India's top court refuses more Bhopal compensation from Union Carbide successors
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
India's Supreme Court refused in March 2023 to order further Bhopal gas compensation from Union Carbide's successor companies. The 1989 settlement did not cover groundwater, and in 2025 the state paid to burn the plant's toxic waste.
What happened
In March 2023 the Supreme Court of India dismissed the government's curative petition seeking compensation beyond the US$470 million settlement of 1989 (LiveLaw, 14 March 2023).
The reasons given were the absence of any fraud allegation, a delay of more than twenty years, and the government's failure to obtain insurance it had been obliged to obtain under a 1991 decision (LiveLaw, 14 March 2023).
The government's petition reported 5,295 deaths and 527,894 injured (LiveLaw, 14 March 2023).
In July 2025 The Hitavada reported that the plant's toxic waste had been completely incinerated at a cost of 126 crore rupees from the state budget, and that the 1989 settlement did not cover groundwater (The Hitavada, 1 July 2025).
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- 2023-03-14Defendant wonUnion of India curative petition on Bhopal compensationSupreme Court of India · Civil · Union of India → Union Carbide and successor companies
The court dismissed the government's curative petition seeking compensation beyond the 1989 settlement of US$470 million. LiveLaw
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Self-reported only The death and injury figures are government figures reported in the petition; the sources reviewed give no independent count.
- Disputed Reported but not verified: 358 tonnes of waste at Pithampur (Tribune and PTI, July 2025), a figure that differs from other coverage.
- None on record Not stated: whether the successor companies contributed to the 2025 incineration cost.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Finally, toxic waste from Bhopal plant completely incineratedThe Hitavada · 2025-07-01
Connected cases
- Union Carbide asbestos insurance case United States · 2012 Related matter
- Union Carbide (Company) — here: company that paid the 1989 settlement; subject of the 2023 petition; there: Policyholder facing asbestos bodily-injury claims
- Indian government paid Rs 126 crore to incinerate Union Carbide Bhopal waste India · 2025
- Union Carbide (Company) — here: company that paid the 1989 settlement; subject of the 2023 petition; there: Origin of the waste (Bhopal plant)
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Paid for the incineration from the state budget
- Supreme Court dismisses Centre's bid for more Bhopal compensation from Union Carbide India · 1989–2025
- Union Carbide (Company) — here: company that paid the 1989 settlement; subject of the 2023 petition; there: Company whose 1989 settlement is the subject; defendant in the curative petition
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Paid the incineration cost; petitioner for more compensation
- IFFCO sells nano urea under a fertiliser subsidy; a Punjab trial reported lower yields India · 2021–2026
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: fertiliser subsidy payer
- India approved clearing over 8,500 hectares of forest despite a Supreme Court order India · 2025
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Gave the nod to clear over 8,500 hectares
- India PMFBY crop insurance India · 2016
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Pays the premium share not paid by farmers; presented the scheme's figures
- India's 1975–77 Emergency sterilisation drive drew a $66 million World Bank loan India · 1975–1977
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Ran the sterilisation campaign
- India's scrap tyre imports reach 1.398 million tonnes in FY2024 India · 2021–2024
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Source of the import data cited in the report
- Indus Waters Treaty suspension India / Pakistan · 2025
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Suspended the treaty
- Kerala endosulfan compensation delayed as producer's Shroff family sells stake India · 2011–2026
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Objected to listing endosulfan under the Stockholm Convention
- World Bank-backed dams displaced people, and reviews found incomes often not restored Global · 1985–2018
- Government of India (Government) — here: filed the curative petition; paid for the waste incineration; there: Host government for the Sardar Sarovar dam