Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Genetic resources and benefit-sharing · Russia · 2020–2025

Taimyr and Kola indigenous peoples and Nornickel: letter, development programme and compensation payments, 2020–2025

Nature's voice · report
In 2021 residents could not fish in my Lake Pyasino because of the 2020 spill, according to Cultural Survival.
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record. Disputed
What the record lacks: 5 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 3 disputed See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
Has the support programme met the communities' needs, and is support conditional?
  • Company or project Nornickel (Human Rights Report 2024): The five-year programme was completed in 2024 with more than RUB 2bn directed to it; zero cases of violation of indigenous peoples' rights were recorded in 2024. Nornickel
  • Communities and civil society Community members and a coalition of NGOs (Cultural Survival, 2022): Receiving support required agreeing that the spill had not affected fisheries; Ust-Avam refused and had not received the compensation it requested. Cultural Survival (coalition)

After the May 2020 Norilsk diesel spill, indigenous organisations called on Tesla to refuse Nornickel products, and Nornickel announced a development programme, compensation payments and a coordination council. The company reports the programme as completed in 2024; NGOs report that support was made conditional and that Ust-Avam has not received the compensation it requested.

More than RUB 2bnCompany-reported spend on the five-year Taimyr programme, 2020–2024
Nornickel's Human Rights Report 2024; no year-by-year breakdown and no independent audit is on record.

Status As of October 2026: the company reports the 2020–2024 programme completed and a new agreement with FADN signed on 9 December 2025; NGOs report that Ust-Avam has not received the compensation it requested.

What?
After the May 2020 Norilsk diesel spill, indigenous organisations asked Tesla to refuse Nornickel products, and Nornickel announced a RUB 2bn programme, RUB 174m in payments to 699 people and a coordination council; the company reports the programme completed in 2024. Nornickel
Where?
Taimyr Dolgano-Nenets Municipal District, Krasnoyarsk Krai (Volochanka, Ust-Avam, Tukhard); Lake Pyasino and the Pyasina River; Kola (Sami). Nornickel
When?
Letter to Tesla on 7 August 2020; plan and agreement on 25 September 2020; payments announced on 22 December 2020; programme reported completed in 2024; new agreement with FADN on 9 December 2025. Vedomosti
Who?
Gained
  • 699 people (clan communities and individuals fishing on Lake Pyasino and the Pyasina River) — Payments totalling RUB 174m announced by NTEK Radio Svoboda
  • 58 communities in the Coordination Council — RUB 400m for community development in 2021–2024, RUB 100m a year (company-reported) Nornickel
  • Volochanka and Ust-Avam — 23% of the housing stock renewed and feldsher-midwife stations up 27% (company-reported) Nornickel
Lost
  • Ust-Avam — Reported by NGOs as not having received the compensation it requested after refusing to accept that the spill had not affected its fisheries Cultural Survival (coalition)
Harmed
  • Lake Pyasino and the Pyasina River fisheries — Residents could not fish in Lake Pyasino in 2021 because of the spill (Cultural Survival) Cultural Survival (coalition)
  • Ust-Avam residents — Reindeer meat confiscated in police searches of homes on 6 February 2022, as reported by a coalition of NGOs Cultural Survival (coalition)
Why?
The Aborigen Forum asked Tesla to refuse Nornickel products until independent damage assessment, compensation, recultivation and free and informed consent policies were in place. Meduza
How?
Nornickel signed an agreement with three indigenous associations, funded a five-year programme and a Coordination Council, and announced direct payments calculated by the Arctic Development Project Office. Interfax
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

On 7 August 2020 the Aborigen Forum, in an open letter to Tesla signed by its general secretary, asked Tesla to refuse Nornickel products until four conditions were met: an independent assessment of environmental damage in Taimyr and Murmansk Oblast; compensation to indigenous communities for damage to their traditional way of life; recultivation of contaminated land; and policies requiring free and informed consent. The forum called land taken for industry "a lunar landscape".

On 25 September 2020 Nornickel announced a comprehensive plan to 2025 worth RUB 2bn, with more than 40 measures based on a summer 2020 ethnological expedition, and signed an agreement with three associations: the Association of Indigenous Small-Numbered Peoples of the North, Siberia and the Far East, the Krasnoyarsk Krai regional association and the Taimyr association. On 22 December 2020 NTEK announced payments totalling RUB 174m to 699 people, clan communities and individuals fishing on Lake Pyasino and the Pyasina River; the recipient list was agreed with community representatives and the national indigenous association, and the damage was calculated by the Arctic Development Project Office. The announcement was later removed from Nornickel's website.

In June 2021 two indigenous representatives, one Dolgan and one Sami from Kola, met Credit Suisse and UBS representatives in Bern and said they had been refused meetings at Nornickel's Zug subsidiary Metal Trade Overseas AG; the Sami delegate said the company does not respect the rights of indigenous people. Nornickel confirmed in a 21 March [2021] letter to the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre "direct compensation of 174 million roubles (CHF 2.2 million) to 699 people".

A coalition article published by Cultural Survival on 1 June 2022 reported that on 6 February 2022 police searched homes in Ust-Avam (population about 450) and confiscated reindeer meat; that community members said receiving support required agreeing that the spill had not affected their fisheries, and that Ust-Avam refused and had not received the compensation it requested; that leaders said the free, prior and informed consent process in Tukhard violated international standards; and that Nornickel's planned audit by the Initiative for Responsible Mining Assurance (IRMA) was put on hold after Russia's invasion of Ukraine. Communities were "considering legal action" to recover the meat.

Nornickel's Human Rights Report 2024 states that in 2024 the company completed the five-year programme and directed more than RUB 2bn to it, and that a Coordination Council with 58 communities directed RUB 400m to community development in 2021–2024 (RUB 100m a year). It reports 23% of the housing stock renewed in Volochanka and Ust-Avam, feldsher-midwife stations up 27%, and zero recorded violations of indigenous peoples' rights in 2024. On 9 December 2025 the company announced a new agreement with the Federal Agency for Ethnic Affairs (FADN) and the association of indigenous peoples.

  1. 2020Aborigen Forum letter to Tesla (7 Aug); Nornickel plan and agreement with three associations (25 Sep); payments of RUB 174m to 699 people announced (22 Dec)
  2. 2021Indigenous representatives meet Credit Suisse and UBS in Bern (June); Coordination Council formed
  3. 2022Police search homes in Ust-Avam and confiscate reindeer meat (6 Feb, per a coalition of NGOs)
  4. 2024Company reports the five-year Taimyr programme completed
  5. 2025New agreement with FADN and the indigenous peoples' association (9 Dec)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“a lunar landscape”

Aborigen Forum, on land taken for industry (as reported by Meduza) · 2020-08-07 · Meduza

“the company does not respect the rights of indigenous people”

Sami delegate (as quoted by swissinfo) · 2021-06-17 · swissinfo.ch

“considering legal action”

“without showing documents or identification”

Cultural Survival, First Peoples Worldwide, Batani Fund, Earthworks and Society for Threatened Peoples, on the police entry into homes · 2022-06-01 · Cultural Survival (coalition)

“0 cases of violation of indigenous peoples' rights were recorded in 2024”

Nornickel Human Rights Report 2024 · 2025 · translated from Russian · Nornickel

“The agreement continues Nornickel's course of developing constructive and mutually beneficial relations”

Andrei Grachev, Vice President, Nornickel (press release) · 2025-12-09 · translated from Russian · Vedomosti

“Modern approaches combine state guarantees and voluntary corporate commitments of business”

Igor Barinov, head of FADN (press release) · 2025-12-09 · translated from Russian · Vedomosti

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Has the support programme met the communities' needs, and is support conditional?
Company or project
Nornickel (Human Rights Report 2024)

The five-year programme was completed in 2024 with more than RUB 2bn directed to it; zero cases of violation of indigenous peoples' rights were recorded in 2024.

Nornickel
Communities and civil society
Community members and a coalition of NGOs (Cultural Survival, 2022)

Receiving support required agreeing that the spill had not affected fisheries; Ust-Avam refused and had not received the compensation it requested.

Cultural Survival (coalition)
When did the RUB 2bn programme end?
Company or project
Nornickel (25 September 2020, via Interfax)

Announced a comprehensive plan worth RUB 2bn running to 2025.

Interfax
Company or project
Nornickel (Human Rights Report 2024; press release of 9 December 2025)

Reports the five-year programme as 2020–2024, completed in 2024, with more than RUB 2bn.

Nornickel

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • The five-year programme completed in 2024 with more than RUB 2bn directed to it; zero recorded violations of indigenous peoples' rights in 2024
    Nornickel (Human Rights Report 2024) · Nornickel
  • The new agreement with FADN and the association of indigenous peoples described as directed at the development of local communities
    Nornickel (press release, 9 December 2025) · Vedomosti

Recorded

  • NTEK announced payments totalling RUB 174m to 699 people; the announcement was later removed from Nornickel's website
  • Nornickel confirmed "direct compensation of 174 million roubles (CHF 2.2 million) to 699 people" in a 21 March [2021] letter to the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
  • Per Profundo data cited by the Society for Threatened Peoples, as of April 2021 UBS held US$45 million in Nornickel shares and bonds, and Credit Suisse held US$27 million in equity and had issued US$268 million in loans
  • Coordination Council: RUB 400m for community development in 2021–2024, RUB 100m a year; 58 communities
  • IRMA audit of Nornickel put on hold after Russia's invasion of Ukraine (Cultural Survival coalition article)

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
Payments announced to 699 people after the 2020 spill (NTEK)174m
Five-year Taimyr programme, company-reported> 2bn
Coordination Council, community development400m
RUB 100m a year.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Currency: RUB · Window: 2020–2024. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • nornickel (2025): Reported that it completed the five-year programme in 2024 with more than RUB 2bn directed to it, and zero recorded violations of indigenous peoples' rights in 2024. · Nornickel
  • nornickel (2021-03-21): Confirmed direct compensation of RUB 174 million (CHF 2.2 million) to 699 people in a 21 March [2021] letter to the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre. · swissinfo.ch
  • nornickel (2025-12-09): Announced a new agreement with FADN and the association of indigenous peoples; Vice President Andrei Grachev said it continues the company's course of developing constructive and mutually beneficial relations. · Vedomosti

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Programme spend, company-reported
> RUB 2bn
2020–2024; no year-by-year breakdown
Payments to 699 people
RUB 174m
Announced 22 December 2020 by NTEK
Independent assessment of damage to traditional land use
None on record
First demand of the Aborigen Forum letter

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

  • Disputed Has the support programme met the communities' needs, and is support conditional?

Court

Accounts

  • Disputed When did the RUB 2bn programme end?

Record

  • None on record None on record: an independent assessment of environmental damage to traditional land use in Taimyr and Murmansk Oblast, the first demand of the Aborigen Forum letter.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: a year-by-year breakdown of the more than RUB 2bn programme spend in the company's Human Rights Report 2024.
  • None on record None on record: an independent audit of the compensation payments.
  • None on record None on record: a lawsuit by indigenous communities against Nornickel; Cultural Survival (2022) reported that communities were considering legal action to recover the confiscated meat.
  • None on record None on record: a complaint from residents about the RUB 174m payments in the swissinfo article, or a response from the company press service to Sibir.Realii in the 22 December 2020 report.
  • Disputed Disputed: the programme period. Interfax reported the RUB 2bn plan on 25 September 2020 as running to 2025; the company later reports it as 2020–2024 and completed.

Did the harm stop?

The spill was a single event on 29 May 2020; the company reports the five-year programme completed in 2024.

Who paid?

Nornickel and its subsidiary NTEK funded the programme and the RUB 174m payments; the company reports more than RUB 2bn for 2020–2024.

Sources

Voices on record: ✓ Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers

Communities and civil society

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Law and courts

Prior consultation
The right of indigenous peoples, under ILO Convention 169 and national laws, to be consulted before measures that affect their lands are adopted.

Bonds and banking

Arranger
The bank that structures and sells a bond or loan deal, usually for a fee.