Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Killings and repression of defenders · Honduras · 2024–2026

Juan López killing and Guapinol mine

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured. Disputed
People
  • 1 people died.
    Juan López, killed 14 September 2024.
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured · 2 disputed · 1 unclear See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
Was the national park damaged by the mine's operators?
  • Government and regulators Honduran prosecutors: Charged 13 company-linked people, including Pérez, over environmental damage to Carlos Escaleras National Park (September 2024). tunota.com
  • Company or project Inversiones Los Pinares: Did not respond to the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre.

Juan López, a municipal councillor and river defender, was killed in Tocoa, Honduras, on 14 September 2024. He had opposed an iron-oxide mine in the core zone of Carlos Escaleras National Park; the record shows arrests but no conviction.

0Convictions in the killing of Juan López, as of the latest report
Three alleged gunmen are held and their trial was postponed to January 2027. Three alleged intellectual authors were remanded in May 2026.

Status As of the latest items in the record (Fúnez hearing set for 1 October 2026): three alleged gunmen are held with trial postponed to January 2027, and former mayor Adán Fúnez and two others are remanded as alleged intellectual authors, which Fúnez denies; no conviction is recorded.

What?
Juan López, a municipal councillor and Guapinol river defender, was killed in Tocoa on 14 September 2024. He had opposed the iron-oxide mine of Inversiones Los Pinares and Ecotek in the core zone of Carlos Escaleras National Park.
Where?
Tocoa, Honduras, and Carlos Escaleras National Park.
When?
The concession expired on 28 January 2024; López was killed on 14 September 2024; arrests of alleged intellectual authors followed in May 2026.
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
  • Juan López — Killed on 14 September 2024.
Harmed
  • Carlos Escaleras National Park — Prosecutors charged 13 company-linked people over environmental damage to the park (September 2024). tunota.com
Why?
The record states that López opposed the mine. It records arrests only and no conviction, so no court finding on who ordered the killing or why is recorded.
How?
Three alleged gunmen are held. In May 2026 former mayor Adán Fúnez and two others were arrested as alleged intellectual authors; Fúnez denies it. La Prensa (laprensa.hn)
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Inversiones Los Pinares and Ecotek, linked in the record to Grupo EMCO and to Lenir Pérez, ran an iron-oxide mine in the core zone of Carlos Escaleras National Park in Honduras. The mining concession expired on 28 January 2024. A suspension process was announced; whether it took effect is not verified in the record.

Juan López, a municipal councillor and Guapinol river defender, was killed on 14 September 2024 in Tocoa. The record names Inversiones Los Pinares and Ecotek and their mine as what he opposed.

In September 2024 prosecutors charged 13 company-linked people, including Pérez, over environmental damage to the park. Three alleged gunmen are held in the killing; their trial was postponed to January 2027.

In May 2026 former Tocoa mayor Adán Fúnez and two others were arrested as alleged intellectual authors of the killing and remanded in custody. Fúnez denies it. His preliminary hearing was set for 1 October 2026.

The Business & Human Rights Resource Centre (BHRRC), which counts attacks linked to companies, listed Inversiones Los Pinares among the projects with the most attacks in its 2015–2024 count. It does not publish per-company attack counts. Los Pinares did not respond to BHRRC.

  1. 202428 January: the mining concession expires; a suspension process is announced
  2. 202414 September: Juan López is killed in Tocoa
  3. 2024September: prosecutors charge 13 company-linked people, including Pérez, over environmental damage to the park
  4. 2026May: former mayor Adán Fúnez and two others are arrested as alleged intellectual authors and remanded; Fúnez denies it
  5. 20261 October: preliminary hearing for Fúnez set; trial of three alleged gunmen postponed to January 2027

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Who ordered the killing of Juan López?
Courts
Honduran judge (as reported by La Prensa)

Ordered former mayor Adán Fúnez and others held in custody as alleged intellectual authors of the killing.

La Prensa (laprensa.hn)
Government and regulators
Adán Fúnez, former mayor of Tocoa (accused)

Denies being an intellectual author of the killing.

tunota.com
Was the national park damaged by the mine's operators?
Government and regulators
Honduran prosecutors

Charged 13 company-linked people, including Pérez, over environmental damage to Carlos Escaleras National Park (September 2024).

tunota.com
Company or project
Inversiones Los Pinares

Did not respond to the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre.

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

    Recorded

    • The mining concession expired on 28 January 2024; a suspension process was announced.
    • Prosecutors charged 13 company-linked people, including Pérez, over environmental damage to Carlos Escaleras National Park (September 2024).
    • Former Tocoa mayor Adán Fúnez and two others were arrested in May 2026 as alleged intellectual authors of the killing and remanded.
    • Three alleged gunmen are held; their trial was postponed to January 2027.

    Who gained

    Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

    Reached nature or the ground

    Not published
    No figure published.

    Gained elsewhere

    Not totalled
    Currency: · Window: . All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

    Responses on record

    • Inversiones Los Pinares: Did not respond to the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre (BHRRC).
    • Adán Fúnez, former mayor of Tocoa (May 2026): Denies being an intellectual author of the killing. · La Prensa (laprensa.hn)

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    1. Ongoing
      Killing of Juan López: trial of three alleged gunmen
      Honduran court (not named in the record) · Criminal · Prosecution → Three alleged gunmen (not named in the record)

      Three alleged gunmen are held. Their trial was postponed to January 2027.

    2. 2026-05–Ongoing
      Killing of Juan López: alleged intellectual authors
      Honduran court (not named in the record) · Criminal · Prosecution → Adán Fúnez, former mayor of Tocoa, and two others (accused)

      Arrested in May 2026 as alleged intellectual authors and remanded in custody. Fúnez denies it. His preliminary hearing was set for 1 October 2026. La Prensa (laprensa.hn)

    3. 2024-09–Ongoing
      Environmental damage to Carlos Escaleras National Park
      Honduran court (not named in the record) · Criminal · Prosecutors → 13 company-linked people, including Lenir Pérez (charged)

      In September 2024 prosecutors charged 13 company-linked people, including Pérez, over environmental damage to the park. tunota.com

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What nature saw

    Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

    Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

    Environmental damage charges
    13 people
    Prosecutors charged 13 company-linked people over damage to the national park (September 2024)
    Mining concession
    Expired 28 Jan 2024
    A suspension process was announced; its outcome is not verified

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
    • Disputed Was the national park damaged by the mine's operators?

    Accounts

    • Disputed Who ordered the killing of Juan López?
    • None on record Inversiones Los Pinares: Did not respond to the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre.

    Record

    • Unclear Whether the suspension of the mine announced after the concession expired took effect: not verified.
    • None on record The result of Adán Fúnez's preliminary hearing, set for 1 October 2026: not found.
    • None on record No conviction is recorded in the killing; the record shows arrests only.
    • Not disclosed Inversiones Los Pinares did not respond to BHRRC.
    • Insufficient The record lists Carlos Escaleras National Park among conservation cases where projects were halted or financiers withdrew, while also stating that whether the suspension took effect is not verified.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not verified: the concession expired on 28 January 2024 and a suspension process was announced, but the record does not confirm that it took effect.

    Who paid?

    A municipal councillor and river defender was killed; the record shows no conviction and no compensation.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers