Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Mining · Indonesia · 2012–2026

Harita Nickel, Kawasi chromium-6 water and sago loss (Obi Island)

Nature's voice · report
My drinking-water source at Kawasi was measured at 128 ppb of chromium-6 in February 2022 and 173 ppb in February 2023. Indonesia’s limit is 50 ppb. The company says its own tests measured 5–40 ppb.
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record. Disputed
Recorded
  • My sago palms in the area covered 297 hectares in 2023 and 127 hectares in 2025. Mongabay Indonesia
What the record lacks: 2 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 1 insufficient · 4 disputed · 2 unclear See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
Does chromium-6 in Kawasi’s drinking-water source exceed the legal limit?
  • Press and investigations OCCRP, Gecko Project, The Guardian and Deutsche Welle: Leaked company documents showed 128 ppb (February 2022) and 173 ppb (February 2023) against a 50 ppb limit, and exceedances on all 30 days tested in August 2022.
  • Company or project Harita Group: Its own tests measured 5–40 ppb and the water was potable.
  • Government and regulators Regional environment agency inspector: Said in January 2023 that the company had demonstrated compliance.
Was the land for the relocation settlement acquired with free, prior and informed consent?
  • Press and investigations Mongabay Indonesia: The settlement was built on cut and filled sago gardens; villagers said some plots were taken on Sundays or at night without owners’ knowledge. Mongabay Indonesia
  • Company or project Harita Group sustainability manager: Land use complied with free, prior and informed consent and was examined in the IRMA audit. Mongabay Indonesia
  • Standard-setters and registries IRMA: Audit results not yet published under the corrective-action period the company chose. IRMA

An April 2025 investigation reported chromium-6 in Kawasi village’s drinking-water source above Indonesia’s limit, next to Harita Group’s nickel operations on Obi Island. Harita disputes the findings; a 2026 report recorded a fall in sago palm area in the district.

173 ppb vs 50 ppbChromium-6 in Kawasi drinking-water source vs Indonesia’s limit
Highest measurement reported (February 2023); limit 50 ppb. Harita reports 5–40 ppb in its own tests.

Status As of July 2026: the IRMA audit of Harita Nickel was ongoing and results were unpublished; Harita disputes the chromium-6 findings; no court case found.

What?
Chromium-6 above Indonesia’s limit was reported in the drinking-water source of Kawasi village next to Harita Group’s operations on Obi Island, and sago palm area in the district fell between 2023 and 2025. Mongabay Indonesia
Where?
Kawasi village, Obi Island, South Halmahera, North Maluku, Indonesia. Mongabay Indonesia
When?
Exceedances reported from 2012; measurements February 2022 and February 2023; investigation April 2025; sago report April 2026; IRMA update July 2026. IRMA
Who?
Gained
  • Harita Group — Raised US$660 million in an April 2023 IPO; its facilities were given National Strategic Project status (as reported)
Lost
  • Kawasi villagers — Drinking-water source above the national limit; sago land reduced; relocation to a settlement built on sago gardens Mongabay Indonesia
Harmed
  • Groundwater and sago palm area on Obi Island — Chromium-6 above the legal limit; sago area from 297 ha to 127 ha Mongabay Indonesia
Why?
The sources reviewed do not state a cause for the chromium-6 measurements. Rainforest Rescue reported seepage of boron, chromium-6 and nickel into groundwater on Obi. Rainforest Rescue
How?
Water exceedances were documented in leaked company records; land for the relocation settlement was converted from sago gardens. Mongabay Indonesia
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Kawasi is a coastal village on Obi Island that adjoins the nickel mine and smelters of Harita Group. The industrial zone is within 100 metres of the back of village houses, according to Mongabay Indonesia. Nickel from the site, according to the investigation, enters the supply chains of Tesla, BMW, Ford, Volkswagen and Mercedes-Benz through Chinese battery makers.

In April 2025, OCCRP, the Gecko Project, The Guardian and Deutsche Welle published an investigation based on leaked company documents. It reported that chromium-6 in the village’s drinking-water source repeatedly exceeded Indonesia’s limit of 50 parts per billion (ppb): 128 ppb in February 2022 and 173 ppb in February 2023, and above the limit on all 30 days tested in August 2022. None of the villagers interviewed recalled receiving a warning. The investigation reported that the company had known of exceedances since 2012. Harita denied the findings, said its own tests measured 5–40 ppb and said the water was potable.

A community leader in Kawasi told the investigation that she had had bloody and pus-containing cough, frequent abdominal cramps and diarrhoea since the mine began, and that she did not know whether the water was the cause but drank it every day.

Mongabay Indonesia reported on 25 April 2026, citing district agriculture office data, that sago palm area in the area fell from 297 hectares in 2023 to 127 hectares in 2025, and the number of sago producers from 284 to 100. It reported that the relocation settlement known as Kawasi Baru or the “eco-village”, which Harita built about 5 km inland was constructed on cut and filled sago gardens, and villagers said some plots were taken on Sundays or at night without the owners’ knowledge. Harita’s sustainability manager wrote that land use complied with free, prior and informed consent and had been examined in the IRMA audit.

Harita became the first Indonesian mine to enter an audit by the Initiative for Responsible Mining Assurance (IRMA) in October 2024. The site audit took place in April 2025. After the draft report Harita chose an optional corrective-action period of up to 12 months, during which results are not published. As of IRMA’s update of 28 July 2026 the audit was ongoing.

  1. 2012Date from which, according to the April 2025 investigation, the company knew of chromium-6 exceedances; Harita denies
  2. 2022Chromium-6 in Kawasi source measured at 128 ppb (February); all 30 days tested in August above the 50 ppb limit
  3. 2023Regional environment agency inspector states in January that the company had demonstrated compliance; 173 ppb measured (February); IPO raises US$660m (April)
  4. 2024Harita enters IRMA audit (October)
  5. 2025IRMA site audit (April); OCCRP and partners publish investigation (April); sago area down to 127 ha
  6. 2026Mongabay Indonesia reports sago decline (25 April); IRMA update: audit ongoing (28 July)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Does chromium-6 in Kawasi’s drinking-water source exceed the legal limit?
Press and investigations
OCCRP, Gecko Project, The Guardian and Deutsche Welle

Leaked company documents showed 128 ppb (February 2022) and 173 ppb (February 2023) against a 50 ppb limit, and exceedances on all 30 days tested in August 2022.

Company or project
Harita Group

Its own tests measured 5–40 ppb and the water was potable.

Government and regulators
Regional environment agency inspector

Said in January 2023 that the company had demonstrated compliance.

Was the land for the relocation settlement acquired with free, prior and informed consent?
Press and investigations
Mongabay Indonesia

The settlement was built on cut and filled sago gardens; villagers said some plots were taken on Sundays or at night without owners’ knowledge.

Mongabay Indonesia
Company or project
Harita Group sustainability manager

Land use complied with free, prior and informed consent and was examined in the IRMA audit.

Mongabay Indonesia
Standard-setters and registries
IRMA

Audit results not yet published under the corrective-action period the company chose.

IRMA
Did the company know of chromium-6 exceedances from 2012?
Press and investigations
OCCRP and partners

Reported, from leaked documents, that the company had known of exceedances since 2012.

Company or project
Harita Group

Denied the findings.

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • An IRMA audit of Harita Nickel, the first for an Indonesian mine
    Harita Group and IRMA · IRMA
  • Kawasi Baru “eco-village” relocation settlement with school, health clinic and uninterrupted electricity
    Harita Group, as described in the investigation
  • A company executive held up a glass of water from the source before the press in April 2023
    Harita Group, as reported

Recorded

  • Chromium-6 in the village drinking-water source measured 128 ppb in February 2022 and 173 ppb in February 2023; the limit is 50 ppb.
  • All 30 days tested in August 2022 exceeded the limit.
  • Sago area fell from 297 ha in 2023 to 127 ha in 2025; producers fell from 284 to 100.
  • IRMA results had not been published as of its update of 28 July 2026.
  • Rainforest Rescue reported boron, hexavalent chromium and nickel seeping into groundwater on Obi Island and over-full tailings dams.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
No figure published.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Harita Group initial public offering, April 2023$660m
Currency: USD · Window: 2023. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • harita-nickel (2025-04): Denied the investigation’s findings, said its own tests measured 5–40 ppb and that the water was potable.
  • harita-nickel (2026-04): Its sustainability manager wrote that land use for the relocation settlement complied with free, prior and informed consent and was examined in the IRMA audit. · Mongabay Indonesia
  • irma (2026-07-28): Update of 28 July 2026: the Harita Nickel audit was ongoing; Harita had chosen the optional corrective-action period. · IRMA

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Chromium-6 in drinking-water source
128–173 ppb
Limit 50 ppb; Feb 2022 and Feb 2023 (OCCRP and partners, 2025)
Sago palm area
297 ha to 127 ha
2023 to 2025 (Mongabay Indonesia, citing district agriculture office data)
Independent audit result
Not published
IRMA audit ongoing as of 28 July 2026

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

  • Disputed Does chromium-6 in Kawasi’s drinking-water source exceed the legal limit?
  • Disputed Was the land for the relocation settlement acquired with free, prior and informed consent?

Court

Accounts

  • Disputed Did the company know of chromium-6 exceedances from 2012?
  • None on record IRMA: Audit results not yet published under the corrective-action period the company chose.

Record

  • Not disclosed IRMA audit results: Harita chose a corrective-action period of up to 12 months, during which results are not published; the audit was ongoing as of July 2026.
  • Unclear Whether the community leader’s symptoms are caused by the water: she said she does not know.
  • Unclear Whether the company executive drank the water he held up before the press in April 2023: photographs do not show it.
  • Disputed Chromium-6 measurements conflict: 128–173 ppb in the investigation’s documents, 5–40 ppb in Harita’s own tests.
  • Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: whether the company knew of exceedances from 2012, which Harita denies.

Did the harm stop?

Not established in the sources reviewed; the IRMA audit was ongoing as of July 2026.

Who paid?

Not established in the sources reviewed; the investigation and Mongabay Indonesia describe Kawasi villagers as bearing the water and land effects.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers✓ Standard-setters and registries

Press and investigations

Communities and civil society

Standard-setters and registries

  1. Harita Nickel CAP update
    IRMA · 2026-07-28

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Science and environment

Groundwater
Water held underground in soil and rock, drawn through wells.
Hectare (ha)
A unit of area equal to 10,000 square metres, about 2.5 acres. 100 hectares make one square kilometre.
Tailings and tailings dam
Tailings are the waste left after ore is processed; a tailings dam is the embankment that stores them as wet sludge.

Law and courts

Prior consultation
The right of indigenous peoples, under ILO Convention 169 and national laws, to be consulted before measures that affect their lands are adopted.

Carbon and conservation finance

Standard-setter and registry
An organisation that writes the rules for carbon credits, approves projects, and records when credits are issued and retired. Such bodies typically charge fees per credit.