Cases / Tree planting · Philippines · 2015–2019
State auditors reported 61% survival for Philippine tree planting, 2015-2019
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Reviewing 2015-2019 tree planting by the environment department, state auditors reported a 61 per cent survival rate. Whether the planting restored forest is not stated in the sources reviewed.
What?
State auditors reported 61 per cent survival for trees planted under the environment department's 2015-2019 tree-planting programme. Inquirer
Where?
Philippines, national programme; areas not stated Inquirer
When?
Audit covers 2015-2019 planting Inquirer
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Hectares and seedlings planted were counted, and seedling survival was reported by the auditors. Inquirer
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who
What happened
The record, in order.
State auditors reviewing tree planting by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources for 2015-2019 reported hectares and seedling numbers and a 61 per cent survival rate, as reported by the Inquirer.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: auditors found that 88.17 per cent of 2011-2019 targets were not met; this is cited second-hand and the audit itself could not be checked.
- Disputed The audit period differs between sources (2015-2019 and 2011-2019).
- None on record Hectares planted, seedling counts and programme costs are not stated in the sources reviewed.
- None on record Who was paid for planting is not stated.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers