Cases / Oil, gas and coal operations · Japan · 2013
Fukushima decontamination contracts went to Kajima, Taisei, Obayashi and Maeda ventures
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
J-Cast reported in January 2013 that decontamination contracts had gone to four joint ventures and that claims of shoddy work followed. The work was meant to clean up radioactive soil and water from the 2011 accident.
What?
Decontamination contracts in Fukushima were awarded to joint ventures of four construction firms, and claims of shoddy work were reported. J-Cast
Where?
Fukushima, Japan. J-Cast
When?
Reported in January 2013. J-Cast
Who?
Gained
- Kajima joint venture — Decontamination contract (33 oku yen as reported) J-Cast
- Taisei joint venture — Decontamination contract (77 oku yen as reported) J-Cast
- Obayashi joint venture — Decontamination contract (43 oku yen as reported) J-Cast
- Maeda joint venture — Decontamination contract (188 oku yen as reported) J-Cast
Lost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Decontamination work was let to joint ventures of the four firms; claims of shoddy work were reported. J-Cast
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
J-Cast reported in January 2013 that decontamination contracts had gone to joint ventures of Kajima, Taisei, Obayashi and Maeda.
The same J-Cast report described claims of shoddy decontamination work.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a 650 billion yen decontamination budget went to joint ventures led by Taisei, Kajima, Obayashi and Maeda (Asahi).
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Asahi reported that radioactive waste was dumped into rivers, that reports were filled with fake photographs, and that yakuza links were found among workers.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a government panel raised the Fukushima cleanup cost estimate to about 22 trillion yen (Phys.org, December 2016).
- None on record Not known: whether any individual was penalised; the sources reviewed give no figures.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- 手抜き除染の「実態」J-Cast · 2013-01-08