Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / War and military activity · Libya · 2014–2026

Oil-facility fires and leaks in Libya's conflict: Es Sider, Ras Lanuf, Zawiya

Nature's voice · report
Of 20 samples taken from my offshore waters, shoreline and groundwater near the Zawiya refinery, offshore stations AS7 and AS8 showed the highest total petroleum hydrocarbon (TPH) concentrations, up to 43 mg/L, according to a 2026 study in AJBAS by Rtemi et al.
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record.
Recorded
  • Two of my groundwater wells, AG2 and AG6, showed elevated TPH with oxygen depletion in that study. AJBAS (Academy)
  • The authors wrote that nickel and vanadium enrichment 'supports refinery-related sources' and that contamination disperses horizontally offshore and migrates vertically into the shallow aquifer. AJBAS (Academy)
  • In January 2016 the National Oil Corporation described the smoke and fires at Ras Lanuf as an 'environmental catastrophe'. Yahoo News (Reuters)
  • In May 2025 a stream of leaked oil ran into my desert south of Zawiya, and the NOC said it was arranging to recover the oil and address any resulting pollution. Pipeline & Gas Journal (Reuters)
What the record lacks: 5 none on record · 2 not disclosed · 1 not measured · 1 disputed · 1 unclear See the gaps

Libya's National Oil Corporation and Reuters reported fires at oil storage tanks at Es Sider and Ras Lanuf in 2014–2018 and gunfire damage, a pipeline leak and drone-attack fires at Zawiya in 2024–2026. A 2026 study of Zawiya refinery sampling reported hydrocarbon concentrations of up to 43 mg/L offshore.

US$213 million estimateEs Sider storage fire, December 2014: total damage including lost oil
Estimate by Al-Mabrook al-Buseif, top oil official of the recognised government, to Reuters; the fire destroyed up to 1.8 million barrels of crude.

Status As of August 2026: drone attacks on the Zawiya oil complex on 9–11 August 2026 caused a gasoline tank to collapse after a fire; no group claimed responsibility.

What?
Oil storage tanks burned at Es Sider (2014) and Ras Lanuf (2016, 2018), Zawiya refinery tanks were damaged by gunfire (2024), a pipeline south of Zawiya leaked (2025) and drone attacks caused a fire at the Zawiya oil complex (2026), in each case as attributed by the sources. MarineLink (Reuters)
Where?
Es Sider terminal and Ras Lanuf on the Gulf of Sirte coast; Zawiya refinery, 40 km west of Tripoli, and the pipeline south of Zawiya. Pipeline & Gas Journal (Reuters)
When?
Late December 2014; January 2016; 14–17 June 2018; 15 December 2024; 24 May 2025; 9–11 August 2026. MarineLink (Reuters)
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
  • Libya's oil sector — Es Sider damage including lost oil estimated at US$213 million (2014); Ras Lanuf storage capacity down from 950,000 to 550,000 barrels (2018) MarineLink (Reuters)
  • Petroleum Facilities Guards — At least 18 dead in clashes at Ras Lanuf in early January 2016 (Reuters) Yahoo News (Reuters)
Harmed
  • Offshore waters and groundwater near the Zawiya refinery — TPH up to 43 mg/L offshore and elevated TPH in two groundwater wells (2026 study) AJBAS (Academy)
  • Desert south of Zawiya — A stream of leaked oil, May 2025 (NOC) Pipeline & Gas Journal (Reuters)
Why?
The fires and damage occurred during armed conflict; each source names the party it attributes them to, and the cause of the May 2025 leak was not stated. Pipeline & Gas Journal (Reuters)
How?
Fires followed a rocket hit (Es Sider 2014), militant attacks (Ras Lanuf 2016, 2018), gunfire from clashes (Zawiya 2024) and drone attacks (Zawiya 2026), as reported by Reuters and the NOC. Al-Monitor (Reuters)
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

In late December 2014 a fire at the Es Sider terminal's storage tanks, reported after a rocket hit, destroyed 'up to 1.8 million barrels of crude', according to Al-Mabrook al-Buseif, the top oil official of the recognised government, who told Reuters that 'Total damage, including lost oil, is estimated at $213 million'. The fire was extinguished by 2 January 2015 (MarineLink, citing Reuters).

In January 2016 Reuters reported attacks on Es Sider and Ras Lanuf. National Oil Corporation (NOC) spokesman Mohamed al-Harari said that Islamic State militants set four tanks on fire at Ras Lanuf on 21 January 2016. About two weeks earlier, clashes with Petroleum Facilities Guards had left seven tanks fire-damaged and at least 18 guards dead; at least 1.3 million barrels were lost earlier, with up to 3 million barrels at risk, according to Reuters. The NOC described the smoke and fires as an 'environmental catastrophe' and blamed the guards' 'intransigence' for blocking a tanker loading. An Islamic State fighter named Es Sider and Ras Lanuf as targets in a Telegram video.

Between 14 and 17 June 2018 tanks 12 and 2 at Ras Lanuf were on fire during an attack announced by Ibrahim Jathran. The NOC said storage capacity fell from 950,000 to 550,000 barrels and called on Jathran to withdraw; it put the immediate production loss at 240,000 barrels a day, possibly 400,000 bpd, and said Jathran's earlier blockades had cost Libya tens of billions of dollars in export revenue. The Libyan National Army (LNA) accused the Benghazi Defence Brigades of taking part, the head of the Government of National Accord condemned the attack, and Jathran said he would hand the ports to the Government of National Accord and the NOC.

On 15 December 2024 the NOC stated that it 'regretfully declares a force majeure and level three (the highest) emergency' after clashes near the Zawiya refinery, where several tanks were 'significantly damaged' by gunfire from light and medium weapons; fires and gas leaks were brought under control. It said the situation put workers and the surrounding population at 'considerable and unpredictable risk', urged keeping oil facilities out of conflict and called on the Government of National Unity to intervene. The statement gave no tank counts or quantities.

On 24 May 2025 a pipeline leak south of Zawiya shut the pipeline feeding the refinery. The NOC posted a picture of 'a stream of leaked oil in the desert', flow from the Hamada fields was halted, and the NOC said arrangements were under way 'to recover the leaked oil and address any resulting environmental pollution'; cause and volume were not stated. On 9–11 August 2026 drone attacks hit the Zawiya oil complex; a tank holding about 4.5 million litres of gasoline collapsed after a fire. No group claimed the attacks, and Prime Minister Dbeibah said the strikes 'will not go unanswered' (Reuters via Al-Monitor).

  1. 2014Es Sider storage fire after a rocket hit (late December)
  2. 2015Es Sider fire extinguished (by 2 Jan)
  3. 2016Clashes at Ras Lanuf leave seven tanks fire-damaged (early January); four tanks set on fire (21 Jan)
  4. 2018Ras Lanuf tanks on fire during an attack (14–17 Jun)
  5. 2024Zawiya refinery tanks damaged by gunfire; NOC declares force majeure (15 Dec)
  6. 2025Pipeline leak south of Zawiya (24 May)
  7. 2026Drone attacks on the Zawiya oil complex (9–11 Aug)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“Total damage, including lost oil, is estimated at $213 million”

Al-Mabrook al-Buseif, top oil official of the recognised government, to Reuters · December 2014 · MarineLink (Reuters)

“environmental catastrophe”

National Oil Corporation, on smoke and fires at Ras Lanuf (Reuters) · January 2016 · Yahoo News (Reuters)

“regretfully declares a force majeure and level three (the highest) emergency”

“considerable and unpredictable risk”

“a stream of leaked oil in the desert”

“will not go unanswered”

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Parties named in connection with the June 2018 attack on the Ras Lanuf area
Company or project
National Oil Corporation

Called on Ibrahim Jathran, who had announced the attack, to withdraw; put storage capacity at 550,000 barrels after the fires, down from 950,000.

Africanews (Reuters)
Government and regulators
Libyan National Army (LNA)

Accused the Benghazi Defence Brigades of taking part.

Africanews (Reuters)
Government and regulators
Head of the Government of National Accord

Condemned the attack.

Africanews (Reuters)
Communities and civil society
Ibrahim Jathran

Said he would hand the ports to the Government of National Accord and the NOC.

Africanews (Reuters)

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • Fire destroyed up to 1.8 million barrels of crude at Es Sider; total damage including lost oil estimated at US$213 million.
    Al-Mabrook al-Buseif, top oil official of the recognised government, to Reuters, December 2014 · MarineLink (Reuters)
  • Islamic State militants set four tanks on fire at Ras Lanuf.
    NOC spokesman Mohamed al-Harari, 21 January 2016 · Yahoo News (Reuters)
  • Storage capacity at Ras Lanuf fell from 950,000 to 550,000 barrels.
    National Oil Corporation, June 2018 · Africanews (Reuters)

Recorded

  • Zawiya study (AJBAS, 2026): offshore stations AS7 and AS8 had the highest TPH concentrations, up to 43 mg/L; groundwater wells AG2 and AG6 had elevated TPH with oxygen depletion.
  • NOC (15 December 2024): several Zawiya tanks significantly damaged by gunfire; fires and gas leaks under control; force majeure declared.
  • Reuters (11 August 2026): a Zawiya tank holding about 4.5 million litres of gasoline collapsed after a fire following drone attacks; no group claimed them.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
Cleanup cost, fine or compensation for pollution—
None on record for any of these events.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Es Sider storage fire, total damage including lost oil (December 2014 estimate)$213m
Window: 2014
Currency: USD · Window: mixed — see each line. Figures cover different periods and are not compared as a ratio. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • noc-libya (15 December 2024): Declared force majeure and a level three emergency at Zawiya, called the risk to workers and the population considerable and unpredictable, urged keeping oil facilities out of conflict and called on the Government of National Unity to intervene. · National Oil Corporation (Libya)
  • noc-libya (May 2025): Posted a picture of leaked oil in the desert south of Zawiya and said arrangements were under way to recover the oil and address any resulting pollution. · Pipeline & Gas Journal (Reuters)

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Crude destroyed at Es Sider
up to 1.8 million barrels
December 2014, according to the recognised government's top oil official
Highest hydrocarbon concentration offshore of Zawiya refinery
up to 43 mg/L
TPH at stations AS7 and AS8, 2026 study; sampling date not stated
Gasoline tank collapsed after fire
about 4.5 million litres
Zawiya, August 2026 (Reuters)
Cleanup cost, fine or compensation
None on record

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Money

  • None on record Cleanup cost, fine or compensation for pollution — None on record for any of these events.

Court

Accounts

  • Disputed Parties named in connection with the June 2018 attack on the Ras Lanuf area

Record

  • Not measured Not measured: air, soil or marine data for the Ras Lanuf and Es Sider fires.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the sampling date of the Zawiya refinery study, and whether it relates to the 2024–2026 incidents.
  • Not disclosed Not disclosed: the cause and volume of the May 2025 pipeline leak south of Zawiya, and tank counts or quantities in the NOC's December 2024 statement.
  • Unclear Unclear: the party responsible for the December 2014 Es Sider fire.
  • None on record None on record: a cleanup cost, fine or compensation for pollution for any of these events.
  • None on record None on record: court cases or formal charges tied to the fires.
  • None on record None on record: insurance.

Did the harm stop?

The Es Sider fire was extinguished by 2 January 2015 and the Zawiya fires and gas leaks were brought under control on 15 December 2024 (NOC); further incidents followed in May 2025 and August 2026.

Who paid?

None on record. No cleanup cost, fine or compensation for pollution is on record for these events. Damage including lost oil at Es Sider in December 2014 was estimated at US$213 million by the recognised government's top oil official.

Sources

Voices on record: ✓ Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society✓ Researchers

Company or project

  1. Statement of NOC on clashes near Zawiya refinery
    National Oil Corporation (Libya) · 2024-12-15

Press and investigations

  1. Libyan Port Fire Destroys 1.8m Barrels of Crude
    MarineLink (Reuters) · 2014-12-30
  2. Oil leak shuts pipeline feeding Libya's largest refinery
    Pipeline & Gas Journal (Reuters) · 2025-05-31

Science and environment

Groundwater
Water held underground in soil and rock, drawn through wells.

Law and courts

Force majeure
An extraordinary event outside anyone's control, such as extreme weather, that can excuse liability.
War and military activity · Oil, gas and coal operations · Burning: incineration, open burning, flaring, fires · Sudan · 2023–2025
Al-Jaili refinery fires and wartime damage in Khartoum, 2023–2025
Same type: War and military activity, Oil, gas and coal operations, Burning: incineration, open burning, flaring, firesSame region
War and military activity · Oil, gas and coal operations · Burning: incineration, open burning, flaring, fires · Iran · 2025–2026
Strikes on Iranian oil and gas facilities, June 2025 and March 2026, and damage at Qatar's Ras Laffan
Same type: War and military activity, Oil, gas and coal operations, Burning: incineration, open burning, flaring, fires
War and military activity · Oil, gas and coal operations · Burning: incineration, open burning, flaring, fires · Iran · 2025–2026
Strikes on Tehran fuel depots, March 2026: smoke, black rain and Iran's "ecocide" claim
Same type: War and military activity, Oil, gas and coal operations, Burning: incineration, open burning, flaring, fires
War and military activity · Oil, gas and coal operations · Burning: incineration, open burning, flaring, fires · Ukraine · 2022
Fuel-depot fires at Kalynivka, Kriachky and Lutsk, 2022
Same type: War and military activity, Oil, gas and coal operations, Burning: incineration, open burning, flaring, fires
Oil spill · Oil, gas and coal operations · Chad · 2013–2015
CNPC crude dumping in the Bongor basin: US$1.2 billion fine and US$400 million settlement
Same type: Oil spill, Oil, gas and coal operationsSame region
Oil, gas and coal operations · Oil spill · Niger · 2026
Goumeri W-8 well eruption at the Agadem oil block, Niger (2026)
Same type: Oil, gas and coal operations, Oil spillSame region