Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Mining · Tanzania · 2019

Tanzania fines Acacia Mining USD 2.4 million over alleged North Mara pollution

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

Tanzania fined Acacia Mining USD 2.4 million in 2019 over an alleged leak from the North Mara mine. Barrick says it later invested USD 65 million in treatment.

What?
A USD 2.4 million fine for alleged leakage from the North Mara mine in Tanzania. The EastAfrican
Where?
North Mara mine, Tanzania. The EastAfrican
When?
2019, as reported by The EastAfrican. The EastAfrican
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Tanzanian authorities fined the operator over an alleged leak; Barrick says it then invested USD 65 million in treatment. The EastAfrican
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who

What happened

The record, in order.

The EastAfrican reported in 2019 that Tanzania fined Acacia Mining USD 2.4 million over an alleged leak from the North Mara mine.

Barrick says it later invested USD 65 million in treatment; this figure is the company's own statement.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: the USD 65 million treatment investment rests on Barrick's own statement.
    • None on record A Swahili-language search returned no usable record for the case, so the record rests on one news article.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not say what was measured, how long the leak lasted or what harm resulted.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the fine was paid or appealed.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.