British Columbia's 13.2 million hectare old-growth count is challenged
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The provincial government counts 23 percent of its forest as old growth. An independent 2020 report said only 3 percent of the province can grow big trees, and The Narwhal reported in 2024 that 2.4 million hectares were temporarily deferred.
- Drax Group — Ember's July 2026 analysis puts its 2025 UK subsidy at 999 million pounds and 8.72 billion pounds since 2012; Drax burns wood pellets counted as renewable
What happened
The Narwhal reported in June 2020 that the government counts 13.2 million hectares, or 23 percent of the forest, as old growth, while an independent report said 3 percent of the province can grow big trees.
The Narwhal reported in May 2024 that 2.4 million hectares were deferred on a temporary basis, and that the old-growth total in the update fell from 25 to 11.1 million hectares.
The Narwhal's November 2025 analysis said logging in deferral areas could be four times higher, and that about 4 percent of old growth had burned.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Pinnacle, a Drax subsidiary, received cutting licences covering areas with old growth (BBC Panorama, October 2022).
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Drax takes about 80 percent of British Columbia's pellet output.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Ofgem found Drax misreported 2021 to 2022 Canadian imports and agreed to pay 25 million pounds.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a Drax pellet plant in Mississippi was fined 2.5 million dollars in 2020 and 225,000 dollars in 2024.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a March 2026 CP24 report says the province is failing to protect old growth; only the headline was seen.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- The Narwhal: B.C. old-growth data misleading, independent reportThe Narwhal · 2020-06-04
- BC old-growth update 2024The Narwhal · 2024-05-28
- BC forests logging 2025The Narwhal · 2025-11-12
Connected cases
- British Columbia old-growth deferrals and mill closures Canada · 2020–2026 Related matter
- Clayoquot Sound protection (Canada) Canada · 1993–2023
- Government of British Columbia (Government) — here: Published the old-growth area figures; there: Issued the 1993 land use decision
- Drax biomass subsidies United Kingdom · 2012
- Drax Group (Company) — here: Biomass plant operator; UK subsidy recipient; there: Operator of the power station
- EU woody biomass and Enviva pellets United Kingdom · 2012–2026
- Drax Group (Company) — here: Biomass plant operator; UK subsidy recipient; there: UK power station burning wood pellets