Cases / Killings and repression of defenders · Guatemala · 2017
Sebastián Alonso Juan shot at Ixquisis protest against Pojom dams
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Sebastián Alonso Juan was shot on 17 January 2017 at a protest in Ixquisis, Huehuetenango, where he opposed the Pojom I/II and San Andrés hydro dams. Rights in Development reported IDB Invest, CABEI and Cordiant as the dams' financiers, and no prosecution was found in the sources reviewed.
What?
Sebastián Alonso Juan was shot at a protest in Ixquisis, Huehuetenango, in January 2017 while opposing the Pojom I/II and San Andrés hydro dams. Rights in Development
Where?
Ixquisis, Huehuetenango, Guatemala Rights in Development
When?
17 January 2017 Rights in Development
Who?
Gained
- PDH S.A. — developer of the Pojom I/II and San Andrés hydro dams Rights in Development
Lost
None on recordHarmed
- Sebastián Alonso Juan — shot at a protest on 17 January 2017 Rights in Development
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Shot at a protest; the sources reviewed do not say who fired the shot. Rights in Development
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Rights in Development reported IDB Invest, CABEI and Cordiant as financiers of the Pojom I/II and San Andrés hydro dams of PDH S.A.
Rights in Development's Ixquisis community piece is the only source cited for this case; the sources reviewed record no prosecution.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The current status of the Pojom I/II and San Andrés dams is not recorded in the sources reviewed.
- None on record Financing amounts for the dams are not stated in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts— Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers
Communities and civil society
- Ixquisis community voices, GuatemalaRights in Development ·
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- Berta Cáceres killing and Agua Zarca dam Honduras · 2013–2026
- CABEI (Central American Bank for Economic Integration) (International organisation) — here: reported financier; there: Financier; largest lender, about $24M
- Hidroituango dam and the Ríos Vivos defenders (Colombia) Colombia · 2016–2022
- IDB Invest (Bank) — here: reported financier; there: IDB private-sector arm; put together a US$1bn package in 2018; exited in February 2022