Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Agriculture, livestock and food · Australia · 2024

City of Greater Geraldton ends food-organics kerbside trial

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 1 none on record · 1 not measured See the gaps

The City of Greater Geraldton ended its food-organics kerbside collection trial in June 2024, reporting contamination of 18% and participation of 58%. The contamination figure bears on whether food scraps collected at the kerb can be composted cleanly.

What?
The City of Greater Geraldton ended its food-organics kerbside collection trial in June 2024. City of Greater Geraldton
Where?
Geraldton, Western Australia City of Greater Geraldton
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Kerbside collection of food organics, with contamination and participation measured during the trial City of Greater Geraldton
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who

What happened

The record, in order.

The City of Greater Geraldton reported that its food-organics kerbside trial ended in June 2024.

The City reported contamination of 18% and participation of 58% during the trial.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • None on record The sources reviewed do not say why the trial ended, how large the trial area was, or what happened to the collected material.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    1. FOGO trial ends
      City of Greater Geraldton · 2024-06