Hebei Spirit oil spill
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
An oil spill from the Hebei Spirit off Taean, South Korea, on 7 December 2007 produced claims of KRW 4,227 billion. The compensation limit under the international conventions was KRW 321.6 billion, and the Korean state paid the remaining claims.
IOPC Funds figures. The limit available under the 1992 Conventions was KRW 321.6bn.
Status As of the latest IOPC Funds document in the record (November 2020): the limitation fund had been distributed and the Korean state was paying the remaining claims; no later update was found.
- Samsung Heavy Industries — Its exposure to the 1992 Fund's KRW 134.8bn recourse claim is limited to its KRW 5.6bn limitation fund IOPC Funds
- Claimants — 127,483 claims for KRW 4,227bn; the court awarded KRW 432.9bn IOPC Funds
- Korean state — Paid the remaining claims IOPC Funds
What happened
On 7 December 2007 the Hebei Spirit oil spill occurred off Taean, South Korea. The sources available give no cause, volume of oil or ecological measurements for the spill.
According to an IOPC Funds document of November 2020, 127,483 claims were filed for KRW 4,227 billion. The IOPC Funds summary records that the court awarded KRW 432.9 billion.
Compensation was handled under the international tanker-pollution system: the shipowner's insurer under the 1992 Civil Liability Convention, then the 1992 Fund, with an optional Supplementary Fund above that. The amount available under the 1992 Conventions was KRW 321.6 billion: Skuld KRW 186.8 billion and the 1992 Fund KRW 134.8 billion, described as paid in full. The owner's limitation fund, KRW 230.9 billion including interest, was distributed in September 2019.
In April 2019 the 1992 Fund passed its remaining KRW 27.5 billion to the Korean government, which pays the remaining claims. The Fund's KRW 134.8 billion recourse claim against Samsung Heavy Industries sits within that company's KRW 5.6 billion limitation fund.
- 20077 December: oil spill off Taean, South Korea
- 2017IOPC Funds marks ten years since the incident (7 December)
- 2019Fund passes its remaining KRW 27.5bn to the Korean government (April); owner's limitation fund of KRW 230.9bn distributed (September)
- 2020IOPC Funds document records 127,483 claims for KRW 4,227bn and that the Korean state pays the remaining claims
What was said
Where accounts differ
Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.
KRW 321.6bn was available under the 1992 Conventions (Skuld KRW 186.8bn, 1992 Fund KRW 134.8bn) against claims of KRW 4,227bn; the court awarded KRW 432.9bn; the Korean state pays the remaining claims.
IOPC FundsIts liability on the Fund's KRW 134.8bn recourse claim is limited to its KRW 5.6bn limitation fund (as described by the IOPC Funds).
IOPC FundsHow it looked
Shown
Recorded
- Claims filed: 127,483, for KRW 4,227bn.
- The court awarded KRW 432.9bn.
- Amount available under the 1992 Conventions: KRW 321.6bn (SDR 203m), made up of Skuld KRW 186.8bn and the 1992 Fund KRW 134.8bn; described as paid in full.
- The owner's limitation fund, KRW 230.9bn including interest, was distributed in September 2019.
- In April 2019 the Fund passed its remaining KRW 27.5bn to the government, which pays the remaining claims; the Korean state paid the remaining claims.
- The Fund's KRW 134.8bn recourse claim against Samsung Heavy Industries is within SHI's KRW 5.6bn limitation fund.
- The IOPC Funds said in December 2017 that it had paid about KRW 107bn on more than 127,000 claims, alongside Skuld's KRW 186.8bn.
Who gained
Reached nature or the ground
Gained elsewhere
Responses on record
- IOPC Funds (April 2019 (reported November 2020)): In April 2019 the Fund passed its remaining KRW 27.5bn to the government, which pays the remaining claims; the Fund's KRW 134.8bn recourse claim against Samsung Heavy Industries sits within SHI's KRW 5.6bn limitation fund. · IOPC Funds
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
- not statedClaimant wonKRW 432.9bn Awarded by the court (KRW million), against KRW 4,227,000 million claimedCompensation claims for the Hebei Spirit spillKorean court proceedings and the 1992 Fund claims process · Civil · 127,483 claimants → Shipowner, its insurer Skuld and the 1992 Fund
Claims of KRW 4,227bn were filed and the court awarded KRW 432.9bn. KRW 321.6bn was available under the 1992 Conventions and paid; the Korean state paid the remaining claims. IOPC Funds
- not statedOutcome not on recordKRW 134.8bn Recourse claim (KRW million)1992 Fund recourse claim against Samsung Heavy IndustriesSamsung Heavy Industries limitation fund · Civil · 1992 Fund (IOPC Funds) → Samsung Heavy Industries
The Fund's KRW 134.8bn recourse claim is within SHI's KRW 5.6bn limitation fund. IOPC Funds
Insurers
- 2019PaidKRW 186.8bn Skuld's share of the KRW 321.6bn limit (KRW million)Skuld → Owner of the Hebei Spirit
Skuld's KRW 186.8bn and the 1992 Fund's KRW 134.8bn made up the KRW 321.6bn available under the 1992 Conventions, described as paid in full. The owner's limitation fund, KRW 230.9bn including interest, was distributed in September 2019. IOPC Funds
What nature saw
Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Court
- Unclear 1992 Fund recourse claim against Samsung Heavy Industries: outcome not on record.
Accounts
- Disputed How much should have been paid, and by whom?
Record
- None on record the sources reviewed's sources give no volume of oil spilled, length of coast affected or other ecological measurements.
- Insufficient The court's figure is given as KRW 432.9bn in the IOPC Funds summary; a separate note cites KRW 736bn as the court's assessment of the loss. That second figure is unverified, and the record does not reconcile the two.
- Disputed The 1992 Fund's payment is given as about KRW 107bn in December 2017 and as KRW 134.8bn in November 2020; the record does not explain the difference.
- None on record The owner's side is given as KRW 186.8bn (Skuld's share of the KRW 321.6bn) and as an owner's limitation fund of KRW 230.9bn including interest; the record does not reconcile the two figures.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: payment levels were set at 60% in March 2008 and cut to 35% in June 2008; Korea joined the Supplementary Fund in May 2010, after the incident.
- Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: Korea passed a special law under which the state bears approved damage above the cap.
- None on record The final payment level to claimants is not given in the record.
Did the harm stop?
The spill was a single event on 7 December 2007. Payments were still being made by the Korean state in November 2020.
Who paid?
Claims up to KRW 321.6bn were paid by the shipowner's insurer Skuld and the 1992 Fund; the Korean state paid the remaining claims.
Sources
International bodies
- Hebei Spirit incident: IOPC/NOV20/3/4IOPC Funds · 2020-11
- 10 years since the Hebei SpiritIOPC Funds · 2017-12-07
- IOPC document IOPC/APR16/3/5IOPC Funds · 2016-04
Connected cases
- Amoco Cadiz oil spill (France) France · 1978–1992
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit; there: International oil pollution compensation funds (Erika, Sea Empress and Tasman Spirit are in the same heading)
- Erika oil spill France · 1999–2012
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit; there: International compensation fund (1992 Fund)
- Greenpeace says AI chip production emissions rose to 453,600 tonnes by 2024 Taiwan · 2023–2024
- Government of South Korea (Government) — here: Paid the remaining claims; there: Approved the LNG plant for SK hynix
- Gulfstream oil spill (Tobago) Trinidad and Tobago · 2024–2026
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit; there: Compensation body paying claims for the Gulfstream spill (1992 Fund)
- Liberian-flagged vessel Sea Empress spills oil at Milford Haven, Wales, in 1996 United Kingdom · 1996
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit; there: published the compensation table
- Prestige Spain · 2002–2026
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit; there: 1992 Fund; paid €147.9m
- Princess Empress oil spill (Philippines) Philippines · 2023–2025
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit; there: 1992 Fund; paid claims together with the Shipowners' Club
- Tasman Spirit oil spill (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2003–2004
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit; there: International compensation regime; Pakistan not a member
- Torrey Canyon spill and creation of the IOPC Funds United Kingdom · 1967–2026
- International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) (International organisation) — here: Administers the 1992 Fund; paid KRW 134.8bn within the KRW 321.6bn limit; there: Administers the 1992 Fund and Supplementary Fund; pays claims above the shipowner's limit