Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Mining / tailings dam · Zambia · 2023–2026

Sino-Metals Leach tailings dam failure and the Kafue River (Zambia)

Nature's voice · report
In February 2025 a tailings dam failed and acidic waste reached me; Mining Focus Africa reported more than 1.5 million tonnes.
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record. Disputed
Recorded
What the record lacks: 6 none on record · 2 insufficient · 4 disputed · 2 unclear See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
How much waste was released?
  • Company or project Sino-Metals: Its first statement put the spill at 50,000 tonnes (AFP: 50 million litres). MarketBeat (AP)
  • Researchers Drizit, contractor: Measured 1.5 million tonnes, at least 30 times the company's figure; its contract was terminated a day before its report (as reported by AP). MarketBeat (AP)
  • Press and investigations AP: Reported that a Chinese mining company was accused of covering up the extent of the spill. MarketBeat (AP)
Has the damage been assessed?
  • Press and investigations Inter Press Service: No transparent damage assessment had been published as of December 2025; environmental laws remain on paper. IPS
  • Government and regulators Government of Zambia: Took over the assessment of the Kafue/Chambeshi river pollution with the costs to be borne by Sino-Metals (Zambia Monitor headline; article not reviewed). Zambia Monitor

A tailings dam at the Sino-Metals Leach site in Zambia's Copperbelt failed in February 2025 and acidic waste reached the Kafue River system. The company's first statement put the spill at 50,000 tonnes; a contractor reported at least 1.5 million tonnes. The government penalty was reported at 1.5 million kwacha, while damages claims exceeded US$420 million and 176 residents sought US$80 billion.

50,000 t vs at least 1.5 MtSpill volume: the company's first statement vs a contractor's measurement
AP reported the measurement as at least 30 times the company's figure; AFP, per a summary, reported about 20 times by volume. The contractor's own report was not seen.

Status As of January 2026: the 176-resident claim of US$80 billion was at the claim stage and no transparent damage assessment had been published (December 2025).

What?
A tailings dam at the Sino-Metals Leach site failed in February 2025 and acidic waste reached the Kafue River system; the released volume is disputed between 50,000 t and at least 1.5 Mt. MarketBeat (AP)
Where?
Copperbelt, Zambia; the Kafue River system. Mining Focus Africa
When?
February 2025; the facility had a compliance order from 2023; the residents' suit followed in September 2025. Southern Africa Litigation Centre
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
Harmed
  • The Kafue River and its basin — Water measured at about pH 1.8; more than 1.5 Mt of acidic waste reported; 60% of Zambia's population lives in the basin Mining Focus Africa
Why?
The cause of the dam failure is not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
A tailings dam at the Sino-Metals Leach site failed and the waste flowed into a stream connected to the Kafue River. Mining Focus Africa
In proportion Government penalty of 1.5 million kwacha (about US$63,000) against damages claims above US$420 million and an US$80bn claim; the claims are allegations, not findings. Mining.com
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

In February 2025 a tailings dam at the Sino-Metals Leach site in Zambia's Copperbelt failed. Mining Focus Africa reported that more than 1.5 million tonnes of acidic waste flowed into the Kafue River system. The company's first statement put the spill at 50,000 tonnes, which AFP converted to 50 million litres.

Drizit, a contractor engaged by the company, measured the released waste at 1.5 million tonnes, at least 30 times the company's figure, according to an AP report in September 2025. AP reported that Drizit's contract was terminated a day before its report was released. AP's headline said a Chinese mining company was accused of covering up the extent of the spill. EWN/AFP reported in September 2025 that Zambian farmers sued Chinese mining firms over the spill.

Zambia's environment agency, ZEMA, measured the pH of the water at about 1.8 (reported by the Southern Africa Litigation Centre, SALC). SALC wrote that a compliance order had been issued to the facility in 2023, before the collapse. Zambia Monitor's headline reported that the government took over the assessment of the Kafue-Chambeshi river pollution and that Sino-Metals would bear the costs.

In September 2025 SALC reported that 176 residents had sued for US$80 billion. Mining.com reported that the government's penalty was 1.5 million kwacha, about US$63,000, while damages claims exceeded US$420 million; Dialogue Earth reported that the government sought about US$63,000 in compensation. Mining Focus Africa reported interim payments of US$17 to US$2,000 to 454 farmers, and that the Kafue basin is home to 60% of Zambia's population.

In December 2025 IPS reported that no transparent damage assessment had been published and that Zambia's environmental laws and standards exist on paper, with implementation the problem. In January 2026 Mining Focus Africa described the spill as a test of Zambia's environmental enforcement.

  1. 2023ZEMA issues a compliance order to the facility (SALC)
  2. 2025February: tailings dam fails and acidic waste reaches the Kafue River system; the company's first statement gives 50,000 tonnes. September: AP reports the Drizit measurement of at least 1.5 million tonnes and the cover-up accusation; 176 residents sue for US$80 billion (SALC); interim payments to 454 farmers reported (Mining Focus Africa). December: IPS reports no transparent damage assessment
  3. 2026January: Mining Focus Africa describes the spill as a test of Zambia's environmental enforcement

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

How much waste was released?
Company or project
Sino-Metals

Its first statement put the spill at 50,000 tonnes (AFP: 50 million litres).

MarketBeat (AP)
Researchers
Drizit, contractor

Measured 1.5 million tonnes, at least 30 times the company's figure; its contract was terminated a day before its report (as reported by AP).

MarketBeat (AP)
Press and investigations
AP

Reported that a Chinese mining company was accused of covering up the extent of the spill.

MarketBeat (AP)
How large is the financial liability?
Government and regulators
Government of Zambia

A penalty of 1.5 million kwacha, about US$63,000 (Mining.com); Dialogue Earth reported that the government sought about US$63,000 in compensation.

Mining.com
Communities and civil society
176 residents

Filed a suit seeking US$80 billion (SALC).

Southern Africa Litigation Centre
Press and investigations
Mining.com

Reported that damages claims against the firm exceeded US$420 million.

Mining.com
Has the damage been assessed?
Press and investigations
Inter Press Service

No transparent damage assessment had been published as of December 2025; environmental laws remain on paper.

IPS
Government and regulators
Government of Zambia

Took over the assessment of the Kafue/Chambeshi river pollution with the costs to be borne by Sino-Metals (Zambia Monitor headline; article not reviewed).

Zambia Monitor

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • A first statement that 50,000 tonnes had spilled (AFP: 50 million litres).
    Sino-Metals, as reported by AP · MarketBeat (AP)

Recorded

  • Drizit measured at least 1.5 million tonnes of released waste; its contract was terminated a day before its report.
  • ZEMA measured the water at about pH 1.8; the facility had a 2023 compliance order.
  • 176 residents filed a claim of US$80 billion.
  • The government's penalty was 1.5 million kwacha (about US$63,000); damages claims exceeded US$420 million.
  • 454 farmers received interim payments of US$17 to US$2,000.
  • No transparent damage assessment had been published as of December 2025.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
No figure published.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Currency: USD · Window: 2025–2026. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • sino-metals-leach (2025): Its first statement put the spill at 50,000 tonnes (AFP: 50 million litres). No response to the AP accusation appears in the sources. · MarketBeat (AP)
  • zema (2025): Measured the water at about pH 1.8 (reported by SALC); the facility had received a compliance order in 2023. Zambia Monitor's headline reported that the government took over the assessment with the costs falling on Sino-Metals. · Southern Africa Litigation Centre

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

  1. 2025-09–Ongoing$80000000bn Claimed (US$80 billion)
    Residents' suit over the Kafue spill
    Court not stated in the sources reviewed · Civil · 176 residents → Mining companies (names not given in the sources reviewed; EWN/AFP: Chinese mining firms)

    SALC reported in September 2025 that 176 residents sued mining companies over the spill for US$80 billion; EWN/AFP reported that Zambian farmers sued Chinese mining firms. The sources describe the case as being at the claim stage; no ruling is recorded. Southern Africa Litigation Centre

  2. Ongoing$420000bn More than, claimed
    Damages claims reported by Mining.com
    Not specified in the sources reviewed · Civil · Claimants (not specified) → Sino-Metals Leach

    Mining.com reported that damages claims against the firm exceeded US$420 million. How these claims relate to the 176-resident suit is not stated. Mining.com

  3. 2025Outcome not on recordZMW 1500bn Penalty, about US$63,000
    Government penalty after the dam failure
    Government of Zambia · Administrative · Government of Zambia → Sino-Metals Leach

    Mining.com reported that the government's penalty was 1.5 million kwacha (about US$63,000) while damages claims exceeded US$420 million; Dialogue Earth reported that the state sought about US$63,000. Whether the penalty was paid is not stated. Mining.com

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Acidity of the water
pH about 1.8
Measured by ZEMA; the facility had a 2023 compliance order
Volume of waste released
50,000 t vs at least 1.5 Mt
Company's first statement vs Drizit measurement, reported by AP
Population living in the Kafue basin
60%
Share of Zambia's population, per Mining Focus Africa
Damage assessment
None published
As reported by IPS, December 2025

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

Court

  • Unclear Government penalty after the dam failure: outcome not on record.

Accounts

  • Disputed How large is the financial liability?

Record

  • None on record Drizit's report itself was not seen; the volume figure rests on AP's account.
  • None on record No transparent damage assessment had been published as of December 2025 (IPS).
  • Unclear The US$80bn claim by 176 residents was at the claim stage in the sources; no ruling is recorded. How it relates to the damages claims above US$420 million is not stated.
  • None on record One summary records no compensation to downstream residents; Mining Focus Africa reports interim payments to 454 farmers. Whether further compensation was paid is not stated.
  • Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a contract dispute between the company and its environmental consultant delayed the assessment report, the contract was terminated and ZEMA took over the assessment at the company's cost; ZEMA halted operations; one account calls the 50,000 t figure an official estimate.
  • Disputed The volume difference is reported differently: AP described the contractor's measurement as at least 30 times the company's figure; AFP, per a summary, reported about 20 times by volume.
  • None on record Dialogue Earth reported that the government sought about US$63,000 in compensation, while Mining.com called the 1.5 million kwacha a penalty; whether it was a fine imposed or compensation sought is not stated.
  • None on record The date of the 454-farmer interim payments is not settled in the sources reviewed (Mining Focus Africa, September 2025 or January 2026).
  • Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: the collapse took place on 18 February 2025 and about 50 million litres of acidic waste reached a stream connected to the Kafue.
  • None on record The sources reviewed do not state a cause of the dam failure.

Did the harm stop?

Not established. The sources report a ZEMA acidity measurement and the volume dispute, but no figures on the river's recovery.

Who paid?

The government took over the assessment with the costs to be borne by Sino-Metals (Zambia Monitor headline). 454 farmers received interim payments of US$17 to US$2,000; the government's penalty was about US$63,000.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers

Communities and civil society

  1. Zambian communities sue mining giants over spill disaster
    Southern Africa Litigation Centre · 2025-09

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Science and environment

Tailings and tailings dam
Tailings are the waste left after ore is processed; a tailings dam is the embankment that stores them as wet sludge.