Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Agriculture, livestock and food · United States · 2025

JBS net-zero pledge to be a 'target', not a 'commitment'

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 4 none on record · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

Food Business News reported a settlement with JBS USA over its net-zero claim, under which the pledge would be called a 'target' rather than a 'commitment'. The sources reviewed give no emissions data.

What?
Food Business News reported that JBS's net-zero pledge would be described as a 'target', not a 'commitment'. Food Business News
Where?
United States Food Business News
When?
November 2025 (report date) Food Business News
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
The wording of the pledge changed under a settlement with JBS USA. Food Business News
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who

What happened

The record, in order.

Food Business News reported in November 2025 that JBS's net-zero pledge would be described as a 'target', not a 'commitment'.

The article is linked to a settlement with JBS USA; the settlement amount is not confirmed in the sources reviewed.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • None on record The settlement amount is given as 1.1 million dollars in one entry and as 11 million in the source address. Not confirmed.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: JBS's net-zero pledge is dated to 2040 in one entry that has no link.
    • None on record The regulator that brought the matter is not named in the sources reviewed.
    • None on record A second link listed for the same entry concerns natural-asset companies and was not used.
    • None on record Emissions and other effects of the company's operations are not stated.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.