Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Finance, funds and markets · Pakistan · 2022–2026

Loss and damage fund has paid about 55% of its $822m pledges

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
What the record lacks: 2 none on record · 1 not measured · 1 unclear See the gaps

Pakistan's 2022 floods were met with an $11bn pledge, and about $2.8bn had been paid, roughly half of it in credit unrelated to the floods. The Fund for responding to Loss and Damage had $822m pledged and about $449m paid, and no approval had been granted by October 2026.

What?
The Fund for responding to Loss and Damage had paid about 55 percent of its $822m in pledges, and first approvals were delayed to December 2026, Climate Home News reported. Climate Home News
Where?
Pakistan, affected by the 2022 floods.
When?
Floods in 2022; fund pledges March 2026; start window raised July 2026; approvals pushed to December 2026. Climate Home News
Who?
Gained
  • Lenders — About half of the $2.8bn paid to Pakistan was credit unrelated to the floods
Lost
  • Flood-affected households in Pakistan — Waited for the fund's first approvals; no approval had been granted by October 2026, according to the sources reviewed
Harmed
  • Pakistan — Damage exceeded $30bn; about $2.8bn paid against an $11bn pledge
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Compensation was channelled through pledges to a loss and damage fund, applications and a start window; part of the payment was credit. Climate Home News
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

The Fund for responding to Loss and Damage had $822m pledged by 15 March 2026 from 27 contributors, and about $449m, roughly 55 percent, had been paid by April 2026 (Climate Home News).

176 applications seek about $2.8bn; the start window was raised from $250m to $342m in July 2026, and first approvals were pushed to December 2026 (Climate Home News).

Records cited for this case show about $2.8bn paid against an $11bn pledge to Pakistan; roughly half of the $2.8bn was credit unrelated to the floods.

Damage in Pakistan exceeded $30bn, according to the sources reviewed.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Unclear Whether the $11bn pledge to Pakistan was a binding commitment is not stated in the sources reviewed.
    • None on record The split of the $2.8bn between grants and loans is not stated beyond the credit share.
    • None on record The date and amount of Pakistan's own disbursements are not stated.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

    Law and courts

    Arbitration
    A private dispute process in which an appointed arbitrator, instead of a court, decides the case.