Kenya evicts more than 700 people from Mau Forest where Ogiek won at court
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
In November 2023 Kenya Forest Service and Kenya Wildlife Service evicted more than 700 people from the Mau Forest, where the African Court had ruled in favour of the Ogiek. Courts in Nakuru and Narok issued orders halting the evictions.
- Mau Forest residents — More than 700 people evicted in November 2023
What happened
The African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights ruled on the merits on 26 May 2017 that Kenya had violated articles 2, 8, 14, 17, 21 and 22 concerning the Ogiek of the Mau Forest.
In June 2022 the court ruled on reparations, including compensation and collective land titles, according to Mongabay.
In November 2023 Kenya Forest Service and Kenya Wildlife Service evicted more than 700 people; courts in Nakuru (10 November) and Narok (23 November) issued orders halting the evictions.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2017-05-26Claimant wonAfrican Court judgment on the Ogiek and the Mau ForestAfrican Court on Human and Peoples' Rights · Civil · Ogiek → Kenya
The merits judgment found violations of articles 2, 8, 14, 17, 21 and 22. The June 2022 reparations judgment ordered compensation and collective land titles. Mongabay
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the 2023 evictions targeted Ogiek people; the Ogiek are not named as those evicted.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: evictions in the Mau resumed in 2020.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the 2022 award of 157 million Kenyan shillings has not been implemented, according to community representatives.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the African Court rejected forest conservation as a justification for the evictions.
- Unclear Whether the Nakuru and Narok halting orders remained in force is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
Connected cases
- Mau Forest loss and forest excisions (Kenya) Kenya · 2001–2024 Related matter
- Kenya Forest Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Forest authority; carried out the November 2023 evictions with the Kenya Wildlife Service
- Kenya Wildlife Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Carried out the November 2023 evictions with the Kenya Forest Service
- African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights (Court) — here: Ruled on the merits (2017) and reparations (2022); there: Court that ruled on the Ogiek case
- Sengwer evictions from Embobut forest and the EU Water Towers programme (Kenya) Kenya · 2014–2024 Related matter
- Kenya Forest Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Forest authority whose guards carried out the evictions
- Endorois and Lake Bogoria enzyme extraction (Kenya) Kenya · 1970–2026
- Kenya Wildlife Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Kenyan state wildlife service named in the sources reviewed among the parties on the state side
- Green Belt Movement and Karura Forest, Kenya Kenya · 1977–2023
- Kenya Forest Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Forest authority; disputed satellite figures for the Mau Forest
- Kenya's 15 billion trees target Kenya · 2018–2026
- Kenya Forest Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Official forest-cover measurement; disputed satellite data on the Mau
- Kenya's two official figures: 8.83% forest cover and 12.13% tree cover Kenya · 2001–2026
- Kenya Forest Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: national forest assessment; disputed satellite-based loss figures
- Kenyan forest guards shoot dead Sengwer herder Robert Kirotich during evictions Kenya · 2018–2024
- Kenya Forest Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: forest guards; operator of the evictions
- Kenyan water-tower forest evictions followed a 2018 killing by forest guards Kenya · 2016–2024
- Kenya Forest Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: forest guards and eviction operations
- Northern Kenya Grasslands Carbon Project and the Isiolo court ruling Kenya · 2012–2026
- Kenya Wildlife Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Ordered by the court to revoke licences
- UNESCO World Heritage listings and Indigenous rights Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Ethiopia, Uganda · 1991–2025
- Kenya Wildlife Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Kenya Wildlife Service
- World Bank and development bank accountability mechanisms: Embobut (Sengwer), Tata Mundra, Arun III, Jale, Cambodia Kenya · 2007–2024
- Kenya Forest Service (Public authority) — here: Agency that carried out the 2023 evictions; there: Agency whose guards carried out the raid