European development banks financed Feronia palm plantations in Congo
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
FMO and other European development banks invested $100 million to $200 million from 2013 in Feronia/PHC palm plantations in DR Congo. Nine communities seek the return of their land, and the sources reviewed do not measure forest loss.
- Feronia/PHC — Development-bank investment for palm plantations; claims an area of over 100,000 hectares Trouw
- Nine communities — Seeking the return of land they want back from the plantations Trouw
- A human rights defender (not named) — Killed in July 2019; Trouw does not link the killing to the plantations Trouw
What happened
Trouw reported in October 2019 that FMO and other European development banks invested $100 million to $200 million from 2013 in Feronia/PHC palm plantations, of which about 25,000 hectares are planted.
Trouw reported that the company says the area it claims is over 100,000 hectares, and that nine communities want their land back.
Trouw also reported that a human rights defender was killed in July 2019.
FMO's complaints mechanism accepted a complaint about Feronia in 2019, and FMO stayed invested in the plantations (Trouw; TNI).
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: Feronia says it holds 25-year renewable leases.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the plantations come from a 1911 Belgian colonial concession to a Lever company, and were held by Unilever until 2009.
- None on record Not established: whether the July 2019 killing was linked to the plantations; the sources reviewed do not say.
- None on record Not found: forest loss or land-use change figures for the plantations.
- None on record Not found: a TNI briefing link in the reviewed material; the TNI reference has no public link.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Trouw (Erik van Zwam) on FMO and Feronia/PHCTrouw · 2019-10-15
Connected cases
- Barro Blanco hydro dam (Panama) Panama · 2014
- FMO (Dutch development bank) (Bank) — here: Development bank that invested in the plantations; there: Lender (USD 25 million)
- Berta Cáceres killing and Agua Zarca dam Honduras · 2013–2026
- FMO (Dutch development bank) (Bank) — here: Development bank that invested in the plantations; there: Financier (Dutch development bank)
- Corio, ABP and forest land investments (Netherlands) Netherlands · 2000–2021
- FMO (Dutch development bank) (Bank) — here: Development bank that invested in the plantations; there: Dutch development bank, 51% state-owned
- Dutch bank FMO backed a 20,000-hectare Sierra Leone sugar cane lease Sierra Leone · 2008–2015
- FMO (Dutch development bank) (Bank) — here: Development bank that invested in the plantations; there: Dutch development bank; partner in the Addax lease, withdrew around 2015