France's Constitutional Council annuls pesticide clause of Duplomb farm law
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
France's HRI1 pesticide-use indicator fell 32% over 2011–2021, while the dose-based NODU measure rose 3%. The EU pesticide reduction regulation was withdrawn, and in 2025 the Constitutional Council annulled the clause of the Duplomb law that brought back acetamiprid.
- Pesticide users in the farm sector — Dose-based use (NODU) rose 3% over 2011–2021 and was 13% above 2009 by 2024
- Water and health budgets — The sources list them as paying for pesticide-related costs; no amount is given for France
What happened
France's HRI1 indicator recorded a 32% fall in pesticide use over 2011–2021, while the NODU dose-based measure rose 3% over the same period, according to the sources reviewed.
France moved to the HRI1 indicator; by 2024 the dose-based NODU measure was 13% above its 2009 level.
The EU pesticide reduction regulation (SUR) was withdrawn, according to the sources reviewed.
LCP reported that the Constitutional Council annulled the clause of the Duplomb law that reintroduced acetamiprid, on 7 August 2025.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2025-08-07Overturned on appealDuplomb law: acetamiprid clauseConseil constitutionnel · constitutional · →
The Constitutional Council annulled the clause of the Duplomb law that reintroduced acetamiprid. LCP
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: that the indicator was chosen jointly by the state and the FNSEA farm union.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not record a fine or clawback for the pesticide sector in France.
- None on record The effect of the 2025 annulment on existing acetamiprid use is not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record An administrative route through the Conseil d'État is mentioned, but no decision is recorded in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.