Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Data centre · United States · 2026

Data centres account for 46% of PJM capacity auction costs, market monitor says

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 1 none on record · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

The market monitor, Monitoring Analytics, attributed 29.4 billion dollars of the 63.6 billion dollars in the last four PJM capacity auctions to data-centre load. The sources reviewed do not describe environmental effects of that load.

What?
The market monitor attributed 29.4 billion dollars of 63.6 billion dollars in PJM capacity auction costs over the last four auctions to data-centre load. Utility Dive
Where?
PJM electricity market, United States Utility Dive
When?
The last four PJM capacity auctions, reported on 20 July 2026 Utility Dive
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
The market monitor's calculation of the share of capacity costs attributed to data-centre load. Utility Dive
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who

What happened

The record, in order.

Utility Dive reported on 20 July 2026 that the market monitor, Monitoring Analytics, attributed 29.4 billion dollars of the 63.6 billion dollars in the last four PJM capacity auctions to data-centre load.

LBNL and Brattle found that average real electricity prices fell in the US states with the fastest load growth over 2019 to 2025, though the relationship was not significant for residential prices.

EIA data cited in the sources show the average residential electricity price rose 5.0 per cent over a year to 18.34 cents per kWh in June 2026.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: a claimed 267 per cent rise in household electricity bills near data centres. A secondary summary says the figure is a wholesale node price and rates the claim mostly false.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not say how the 29.4 billion dollars is divided between electricity customers and data-centre operators.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations