Pakistan cancels five independent power contracts amid capacity-payment costs
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Pakistan paid 2.1 trillion rupees in capacity payments to independent power producers in fiscal 2024, then cancelled five contracts under IMF pressure. The sources record no environmental effect of either step.
- Independent power producers — Received capacity payments under take-or-pay contracts; most Pakistani plants are owned by local holding companies. Dawn
- Pakistan's government and power buyers — Pay for contracted capacity under take-or-pay terms; the sources do not establish how much of the claimed savings reached consumers. Profit (Pakistan Today); IEEFA
What happened
Capacity payments to independent power producers reached 2.1 trillion rupees in fiscal 2024, Dawn reported.
Under IMF pressure the government terminated contracts with five independent plants, including Hubco, and claimed savings of 411 billion rupees, Dawn reported.
Profit, citing IEEFA, reported that the government then renegotiated with 14 plants and eight bagasse plants and claimed lifetime savings of 1.333 trillion rupees; the effect on consumer bills is disputed.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources do not say what the 36.5 billion rupee figure for Hubco measures.
- Disputed The tariff effect is disputed: the government claimed a reduction of 7 rupees per unit, while producers estimated 0.5 rupees.
- None on record The source link for the renegotiation refers to eight IPPs, while the reported renegotiation covers 14 plants and eight bagasse plants.
- None on record The sources record no environmental outcome of the contract changes.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Report on Pakistan capacity payments and terminated power contractsDawn · 2024-12-04
- Report on renegotiated power purchase agreements with independent power producersProfit (Pakistan Today); IEEFA · 2024-11-30
Connected cases
- IMF whale-value paper and Baffinland narwhal pilot Canada · 2019–2026
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Pressure behind the terminations; there: Publisher of the whale-value article; the authors' employer when it was published
- Kiribati PIPA opened to fishing Kiribati · 2015–2025
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Pressure behind the terminations; there: Reported fisheries share of GDP
- Loss and damage fund has paid about 55% of its $822m pledges Pakistan · 2022–2026
- Government of Pakistan (Government) — here: Terminated and renegotiated the contracts; there: recipient of pledges and payments
- Pakistan ordered to pay Karkey about $800 million over seized powerships Pakistan · 2012–2021
- Government of Pakistan (Government) — here: Terminated and renegotiated the contracts; there: Respondent in the arbitration
- Pakistan's 450,000-acre farming scheme for army company halted Pakistan · 2025
- Government of Pakistan (Government) — here: Terminated and renegotiated the contracts; there: Government transferring the land
- Tasman Spirit oil spill (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2003–2004
- Government of Pakistan (Government) — here: Terminated and renegotiated the contracts; there: Claimant; reported demand US$1bn
- Whale oil, kerosene and the 1986 whaling moratorium International · 1859–2022
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Pressure behind the terminations; there: Economists' 2019 valuation of a whale
- World Bank US$600m farm loan coincided with a 90% fall in farm support Turkey · 2001–2003
- International Monetary Fund (International organisation) — here: Pressure behind the terminations; there: Letter of intent on the sugar beet quota (May 2001)