Corteva and Deere pay to settle FTC cases over loyalty and repair locks
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Corteva and Deere paid settlements in 2026 in FTC civil cases over loyalty programmes and repair locks, while the Syngenta case continues. The sources reviewed record no measured effect on nature.
- Corteva, Deere and Syngenta — Kept pre-2022 margins after the settlements, according to the sources reviewed
- Farmers — Listed as bearing the cost of the locks
- Farmers — Excluded from generic products and independent repair under the terms challenged
What happened
DTN Progressive Farmer reported on 28 September 2026 that Corteva would pay 35 million dollars to 12 states.
According to the sources reviewed, the FTC pursued civil cases over loyalty programmes that excluded generic products and over repair locks that excluded independent repair.
The Corteva and Deere settlements were recorded at 120 and 100 million dollars in 2026, under consent orders with no admission of wrongdoing.
A court ruling broke the Corteva and Deere locks in 2026, and the Syngenta case is continuing.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- SettledFTC civil cases over loyalty programmes and repair locks (Corteva, Deere)US Federal Trade Commission · Civil · Federal Trade Commission → Corteva; Deere
Settled through a consent order with no admission of wrongdoing and a class settlement, according to the sources reviewed.
- OngoingFTC case over loyalty programmes (Syngenta)US Federal Trade Commission · Civil · Federal Trade Commission → Syngenta
The sources reviewed say the Syngenta case is continuing; its court, filing date and stage are not stated.
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the case table infers that the companies kept their pre-2022 margins; no source is given for this.
- None on record The gain from the loyalty and repair terms is not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record The case table records company funds as the source of payment and no personal penalties; no source is given for this entry.
- None on record The sources reviewed record no measured effect of these locks on nature.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- DTN Progressive Farmer report on a Corteva payment to 12 statesDTN Progressive Farmer · 2026-09-28
Connected cases
- Major agrochemical firms buy biological input makers and sell organic-approved lines Multiple countries · 2012–2023
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Seller of OMRI-listed products
- Syngenta Group (Company) — here: Defendant; FTC case continuing; there: Acquirer of Valagro
- The four biggest agrochemical firms each bought a biologicals company, 2012 to 2026 Global · 2012–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: bought Stoller and Symborg
- Syngenta Group (Company) — here: Defendant; FTC case continuing; there: bought Valagro
- 3M agrees to pay US public water suppliers $10.3bn over PFAS United States · 2023
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: company; settling party
- Bayer buys Monsanto for $66bn; four firms hold most seed and pesticide sales Global · 2018
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Large US retail seed seller, 2018–20, with Bayer
- Chemours spin-off liabilities United States · 2015–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Party to the PFAS cost-sharing agreement and settlements
- Chlorpyrifos: exports of an EU-banned pesticide Belgium · 2022–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Largest producer (reported)
- Corteva settles $35m US case over loyalty payments that excluded generics United States · 2022–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: company that settled
- DuPont PFOA (C8) at Washington Works, Parkersburg, and the Tennant farm United States · 1981–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Shares PFAS settlements
- DuPont, Chemours and Corteva: PFAS cost-sharing and water-system settlement United States · 2015–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Party to the cost-sharing agreement and the water-systems fund
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Exporter named as a seller of banned products
- GenX chemical found in Cape Fear River, a DuPont and Chemours replacement for PFOA United States · 2009
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Party to the 2021 resolution and the 2023 settlement fund
- PFAS insurance disputes (3M, Chemours, DuPont) United States · 2020–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Co-settling company
- PFAS water utility settlements by 3M, DuPont, Chemours and Corteva United States · 2023–2036
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: Co-party to the June 2023 water-systems settlement
- Stockholm Convention agrees chlorpyrifos phase-out with 22 uses exempted United States · 2021–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: Defendant; settled FTC case; there: former producer