Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Oil spill · South Africa · 2019–2026

SIU probes Rooiwal plant tender paid before work was finished

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
What the record lacks: 4 none on record · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

The Daily Maverick reported that a tender of about 295 million rand for Tshwane's Rooiwal plant, awarded to a Sodi-linked joint venture, was paid before the work was finished. At stake is safe drinking water in Hammanskraal, where a cholera outbreak occurred and Tshwane pays private tankers 8.5 million rand a month.

What?
A tender of about 295 million rand for the Rooiwal plant, paid before completion, and monthly payments to private tankers in Hammanskraal. Daily Maverick
Where?
Hammanskraal, Tshwane, Gauteng, South Africa Daily Maverick
When?
Investigation from September 2023; tanker payments reported July 2024; police units reported March 2026 Daily Maverick
Who?
Gained
  • Sodi-linked joint venture — Awarded the Rooiwal tender, which was paid before completion Daily Maverick
  • Private tanker operators — Paid 8.5 million rand a month for 44 tankers in Hammanskraal EWN
Lost
  • Tshwane municipality — Paid for the Rooiwal tender before completion, and for tankers at about 450 million rand a year citywide EWN
Harmed
  • Hammanskraal residents — Affected by the cholera outbreak and undrinkable water; the sources give no count
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Tender awarded to a joint venture and paid before completion; the SIU found irregular scoring by officials. Sowetan
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

The Daily Maverick reported in September 2023 that President Ramaphosa had launched a Special Investigating Unit (SIU) probe of a tender of about 295 million rand for the Rooiwal plant, awarded to a Sodi-linked joint venture and paid before the work was finished.

The Sowetan reported in January 2025 that the SIU wanted disciplinary action against 12 officials over irregular scoring, and that Sodi was on trial over a 255 million rand asbestos tender.

EWN reported in July 2024 that Tshwane pays 44 private tankers in Hammanskraal 8.5 million rand a month, and 450 million rand a year citywide.

IOL The Post reported in March 2026 that the South African Police Service set up dedicated units to combat water tanker mafias that exploit municipal supply disruptions.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    1. Ongoing
      Trial over 255 million rand asbestos tender
      Not named in the sources reviewed · unknown · State (not named in the sources reviewed) → Sodi

      The Sowetan reported in January 2025 that Sodi was on trial over a 255 million rand asbestos tender. No verdict is recorded in the sources reviewed. Sowetan

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: allegations of payments to the ANC, which the sources say rest on a newspaper column.
    • None on record Not reported in the sources reviewed: whether any of the money paid has been recovered.
    • None on record The case table gives 292 million rand as paid before completion, while the Daily Maverick gives about 295 million as the tender value; the reviewed sources do not reconcile the two.
    • None on record Not reported in the sources reviewed: the official cause of the cholera outbreak; a link to the tender is not established.
    • None on record No conviction is recorded in the reviewed sources for Sodi or for any official.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers