Climeworks' Iceland plants captured less CO2 than their stated capacity
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Climeworks' Orca and Mammoth direct air capture plants in Iceland captured less CO2 than their stated capacity, according to Icelandic outlet Heimildin. The company blamed commissioning delays and cut 106 jobs in May 2025.
- Climeworks employees — 106 jobs cut in May 2025 Swissinfo (SRF)
- Workers for a planned Louisiana facility — 469 promised jobs suspended Swissinfo (SRF)
What happened
Heimildin reported in May 2025 that the Orca plant captured less than 1,000 tonnes a year since 2021, against a stated capacity of 4,000 tonnes.
Heimildin reported that Mammoth captured 750 tonnes in its first ten months, against a stated capacity of 36,000 tonnes a year.
The company said results were below expectations because of commissioning delays, and that snow and ice had frozen some of its mechanisms.
Heimildin compared the company's 1,700 tonnes of 2023 emissions with about 2,400 carbon units captured in Iceland since 2021, according to El Salto.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Climeworks raised $650 million in 2022 and $162 million in 2025, passing $1 billion in total.
- Disputed Other reports put Mammoth's first-year capture at 105 tonnes, which conflicts with the 750 tonnes in ten months reported by Heimildin.
- None on record Heimildin's figures are in 'carbon units', which the sources do not convert to tonnes, so the comparison with the company's emissions cannot be checked.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not give a full year of verified capture figures.
- None on record Effects on Icelandic communities or ecosystems are not reported in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Climeworks to cut 10% of staff amid slowdown in cleantech confidenceThe Chemical Engineer · 2025-05-21
- Swiss CO2 removal start-up forced to downsizeSwissinfo (SRF) · 2025-05-15
- El Salto report on Heimildin's Climeworks findingsEl Salto · 2025-05-26
Connected cases
- Leaked DOE list marks first tranches for two direct air capture hubs 'terminate' United States · 2021
- Climeworks (Company) — here: operator of the plants; there: partner in Project Cypress