Cases / Agriculture, livestock and food · United States · 2015–2024
US sales of medically important antibiotics for food animals rose 16% in 2024
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The FDA reports that US sales of medically important antimicrobials for food-producing animals rose 16% in 2024, to 6,127,991 kg, though still 27% below the 2015 peak. The figure measures sales, not animal use.
What?
US sales of medically important antimicrobials for food-producing animals rose 16% in 2024, to 6,127,991 kg. FDA
Where?
United States; food-producing animals. FDA
When?
US ban under GFI #213 dated 2017; FDA 2024 sales summary published 5 December 2025. FDA
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
FDA annual summary of antimicrobial sales for food-producing animals. FDA
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who
What happened
The record, in order.
The US Food and Drug Administration reported on 5 December 2025 that sales of medically important antimicrobials for food-producing animals rose 16% in 2024, to 6,127,991 kg.
The FDA said that total was 27% below the 2015 peak.
The sources reviewed date the US ban under GFI #213 to 2017.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: sales fell 43% between 2015 and 2017 and 33% between 2016 and 2017 after GFI #213 (Pig Progress, December 2018).
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say who gained or lost from the 2024 rise.
- None on record No FDA text for GFI #213 itself was reviewed.
- None on record The sales figure does not measure animal use, and the sources reviewed contain no use data.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- FDA 2008 clone food decision United States · 2001–2008
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (Public authority) — here: published the 2024 sales summary; there: Federal regulator