide sales Global · 2018
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Large US retail seed seller, 2018–20, with Bayer
- Chlorpyrifos: exports of an EU-banned pesticide Belgium · 2022–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Largest producer (reported)
- Corteva and Deere pay to settle FTC cases over loyalty and repair locks United States · 2022–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Defendant; settled FTC case
- Corteva settles $35m US case over loyalty payments that excluded generics United States · 2022–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: company that settled
- DuPont CFC phase-out and the ozone treaty United States · 1974–2019
- DuPont (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: CFC producer
- Dutch prosecutors declined to charge over Chemours Dordrecht birth-defect complaints Netherlands · 2021–2026
- Chemours (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Operator of the Dordrecht plant
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Exporter named as a seller of banned products
- Major agrochemical firms buy biological input makers and sell organic-approved lines Multiple countries · 2012–2023
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Seller of OMRI-listed products
- Stockholm Convention agrees chlorpyrifos phase-out with 22 uses exempted United States · 2021–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: former producer
- TASSC, Tozzi and Milloy: a tobacco-funded 'sound science' campaign United States · 1993–2003
- DuPont (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Recipient of the Weinberg Group's 2003 letter on PFOA
- The four biggest agrochemical firms each bought a biologicals company, 2012 to 2026 Global · 2012–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: bought Stoller and Symborg
- US tax deductibility of environmental settlements (IRC 162(f)) United States · 2017
- 3M (Company) — here: company; settling party; there: Company that booked a PFAS settlement charge