Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Carbon credits · United Arab Emirates · 2022–2025

Blue Carbon LLC forest carbon deals (UAE, Africa)

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured · 1 disputed See the gaps

A Dubai company founded in 2022 signed memoranda in 2023 covering about 24.5 million hectares of forest in Africa and elsewhere. By late 2025 the Liberian deal was reported halted and no credits had been issued.

about 24.5 million haForest area covered by the memoranda
Non-binding memoranda signed in 2023; no credits issued.

Status As of March 2026: Liberia deal reported halted, Zambia ended without any transaction, Zimbabwe at registration-application stage; no credits issued.

What?
Non-binding memoranda for exclusive forest carbon rights over about 24.5 million ha. Daily Maverick
Where?
Liberia, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Tanzania, Kenya, Papua New Guinea and three Caribbean countries; company based in Dubai. Daily Maverick
When?
Founded October 2022; memoranda 2023; stall reported November 2025. Al-Monitor
Who?
Gained
  • Blue Carbon LLC and its founder — Optional exclusive rights to forest carbon; according to critics, a green profile ahead of COP28.
Lost
  • Forest communities in the named areas — Community land rights put at risk, per the AP report. AP (via WSLS)
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Carbon credits from forest protection. Daily Maverick
How?
Memoranda of understanding with exclusive carbon-credit rights, 30-year terms. Daily Maverick
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Blue Carbon LLC was founded in Dubai in October 2022 by Sheikh Ahmed Dalmook Al Maktoum, a member of Dubai's ruling family. In 2023, ahead of the COP28 climate summit hosted by the UAE, it signed memoranda with Liberia, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Tanzania and Kenya, and with Papua New Guinea and three Caribbean countries, covering about 24.5 million hectares in total.

The Liberian memorandum covered about 1 million hectares for 30 years; the sources describe this as about 10% of the country or about 15% of its forests. The Zimbabwean memorandum covered 7.5 million hectares, about 20% of the country. One source gives Zambia as 8 million hectares. Daily Maverick reported the deals on 28 November 2023 and the AP reported on the risks to indigenous livelihoods in April 2024.

A draft Liberian contract, as reported, gave the company sole decision over the sale and price of carbon credits.

By November 2025, in a joint AFP and Code for Africa investigation, a Liberian official described the deal as 'halted', and the Zambian agreement had ended without any transaction. The company's website had closed, it was not found in any carbon registry, and it did not respond. As of March 2026, per the sources reviewed, the Zimbabwean deal had reached only a registration application.

  1. 2022October: Blue Carbon LLC founded in Dubai
  2. 2023Memoranda signed with African, Caribbean and Pacific countries ahead of COP28; 28 November: Daily Maverick reports the deals
  3. 2024April: AP reports concerns about risks to indigenous livelihoods
  4. 2025November: AFP and Code for Africa report the deals stalled; Liberia 'halted', Zambia ended without any transaction

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Whether the deals were a genuine climate venture
Press and investigations
AFP / Code for Africa

The deals stalled by 2025; no credits issued; company not found in carbon registries.

Al-Monitor
Company or project
Blue Carbon LLC

No public response found; company reported silent.

Al-Monitor
Communities and civil society
Critics cited in the sources reviewed

The oil-producing COP28 host acquired green credentials before the summit.

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

    Recorded

    • Non-binding memoranda covering about 24.5 million ha, 30-year terms.
    • No credits issued; no registration in any carbon registry found.
    • Liberian deal reported halted; Zambian agreement ended without any transaction.

    Who gained

    Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

    Reached nature or the ground

    Not published
    No figure published.

    Gained elsewhere

    Not totalled
    Currency: · Window: . All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

    Responses on record

    • Blue Carbon LLC (November 2025): No response; reported as silent, with its website closed. · Al-Monitor
    • Liberian official (November 2025): Described the deal as 'halted'. · Al-Monitor

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What nature saw

    Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

    Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

    Area under memoranda
    about 24.5 million ha
    Liberia about 1 million, Zimbabwe 7.5 million
    Credits issued
    0
    None issued as of the 2025 reports

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.

    Court

    Accounts

    • Disputed Whether the deals were a genuine climate venture
    • None on record Blue Carbon LLC: No public response found; company reported silent.

    Record

    • None on record Liberian area is described variously as about 10% of the country and about 15% of its forests.
    • Not disclosed The company did not respond; no public statement from it was found in the sources reviewed.
    • Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: that the Liberian draft gave the company 70% of credit revenue.

    Did the harm stop?

    The sources reviewed describe the Liberian deal as halted and the Zambian agreement as ended by 2025; no credits were issued.

    Who paid?

    No payment is on record in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Communities and civil society

    Science and environment

    Hectare (ha)
    A unit of area equal to 10,000 square metres, about 2.5 acres. 100 hectares make one square kilometre.

    Carbon and conservation finance

    Carbon credit
    A certificate representing one tonne of carbon dioxide (or equivalent) that a project says it reduced, avoided or removed. Buyers use credits to balance their own emissions in climate claims.
    REDD+
    Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and forest Degradation. A UN framework under which forest projects earn carbon credits for deforestation they say they prevented, measured against a projected baseline.
    Standard-setter and registry
    An organisation that writes the rules for carbon credits, approves projects, and records when credits are issued and retired. Such bodies typically charge fees per credit.