Cases / Oil spill · United Kingdom · 1996
Liberian-flagged vessel Sea Empress spills oil at Milford Haven, Wales, in 1996
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
The Liberian-flagged vessel Sea Empress spilled oil at Milford Haven in February 1996. The sources reviewed record the compensation figure but not the damage to the coast or wildlife.
What?
A Liberian-flagged vessel, the Sea Empress, spilled oil at Milford Haven, Wales, in 1996. IOPC Funds
Where?
Milford Haven, Wales, United Kingdom IOPC Funds
When?
15 February 1996 IOPC Funds
Who?
Gained
- Claimants — compensation of £36.8 million recorded in the IOPC table IOPC Funds
Lost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
The sources reviewed do not state the cause.
How?
The sources reviewed do not describe how the oil was released.
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
According to the IOPC Funds document, the Liberian-flagged vessel Sea Empress, of 72,360 tonnes, spilled oil at Milford Haven on 15 February 1996.
The same document records a limit of £7.4 million under the Civil Liability Convention (CLC) and compensation of £36.8 million in its table.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say what caused the release, or describe damage to the shore, wildlife or habitats.
- None on record The owner and charterer of the vessel are not stated.
- None on record The sources do not say which claims the £36.8 million covers or whether it is the final total.
- None on record Who gained, lost or was harmed is not stated beyond the compensation figure.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- IOPC Funds document IOPC-NOV20-3-4IOPC Funds ·
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- Princess Empress oil spill (Philippines) Philippines · 2023–2025 Related matter
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: published the compensation table; there: 1992 Fund; paid claims together with the Shipowners' Club
- Amoco Cadiz oil spill (France) France · 1978–1992
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: published the compensation table; there: International oil pollution compensation funds (Erika, Sea Empress and Tasman Spirit are in the same heading)
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: published the compensation table; there: International compensation fund (1992 Fund)
- Gulfstream oil spill (Tobago) Trinidad and Tobago · 2024–2026
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: published the compensation table; there: Compensation body paying claims for the Gulfstream spill (1992 Fund)
- Hebei Spirit oil spill South Korea · 2007
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: published the compensation table; there: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit
- Prestige Spain · 2002–2026
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: published the compensation table; there: 1992 Fund; paid €147.9m
- Tasman Spirit oil spill (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2003–2004
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: published the compensation table; there: International compensation regime; Pakistan not a member
- Torrey Canyon spill and creation of the IOPC Funds United Kingdom · 1967–2026
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: published the compensation table; there: Administers the 1992 Fund and Supplementary Fund; pays claims above the shipowner's limit