Cases / Law, regulation and treaties · Tanzania · 2013
Tanzania's Tokomeza anti-poaching drive: 19 deaths, four ministers removed
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Tanzania's 2013 Tokomeza operation against poaching involved 2,371 officials, including 885 soldiers and 480 police. A parliamentary committee reported 19 deaths, torture and bribery by officials, and four ministers were removed.
What?
Tanzania's Tokomeza operation, aimed at eradicating poaching, was followed by 19 reported deaths, torture and bribery by officials, and the removal of four ministers. The Citizen
Where?
Tanzania, nationwide The Citizen
When?
Operation in 2013; The Citizen reported the findings on 21 December 2013. The Citizen
Who?
Gained
- Some officials — accepted bribes to protect poachers, the committee found The Citizen
Lost
None on recordHarmed
- Civilians — 13 of the 19 reported deaths were civilians The Citizen
Why?
The operation was named for eradicating poaching; the sources reviewed give no further reason.
How?
A national operation of 2,371 officials, including soldiers and police; a parliamentary committee reviewed its conduct. The Citizen
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Tanzania's Tokomeza operation of 2013 involved 2,371 officials, of whom 885 were soldiers and 480 were police, The Citizen reported.
A parliamentary committee found 19 deaths, 13 of them civilians, signs of torture, and officials taking bribes to protect poachers, The Citizen reported.
Four ministers were removed from office after the report, The Citizen reported.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the four ministers were later cleared, according to secondary summaries.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not report any individual prosecution arising from the operation.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- Report reveals atrocities against publicThe Citizen · 2013-12-21
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- EACOP pipeline: insurers decline, construction continues Uganda / Tanzania · 2021–2026
- Government of Tanzania (Government) — here: ran the Tokomeza operation; removed four ministers; there: Host government
- Mkuju River uranium mine and the Selous boundary change Tanzania · 2009–2025
- Government of Tanzania (Government) — here: ran the Tokomeza operation; removed four ministers; there: Government; 20% share in the project
- Ngorongoro and Loliondo relocations Tanzania · 1992–2026
- Government of Tanzania (Government) — here: ran the Tokomeza operation; removed four ministers; there: Government; relocation programme
- World Bank $800m Uzbekistan operation; Tanzania project halted Uzbekistan · 2017–2025
- Government of Tanzania (Government) — here: ran the Tokomeza operation; removed four ministers; there: REGROW borrower; project cancelled in November 2024
- World Bank REGROW project, Ruaha National Park Tanzania · 2017–2025
- Government of Tanzania (Government) — here: ran the Tokomeza operation; removed four ministers; there: Borrower; cancelled the project