Cases / Law, regulation and treaties · United States · 2022–2026
Corteva settles $35m US case over loyalty payments that excluded generics
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Corteva settled a US case for US$35 million over loyalty payments that excluded generic products. The sources date the settlement to 2026.
What?
Corteva settled a US case over loyalty payments that excluded generic products, for US$35 million. DTN Progressive Farmer
Where?
United States DTN Progressive Farmer
When?
Loyalty payments in 2022 to 2026; settlement reported in 2026 DTN Progressive Farmer
Who?
Gained
- Corteva — Loyalty payments that excluded generic products, settled for US$35 million DTN Progressive Farmer
Lost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Loyalty payments that excluded generic products DTN Progressive Farmer
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Corteva agreed to pay US$35 million to settle a US case over loyalty payments that excluded generic products, DTN Progressive Farmer reported.
The sources give the period of the loyalty payments as 2022 to 2026.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Corteva did not admit wrongdoing.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a separate FTC settlement with Corteva and a further US$85 million figure; the sources could not be checked.
- None on record The revenue or margin earned from the loyalty payments is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- DTN Progressive Farmer article on the Corteva settlementDTN Progressive Farmer · 2026-09-28
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- 3M agrees to pay US public water suppliers $10.3bn over PFAS United States · 2023
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: company; settling party
- Bayer buys Monsanto for $66bn; four firms hold most seed and pesticide sales Global · 2018
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Large US retail seed seller, 2018–20, with Bayer
- Chemours spin-off liabilities United States · 2015–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Party to the PFAS cost-sharing agreement and settlements
- Chlorpyrifos: exports of an EU-banned pesticide Belgium · 2022–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Largest producer (reported)
- Corteva and Deere pay to settle FTC cases over loyalty and repair locks United States · 2022–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Defendant; settled FTC case
- DuPont PFOA (C8) at Washington Works, Parkersburg, and the Tennant farm United States · 1981–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Shares PFAS settlements
- DuPont, Chemours and Corteva: PFAS cost-sharing and water-system settlement United States · 2015–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Party to the cost-sharing agreement and the water-systems fund
- EU banned-pesticide exports European Union · 2018–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Exporter named as a seller of banned products
- GenX chemical found in Cape Fear River, a DuPont and Chemours replacement for PFOA United States · 2009
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Party to the 2021 resolution and the 2023 settlement fund
- Major agrochemical firms buy biological input makers and sell organic-approved lines Multiple countries · 2012–2023
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Seller of OMRI-listed products
- PFAS insurance disputes (3M, Chemours, DuPont) United States · 2020–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Co-settling company
- PFAS water utility settlements by 3M, DuPont, Chemours and Corteva United States · 2023–2036
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: Co-party to the June 2023 water-systems settlement
- Stockholm Convention agrees chlorpyrifos phase-out with 22 uses exempted United States · 2021–2025
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: former producer
- The four biggest agrochemical firms each bought a biologicals company, 2012 to 2026 Global · 2012–2026
- Corteva (Company) — here: company that settled; there: bought Stoller and Symborg