Cases / Mining · Japan · 2016–2018
EIA report examines Dall's porpoise hunt in Iwate, Japan
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
An Environmental Investigation Agency report, 'Stop the Dall's Disaster', covers the Dall's porpoise hunt in Iwate, Japan, in 2016 to 2018. The sources give no verified catch figures for Iwate, so the size of the hunt is not established here.
What?
A Dall's porpoise hunt in Iwate, Japan, covered by an EIA report; catch figures are not verified. Environmental Investigation Agency
Where?
Iwate Prefecture, Japan Environmental Investigation Agency
When?
2016 to 2018, the period of the cited report Environmental Investigation Agency
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Not described in the sources reviewed.
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who
What happened
The record, in order.
The Environmental Investigation Agency published 'Stop the Dall's Disaster', which the record cites for the Iwate hunt.
The record links no other dated source for the hunt.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the report is said to show the Iwate hunt is larger and less visible than the Taiji hunt.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the Dall's porpoise catch in Japan reached 15,000 to 17,700 a year in the past.
- None on record Not stated: the current catch, the quota, or who holds the hunting licences.
- None on record Not stated: whether Japanese authorities answered the report's claims.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts— Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers
Communities and civil society
- Stop the Dall's DisasterEnvironmental Investigation Agency · 2016–18
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- HFC-23 destruction credits under the CDM (China, India) China · 2005–2019
- Environmental Investigation Agency (NGO) — here: publisher of the 'Stop the Dall's Disaster' report; there: NGO that published the 2011 press release