Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Water use · Australia · 2017–2020

Australian government water purchase from Eastern Australia Agriculture (Cayman-linked firm)

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 5 none on record · 1 not measured · 3 disputed · 3 unclear See the gaps

In 2017 the Australian government bought flood-water licences in Queensland from Eastern Australia Agriculture, a company whose parent was registered in the Cayman Islands, for about A$80 million as water for the environment. A minister had founded the company, and a June 2020 press report said the deal had provided no water.

A$78.9m for 28.7 GL; nonePaid for 28.7 GL of water licences; water received by 2020
Price and volume as reported by the Canberra Times (2019); other reports give about A$80m. Michael West Media reported in June 2020 that the deal had provided no water.

Status As of June 2020: an audit had examined limited-tender water purchases; the deal was reported to have provided no water; no court case or penalty is on record.

What?
The government bought flood-event water licences for about A$80 million from a company whose parent was registered in the Cayman Islands, as water for the environment; no water was received until 2020. Canberra Times
Where?
Queensland licences, bought for the Murray–Darling Basin, Australia; seller's parent registered in the Cayman Islands.
When?
Purchase approved in 2017; probe ordered in 2019; audit and reporting in 2020. Canberra Times
Who?
Gained
  • Eastern Australia Agriculture — Received A$78.9 million for 28.7 GL of licences. Canberra Times
Lost
  • Australian taxpayers — Paid about A$80 million for licences that provided no water by 2020. Michael West Media
Harmed
None on record
Why?
The purchase was presented as water for the environment.
How?
Purchase by limited tender approved by the agriculture and water minister, reported to be at nearly twice the valuer's mid-point estimate, after two earlier rejections of the deal.
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

In 2017 the Australian government, under the then Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources, Barnaby Joyce, approved the purchase of surface-water licences from Eastern Australia Agriculture (EAA) in Queensland, described as water for the environment in the Murray–Darling Basin. EAA's parent company was registered in the Cayman Islands. The purchase was made by limited tender. The Canberra Times reported the price as A$78.9 million for 28.7 gigalitres; other reports gave about A$80 million.

The licences covered only surface water flowing during floods. A press report in June 2020 said the deal had provided no water; the government received none until 2020. The government was reported to have paid nearly twice the mid-point estimate of its own valuer. The deal had been rejected twice earlier, before Joyce signed it.

Angus Taylor, who was energy minister in 2017, had founded or co-founded the company; the sources reviewed describe this differently. He said he cut his ties before entering parliament in 2013 and gained no benefit from the sale. Joyce said the opposition had also bought water from the same company; the opposition said its own purchases were made by competitive tender.

In 2019 the Canberra Times reported that the government ordered a probe into water buybacks after the controversy over Joyce. In 2020 the Australian National Audit Office (ANAO) examined limited-tender water purchases (27 transactions worth 190 million dollars, as stated, currency not specified). It found that the department had not set up a framework to ensure value for money and had given decision-makers incomplete information; the audit did not examine the merits of the purchases or anyone's motives. A Senate inquiry is also listed in the record. No penalty is recorded.

  1. 2013Angus Taylor says he cut his ties with EAA before entering parliament
  2. 2017Government approves purchase of EAA's Queensland flood-water licences by limited tender; Joyce approves; Taylor is energy minister
  3. 2019Canberra Times: government orders probe into water buybacks; reports 28.7 GL for A$78.9m and the Cayman link
  4. 2020ANAO examines limited-tender water purchases; Michael West Media reports the deal has provided no water (26 June)

What was said

Claims, in the words of those who made them.

“The $80m water deal that has provided no water”

Where accounts differ

Each party's account, side by side, with its source. The record does not settle these points; it shows them.

Did the purchase give the public value for money?
Press and investigations
Michael West Media

The A$80 million deal provided no water.

Michael West Media
Government and regulators
Audit Office (ANAO), 2020

The department had not set up a framework to ensure value for money and gave decision-makers incomplete information; the audit did not examine the merits or motives.

Was the choice of seller linked to the minister's connections?
Press and investigations
Press reporting

EAA's parent was in the Cayman Islands and the company had been founded (or co-founded) by Angus Taylor, minister of energy in 2017.

Canberra Times
Government and regulators
Angus Taylor

Cut ties before entering parliament in 2013; no benefit from the sale.

Was buying water from the same company a practice shared by both sides of politics?
Government and regulators
Barnaby Joyce, then Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources

The opposition had also bought water from the same company.

Government and regulators
Opposition

Its own purchases were made by competitive tender.

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • The purchase was presented as buying water for the environment in the Murray–Darling Basin.
    Australian government, as described in press and audit reporting

Recorded

  • The government paid A$78.9 million for 28.7 GL of licences from a company with a Cayman Islands parent, per the Canberra Times; the purchase was by limited tender.
  • The licences covered only flood-event surface flow; the government received no water until 2020.
  • The price was reported to be nearly twice the mid-point estimate of the government's own valuer.
  • The ANAO found in 2020 that the department had not set up a value-for-money framework for limited-tender water purchases and had given decision-makers incomplete information; it did not examine merits or motives.
  • No penalty is recorded.

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

Not published
No figure published.

Gained elsewhere

79m
Paid to EAA for 28.7 GL of licences (Canberra Times)79m
Currency: AUD · Window: 2017–2020. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

Responses on record

  • angus-taylor: Said he cut his ties to the company before entering parliament in 2013 and did not benefit from the sale.
  • barnaby-joyce: Said the opposition had also bought water from the same company.
  • australian-opposition: Said its own purchases from the company were made by competitive tender.

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Water delivered to the environment
None by 2020
Licences covered only flood-derived surface water (Michael West Media, 2020)
Price vs valuation
Nearly twice
Reported as nearly twice the valuer's mid-point estimate
Volume bought
28.7 GL
For A$78.9 million

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Nature

  • Not measured Harm to nature: No independent ecological evaluation is on record.

Court

Accounts

  • Disputed Did the purchase give the public value for money?
  • Disputed Was the choice of seller linked to the minister's connections?
  • Disputed Was buying water from the same company a practice shared by both sides of politics?

Record

  • None on record How much water, if any, the licences have delivered to the Murray–Darling Basin since 2020: not stated in the sources reviewed.
  • None on record The merits of and motives for the purchase: the ANAO did not examine them.
  • Unclear Whether any repayment or clawback occurred: none is on record in the sources reviewed.
  • Unclear No ruling, penalty or finding of wrongdoing against any party is recorded.
  • Unclear Whether Angus Taylor founded the company or co-founded it: the sources reviewed use both descriptions.
  • None on record The currency of the audit figure is given only as 'dollars'; the 190 million refers to 27 limited-tender transactions.
  • None on record The results of the Senate inquiry listed in the record are not described in the sources reviewed.

Did the harm stop?

Not applicable on the record: the purchase delivered no water by 2020, and the sources reviewed describe no damage to nature caused by it.

Who paid?

Australian taxpayers, who paid about A$80 million from government funds; the water for the environment, as of 2020, had not been delivered.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Bonds and banking

Delaware, Guernsey, Cayman Islands
Jurisdictions widely used to register companies, funds and accounts for legal, confidentiality and tax reasons.