Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Finance, funds and markets · Global · 2026

Loss and damage fund has paid about 55% of pledges as first approvals slip

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 1 none on record · 1 not measured See the gaps

The Loss and Damage Fund had USD 822 million pledged by March 2026 and about USD 449 million paid by April 2026. Some 176 applications seeking about USD 2.8 billion are waiting, and first approvals were pushed back to December 2026.

What?
Applicants have filed 176 requests for loss and damage funding, seeking about USD 2.8 billion, against about USD 449 million paid into the fund. Climate Home News
Where?
Global
When?
Pledges as of March 2026; payments as of April 2026; window changed in July 2026; first approvals expected in December 2026. Climate Home News
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
  • Applicants awaiting funds — 176 requests seeking about USD 2.8 billion against an initial window of USD 342 million Climate Home News
Harmed
None on record
Why?
The Climate Home News headline attributes the delays to needs that dwarf available resources. Climate Home News
How?
Contributors pledge money to the fund; applications are then assessed before approvals are granted. Climate Home News
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

The fund reported USD 822 million in pledges from 27 contributors as of 15 March 2026 (fund data, March 2026).

Climate Home News reported in July 2026 that about USD 449 million, roughly 55% of pledges, had been paid, and that 176 applications seeking about USD 2.8 billion had been filed.

The initial funding window was raised from USD 250 million to USD 342 million in July 2026, and first approvals were pushed back to December 2026 (Climate Home News).

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • None on record The sources reviewed do not state how much of the paid amount has been disbursed to recipient countries.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.