Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Plastic waste and recycling claims · Philippines · 2022–2026

Philippines reports 55.98% plastic recovery under EPR, including co-processing

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 not measured See the gaps

The Philippine Environment Ministry reported plastic recovery of 55.98% under its producer responsibility scheme, a figure that counts co-processing as recovery. The sources say the share of plastic that is burned is not disclosed, and only 1,017 of 2,130 firms were registered.

What?
The Philippines reported that plastic recovery under its EPR scheme passed the target, at 55.98%, with co-processing counted as recovery. Down To Earth
Where?
Philippines, under the national EPR scheme set by RA 11898 Down To Earth
When?
EPR Act 2022; recovery figure reported in September 2026; large firms must recover or offset 80% of their footprint by 2028. Down To Earth
Who?
Gained
  • Obligated brands and cement companies — Compliance is counted with co-processing and self-declared footprints Down To Earth
Lost
  • Waste pickers — Paid 2 pesos per kilo for the plastic they collect Down To Earth
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Firms declare their plastic footprint and can offset it; co-processing counts toward recovery; the firm pays the auditor; offset credits are reported at USD 100 to 500 or more per tonne. Down To Earth
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Down To Earth reported that the Philippine Environment Ministry declared 55.98% plastic recovery, or 246 million kg, under the EPR scheme, with co-processing counted as recovery.

Down To Earth reported that firms declare their own plastic footprint, that firms pay the auditor, and that the share of plastic that is burned is not disclosed.

Fauna & Flora (2024) reported that the EPR Act 2022 (RA 11898) allows offsetting, and that large firms must recover or offset 80% of their footprint by 2028.

The same source named NutriAsia, Century Pacific Food, Monde Nissin, Nestlé Philippines and Colgate-Palmolive Philippines as the top five buyers, and counted 81,928+ credits issued under the PPRS.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • None on record The split between physical recycling and co-processing within the 55.98% is not given in the sources reviewed.
    • None on record The Fauna & Flora figure of 81,928+ credits is not tied to a year or to a tonnage in the sources reviewed.
    • None on record Down To Earth describes the reported recovery as between one-tenth and one-sixth of the country's plastic waste; the base year for that comparison is not given.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

    Carbon and conservation finance

    Offset
    Using carbon credits to balance emissions released elsewhere, so that a buyer can claim lower or zero net emissions.