Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Carbon credits · Canada · 2025–2030

Gigablue and Planetary Technologies ocean carbon credits

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured. Disputed
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 2 none on record · 1 not disclosed · 1 insufficient · 1 not measured · 1 disputed · 1 unclear See the gaps
Accounts of the harm differ
How credible is Gigablue's method, and is it ocean fertilisation?
  • Researchers Thomas Kiørboe, Technical University of Denmark: “Typical phytoplankton do not grow on surfaces.” Fortune (via AP)
  • Company or project Gigablue: “We are not fertilizing the ocean.” Fortune (via AP)

Two ocean carbon-removal companies sold credits in 2025: Gigablue (Israel) 200,000 credits to an aviation-focused buyer, and Planetary Technologies (Canada) credits to technology companies and an airline. A Danish scientist questioned Gigablue's method; the company said it was not fertilising the ocean.

200,000 credits estimateLargest ocean carbon-removal credit sale reported (Gigablue, per CDR.fyi)
Price undisclosed. Planetary Technologies' Frontier offtake: 115,211 credits for $31.3m, deliveries 2026–2030 (estimate: about $271 per credit).

Status As of the latest sources in the record (AP, 3 July 2025, and the Frontier schedule to 2030): Gigablue's 200,000-credit sale had been reported with verification still based on a draft methodology; Planetary Technologies had 625.6 credits issued and a Frontier offtake with deliveries scheduled for 2026–2030.

What?
Two ocean carbon-removal companies sold credits: Gigablue 200,000 credits to an aviation-focused company, and Planetary Technologies 625.6 issued credits plus a 115,211-credit Frontier offtake. Fortune (via AP)
Where?
Gigablue: trials in the Mediterranean and off New Zealand. Planetary Technologies: Nova Scotia and Halifax; a planned trial at St Ives, United Kingdom, was cancelled.
When?
2025 sales and issuance; Frontier deliveries scheduled for 2026–2030. Carbon Herald
Who?
Gained
  • Gigablue — Sold 200,000 credits; price undisclosed Fortune (via AP)
  • Planetary Technologies — Frontier offtake of 115,211 credits for $31.3m, deliveries 2026–2030 Carbon Herald
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Ocean carbon-dioxide-removal credits are sold to companies, including an aviation-focused buyer and an airline. Fortune (via AP)
How?
Gigablue's credits are to be verified under a draft Puro.earth methodology co-designed with the company. Planetary's credits were issued through the Isometric registry, and the Frontier offtake is a forward purchase. Fortune (via AP)
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Gigablue, an Israeli company with trials in the Mediterranean and off New Zealand, sold 200,000 carbon credits to SkiesFifty, an aviation-focused company. According to CDR.fyi, as reported by the Associated Press on 3 July 2025, it was the largest sale of ocean carbon-dioxide-removal credits. The price was not disclosed.

Gigablue described the formula of the particles it uses as proprietary. Verification of the credits is to use a draft Puro.earth methodology that was co-designed with Gigablue. Thomas Kiørboe of the Technical University of Denmark told the AP: “Typical phytoplankton do not grow on surfaces.” Gigablue said: “We are not fertilizing the ocean.”

Planetary Technologies, a company based in Nova Scotia that works on ocean alkalinity enhancement, had 625.6 credits issued through the Isometric registry. The buyers were Stripe, Shopify and British Airways. Carbon Herald reported the issuance as the first ocean alkalinity enhancement credits verified by Isometric. Separately, Planetary signed an offtake agreement with Frontier, a buyers' coalition, for 115,211 credits at $31.3m, with deliveries between 2026 and 2030.

The record also shows Planetary cancelling a trial planned at St Ives, in the United Kingdom, after local opposition, including a protest of about 300 people.

  1. 2025Planetary Technologies has 625.6 credits issued through Isometric to Stripe, Shopify and British Airways
  2. 20253 July: AP reports Gigablue's sale of 200,000 credits and scientists' doubts
  3. 2026Start of the delivery window for Frontier's 115,211-credit offtake from Planetary Technologies (2026–2030)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“Typical phytoplankton do not grow on surfaces.”

Thomas Kiørboe, Technical University of Denmark · July 2025 · Fortune (via AP)

“We are not fertilizing the ocean.”

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

How credible is Gigablue's method, and is it ocean fertilisation?
Researchers
Thomas Kiørboe, Technical University of Denmark

“Typical phytoplankton do not grow on surfaces.”

Fortune (via AP)
Company or project
Gigablue

“We are not fertilizing the ocean.”

Fortune (via AP)

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • Sale of 200,000 credits, described as the largest ocean carbon-dioxide-removal sale
    CDR.fyi, as reported by the AP · Fortune (via AP)
  • Planetary's credits presented as the first ocean alkalinity enhancement credits verified by Isometric
    Carbon Herald (headline) · Carbon Herald

Recorded

  • Gigablue's particle formula is described as proprietary; verification is to use a draft Puro.earth methodology co-designed with Gigablue.
  • Planetary Technologies: 625.6 credits issued through the Isometric registry to Stripe, Shopify and British Airways.
  • Frontier offtake from Planetary: 115,211 credits for $31.3m, with deliveries in 2026–2030.
  • Frontier describes itself as a public-benefit limited liability company. Members commit at least $10m and pay an annual fee of 0.5–2%. Frontier negotiates the price, and all members pay the same; supplier review and acceptance of deliveries also sit with Frontier.
  • Puro.earth charges its service fee to the supplier, per credit, when the credit is first sold (from October 2024); the per-credit fee falls from €10 to €0.40 across 37 volume tiers, with a fixed €12,000 for up to 1,000 credits.
  • Isometric states that it charges only the buyer, a fixed fee that does not depend on the number of credits. An independent assessment of this model was not found.
  • Planetary Technologies cancelled a trial planned at St Ives, United Kingdom, after local opposition; a protest of about 300 people is recorded.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
No figure published.

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Currency: USD · Window: 2025–2030. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Gigablue verification
Draft methodology
Verification is to use a draft Puro.earth methodology co-designed with Gigablue (AP, July 2025)
Planetary credits issued
625.6
Through the Isometric registry; buyers Stripe, Shopify, British Airways

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

  • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
  • Disputed How credible is Gigablue's method, and is it ocean fertilisation?

Court

Record

  • Not disclosed The price of Gigablue's 200,000-credit sale: not disclosed.
  • None on record The composition of Gigablue's particles: the formula is described as proprietary.
  • Insufficient Reported but not independently verified: a Carbon Pulse headline stating that over 90% of marine carbon-removal credits had yet to be delivered to their buyers. Only the headline was seen; the article text was not accessed.
  • Unclear Planetary Technologies' own spending or margin on the Frontier offtake: not stated in the sources.

Did the harm stop?

Not applicable: the sources describe credit sales and verification arrangements and do not report physical harm.

Who paid?

Gigablue: price undisclosed. Planetary Technologies: Frontier's members agreed to pay $31.3m for deliveries scheduled for 2026–2030.

Sources

Voices on record: ✓ Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers✓ Standard-setters and registries

Company or project

  1. How to participate
    Frontier · 2026

Standard-setters and registries

  1. Puro.earth fees
    Puro.earth · undated
  2. Aligning incentives
    Isometric · 2023-12-08

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Carbon and conservation finance

Carbon credit
A certificate representing one tonne of carbon dioxide (or equivalent) that a project says it reduced, avoided or removed. Buyers use credits to balance their own emissions in climate claims.
Standard-setter and registry
An organisation that writes the rules for carbon credits, approves projects, and records when credits are issued and retired. Such bodies typically charge fees per credit.